1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Twin (El Cheapo) PSU with crowbar circuit project

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by KH0UJ, Jun 23, 2009.

  1. KH0UJ

    KH0UJ New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    363 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Cebu City Philippines
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    I swiched back to 6 pin connectors on the video card cause on my test soldering the wires and using the connectors plus the contact compound is just equal so to have a more convenience I returned back the connectors:laugh:, but putting back the connectors without the contact compound had a very slight drop, (12.13 volts to 12.12 volts) so 0.01 volts drop on the PCB points which is I know its just tolerable but I just wanna be sure on my connectors to have a very good contact specially im using a mini A/C to cool my gaming rig:laugh: connector couplings tends to shrink when it experiences cold air.

    On the last pic is 12.15 volts after half a second it goes back to 12.13 volts, it occurs when I suddenly stop the Orthos test, I think I need to use a more responsive crowbar circuit cause it tends to function a millisecond late:ohwell: but at least it functions the way I wanted it to be:laugh: only thing is its a bit laggy, sudden load is no problem, no voltage fluctuation, no noise generation, no nothing, but when I suddenly stop the high ampere test:eek: it blinks 12.15 volts then goes to 12.13 volts again:(
  2. KH0UJ

    KH0UJ New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    363 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Cebu City Philippines
    Im still not satisfied on this mod:shadedshuIm still looking for ways on how to reconstruct my crowbar to function as snappy as possible, but for now I`ll just leave it installed and continue monitoring :rolleyes: feels like my PC is on the hospital`s ICU:laugh: lots of monitoring equipments:laugh:
  3. DreamSeller Guest

    wow :eek: are you an electrician ? :confused:
  4. KH0UJ

    KH0UJ New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    363 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Cebu City Philippines
    :laugh: no im just an absolute fan of test instruments:D


    Can someone tell me how to make my stars at least 5? right now my stars are still 3 and im posting a lot already:(
  5. Odin Eidolon

    Odin Eidolon New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    921 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    156
    Location:
    Rockclimbing somewhere in Italy
    i think yoi'll get the 4th when you get to 100 posts? then five stars is 250 or 500 posts, cant recall
  6. MRCL

    MRCL

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    5,790 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Switzerland, Heart of Europe
    1 = 5 posts
    2 = 25 posts
    3 = 50 posts
    4 = 100 posts
    5 = 250 posts
    6 = 500 posts
    7 = 1000 posts
    8 = 2500 posts
    Custom title = 5000 posts
    KH0UJ says thanks.
  7. KH0UJ

    KH0UJ New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    363 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Cebu City Philippines
    You`re actually right on that bro, cause motherboard circuits has inductors and filters to refine and filter the DC supply lines supplying the grid, I guess we cannot do anything about that:laugh: but at least we can provide or use a PSU that is a rock solid stable with no drop on the main PSU itself:)
  8. KH0UJ

    KH0UJ New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    363 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Cebu City Philippines
    so meaning I need to post 200 more:eek: cause right now im still in the 50 post bracket:banghead: I guess I need to post more:laugh: including bumps?:laugh:
  9. MRCL

    MRCL

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    5,790 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Switzerland, Heart of Europe
    Now now don't become a post whore:p
    KH0UJ says thanks.
  10. KH0UJ

    KH0UJ New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    363 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Cebu City Philippines
    I dont know about the HIGH END PSU`s bro, but im sure on the El Cheapo PSU`s:laugh:
    I think they got one, but on my other thread newteckie1 is mentioning the reviews of one of the undesputed top brands, he says they all drop, I dont know, never reverse engineered high end PSU`s before, only the cheap ones:laugh:
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2009
  11. KH0UJ

    KH0UJ New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    363 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Cebu City Philippines
    I get the Idea bro:rolleyes:(twing) im gonna free bump each and every FS/FT threads from now on:laugh::laugh: no just joking:toast:
  12. Odin Eidolon

    Odin Eidolon New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    921 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    156
    Location:
    Rockclimbing somewhere in Italy
  13. KH0UJ

    KH0UJ New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    363 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Cebu City Philippines
    Ya you`re right bro, I try to see on test 5, the ripple is starting to show:laugh: higher the frequency of the chopper to solve the problem:laugh:
    62 amps of load and the ripple showed, you gotta be kidding me:laugh:
  14. KH0UJ

    KH0UJ New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    363 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Cebu City Philippines
    I guess that 2 high frequency transformers are really better than one:) only thing is the size, 2 PSU enclosure in a case is a P.I.T.A. to install:(
  15. Odin Eidolon

    Odin Eidolon New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    921 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    156
    Location:
    Rockclimbing somewhere in Italy
    you are doing a great job. really well done, and you really know your stuff! congratz :respect:
    Assassin48 and KH0UJ say thanks.
  16. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,003 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    wait what i dont want to see ignorant buit could someone please explain all this its something to do with 2 psu i thought he was making 2 rn on the same circuit but when its installed it looks nothing like that? im confused :confused:
  17. KH0UJ

    KH0UJ New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    363 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Cebu City Philippines
    its a 2 PSU build bro, im using 2 cheap PSU`s cause i cannot afford a single big one, im modifiying each PCB to compensate the VDrops on full load:) sacrificing the space on my drive bay to house the other PSU.


    Each of the PSU`s 12 volt rail are coupled, Each of the PSU can handle 50 amp of heavy load continuous without any ripple (nicrome resistor) so I have a guaranteed 100 Amp. +12.13 volts solid with no drop only thing is its a 2 PSU project.
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2009
  18. KH0UJ

    KH0UJ New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    363 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Cebu City Philippines
    Can I join on your clubhouse bro?:respect:im still a noob on case modding tough:(
    MKmods says thanks.
  19. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,664 (6.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,838
    Correct, there is always a little bit of fluctuation, even in the best power supplies. Some fluctuate very little, some more. Even some of the best fluctuate a .1v or more.

    All computer hardware is designed to handle these fluctuations and operate with them.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. DreamSeller Guest

    any pics available with the final work ?
    or its not finished yet ?
  21. mav2000

    mav2000 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    451 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Location:
    Bangalore, India
    Good show, this is a very resourceful project though i have no clue about most of what you have done, but the results seem fantastic.
  22. Cuzza

    Cuzza New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    1,318 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    207
    Location:
    New Zealand
    I am pretty confused by all this. Could you please draw a circuit diagram to explain what's going on?
  23. KH0UJ

    KH0UJ New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    363 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Cebu City Philippines
    OK I will draw the block diagram after 5:00pm, Its just basically a parallel PSU, PSU 1 and PSU 2`s 12 Volt rails are connected together plus the crowbar circuits to compensate the voltage drop when the PSU`s on a high ampere load, instead of dropping, the tendency of the high ampere load will push the crowbar to the primary oscillator to step-up the frequency of the primary windings, the result is the more it experiences high amp load, it steps up the secondary windings (+12V) just a little bit, so instead of dropping to 11.9V @ 50 amps, the result will be 12.13V @ 50 amp load, the more I load the 12 volt line the more it steps up.


    Just like a crowbar, the more you push down on a certain object, the more it rises up
    actually i dont really know how to call it bro, im just guessing whats the name of the circuit ived just made:laugh::laugh:
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2009
    Cuzza says thanks.
  24. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (2.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    Absolutely.. stop by and look at some of the stuff we have done. Its fun to hang out and make friends with people with many different ideas.:toast:
  25. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,321 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Nice mod, glad to see someone use those PSU's. I swear by them, for the price they are amazing, I've had nothing but good results from them, HEC is A+ in my book.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page