1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

turns on, then turns off

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by frankie827, Dec 1, 2008.

  1. frankie827 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    541 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    connecticut
    ok, so i was using my pc (the one in the system specs) and i was playing nfs undercover with some other apps open in the background. then all of sudden it just shuts off. i tried turning it back on, but it didnt turn on. i tried again and it turned...but then it turned off like 2 seconds later. i tried unplugging other things in the room thinking there was too large of power demand coming to my room, but that didnt work. i tried resetting the fuse for my room, and that didnt work either. so im thinking that its a problem with the psu. i desperately need help lol..im posting this from a 5 year old dell with 256mb of ram :(
  2. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,931 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,357
    sudden shut offs are indicative of two things.

    1. the PSU is overloading.

    2. something is overheating, and triggering protection. (CPU, video card, northbridge etc)
  3. frankie827 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    541 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    connecticut
    its definately not overheating...everything runs pretty cool...id say around mid 30's to high 40's

    it shouldnt be the psu overloading, i mean its had those same parts for a few months now. or could it still overload?
  4. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,931 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,357
    faulty logic. "its worked fine until now, why would it stop working" well... because it broke :laugh:


    double check that nothings overheating. how do you know a fan didnt fail while you werent looking?
  5. frankie827 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    541 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    connecticut
    haha true :p

    ya thats a good point...ill check and get back to you
  6. human_error

    human_error

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,718 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Definately double check your CPU heatsink is correctly seated, my housemate's stock CPU heatsink comes loose every time he knocks his computer case causing the computer to run for about 5 seconds during startup before overheat protection kicks in and shuts it down.
  7. frankie827 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    541 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    connecticut
    fans all work for the 2 seconds that it turns on :(
  8. frankie827 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    541 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    connecticut

    first thing i checked...that had happened to me earlier
  9. Guru Janitor

    Guru Janitor New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Messages:
    298 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    New York
    Run memtest, my old computer did this when I had a faulty stick of memory in it.
  10. frankie827 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    541 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    connecticut

    cant, it doesnt even stay on long enough to post
  11. Guru Janitor

    Guru Janitor New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Messages:
    298 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    New York
    Then try removing sticks in an elimination process? or try a different pair?
  12. frankie827 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    541 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    connecticut
    no, i mean like it literally wont stay on lol
  13. Guru Janitor

    Guru Janitor New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Messages:
    298 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    New York
    haha, I know, I meant, take one stick out, try it, take another out, try it, and so on, if it still doesn't post after that, then its probably not the problem. My last computer did the same thing, I did manage to run memtest on it, it didn't even pass after one hour. :ohwell:

    But yeah, forget memtest untill you get it running, just try the elimination of the sticks
  14. frankie827 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    541 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    connecticut
    sorry for being such an idiot and not listening to you...im saying that because i tried process of elimination of the ram and it turns out that both sticks are bad and are keeping the pc from booting.

    ill try to find some old ddr2 to put in there to make sure that everything else is fine
  15. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,931 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,357
    its elimination time. take the whole thing out of the case.

    Use the following hardware only

    motherboard
    PSU
    1 stick of ram
    video card (onboard if you have it/lower power spare)

    the goal here is to have as little hardware as possible, so that you can narrow down the problem. if you only use one stick of ram and it boots yet with two it doesnt, you know one stick of ram is bad for example.

    With the mobo out of the case, i'd suggest re-greasing your CPU and mobo heatsinks just to be certain its not them.

    Once you've tested all that out, swap parts for spares as you have them, until you can determine which part is faulty.
  16. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    And before you take the whole thing apart, try to hold the start button a while. Then pressing it multiple times right after the fans stop spinning. Couple resets after doesn't hurt either. I had some faulty PSUs that wouldn't start if I turned my computer off for a while. They did run perfectly once it got going how ever.

    They were fine new and worked fine if restart was soon after the shutdown (like a minute). I had a led fan then and fans would spin a while and then stop, but the leds where lit a bit on the fans. Without it I'd probably not had to idea to "rape" the startup button, I called it "filling the capacitors mode". Don't know if it actually did that, but it worked :)
  17. frankie827 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    541 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    connecticut
    well i figured out that both sticks of ram were keeping my pc from starting
    so im going to get those replaced by the warranty
  18. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,931 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,357
    it could be the somewhat documented '680i killed my ram!' bug
  19. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    11,934 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,334
    Id Say Either Power or the CPU is overheating. Make sure the heatsink is free of dust and seated properly on the CPU with TIM, Check the Motherboards Caps for swelling, or a crusty type substance on top or even blown tops on the caps, Try another PSU with the above done first, Also make sure the Powerbutton isnt being sticky (they do tend to go bad sometimes aswell). Or even Try the CPU in a known good motherboard that supports it.
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2008
  20. frankie827 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    541 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    connecticut
    ive actually come to the conclusion that its my motherboard, because it wouldnt boot with a stick of good ram (it was working fine an hour earlier in my friends pc) but once i removed it the pc stayed on

    so im guessing the ram slots are fried or something?

    but im still scared the psu may also have a problem
  21. Bytor

    Bytor New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,051 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    If it was overclocked try resetting your bios and then try to boot.
  22. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6,946 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,326
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Two words...............RMA motherboard!!!! 680i's are notorious for having serious issues, so I would imagine that is your prob man!!!
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  23. frankie827 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    541 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    connecticut
    oh no!!! my graphics cards fan isnt spinning up when i turn it on without the ram! is this normal because it isnt posting?
  24. frankie827 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    541 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    connecticut
    already did...im sending it out tomorrow

    i love evga's customer support :)
  25. frankie827 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    541 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    connecticut
    already cleared the cmos and tried taking out and then putting back in the battery on the board, but still the same thing


    but something strange happened just a few minutes ago...
    without the cpu and graphics card it booted up with the ram in the slots

    i really cant imagine that the ram is using up so much power that it prevents it from booting with all the other parts

    do you guys think i should rma my psu also?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page