1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TYAN Announces AMD FireStream Compatible GPGPU Server Motherboards

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Nov 17, 2010.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,869 (11.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,716
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    TYAN, an industry-leading server platform manufacturer, and a subsidiary of MiTAC International Corp., today announced four server platforms that are fully compatible with AMD FireStream GPU compute accelerators.

    The AMD FireStream GPU compute accelerators are general purpose graphics processing units that deliver exceptional floating point processing capabilities, and are used widely in HPC, cloud and enterprise-scale applications, helping reduce cycle times with up to 2.64 TFLOPs of single precision performance.

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    “TYAN offers an outstanding selection of platforms that are designed to take full advantage of AMD FireStream GPU compute accelerators,” said Patricia Harrell, director, Stream Computing, AMD (NYSE: AMD). “AMD’s work with TYAN is helping usher in a new generation of exciting form factors and computing capabilities, in large part due to the exceptional performance capabilities of AMD’s graphics technology.”

    These four TYAN platforms were designed specifically for GPU computing, and support solutions that range from one AMD FireStream compute accelerator in a 1U server up to eight compute accelerators in a 4U platform. These platforms feature double-wide PCIe 2.0 x16 slots, and meet the special mechanical requirements as well as the power and airflow needs to support AMD FireStream 9170, 9250, 9270, 9350 and 9370 GPU compute accelerators.
    • B7015 8-GPU 4U platform
    • S7025 4-GPU 4U platform
    • S8225 4-GPU 4U platform supports dual AMD Opteron 4100 series processors
    • S8236 Up to 2-GPU rack optimized 2U platform supports dual AMD Opteron 6100 series processors
    Kevin Hart, TYAN’s director of product marketing, noted that “these GPGPU platforms, armed with AMD FireStream GPU compute accelerators, deliver shocking floating point performance that is exponentially faster than x86 CPUs in some applications.”

    All of these AMD FireStream-compatible server platforms are available worldwide now through TYAN’s authorized distributors. OEM pricing is available upon request. See these models and all TYAN’s latest server boards on display in TYAN’s booth at the Supercomputing 2010 convention in New Orleans, November 15-18.
     
  2. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,454 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    Nice.

    Someone hack up the drivers, time to set records with 8 x GTX480 or HD5970.
     
    blibba says thanks.
  3. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,111 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,232
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  4. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,454 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    Already read the manual this morning ;)

    Most models are of a 2+1 1200w configuration, or 2400w with a spare. Also looks like a 3 x 1000w configuration (no spare) is available for a completely maxed out system.

    Remember, the top system was made to handle 8 AMD FireStream 9370's. They'd use up about 1800w (load) by themselves.


    -Oops. Make that, they they are not different power supply units. It's 1200w @220 and 100w @ 110. I had an old Compaq server like that- 750w per unit at 220v, only 500w at 110v.
     
    Last edited: Nov 17, 2010
  5. HTC

    HTC

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,242 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    303
    Wonder how many FPS i'd get on Minesweeper if i used that ...
     
  6. 1freedude

    1freedude

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Messages:
    557 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    118
    It's about time the quadroplex got some competition.
     
  7. arnoo1

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    746 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    124
    Location:
    Netherlands
    i want benches with 2x 6-8 core @ 5ghz with 4x gtx580(extreemly océd) xd
     
    Last edited: Nov 17, 2010
  8. Crazykenny

    Crazykenny

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    428 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Why 6-cores when you could run 12-cores in there? :p Correct me if I'm wrong but the lenghtend socket is for the Magny Cores right?
     
  9. blibba

    blibba

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    831 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    184
    Location:
    Oxford, UK
    You can do this already. Search EVGA SR-2
     
  10. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    But people like to cling to hope and believe that AMD isn't FAIL. :shadedshu
     
    Last edited: Nov 18, 2010
    Sihastru says thanks.
  11. arnoo1

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    746 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    124
    Location:
    Netherlands

    i know, but maybe amd can do the same,
    i follow evga SR-2 bechmarks from the very beginning
     
  12. Crazykenny

    Crazykenny

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    428 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Fanboyism? I really dont understand comments like these, they are totally uncalled for. I run both Intel and AMD and but have there pro's and con's. Intel is faster and more advanced, but tend to run hotter and is more expensive.

    AMD on the other hand is cheap and runs cool, but lacks the power Intel has.

    Ontopic:

    Are those 120mm fans in the front of that chassis? If so, thumbs up for TYAN since my current Xeon server that has like 5 billion 80 and 40mm fans is driving me nuts.
     
  13. bear jesus

    bear jesus New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,535 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Britland
    Depending on the prices and performance of AMD's bulldozer based server cpu's compared to intel's upcoming offerings something like the G34 board may be in my future :D

    The board to the right would accept the G34 magny cours cpu's and maybe even the G34 interlagos cpu based on the bulldozer architecture thus 16 cores per cpu for 32 total :D


    Excluding the current cpu's that multiple offer good value for money (if you had bothered to take a look at them never mind reviews) the board to the right has a G34 socket, in theory that could mean support for the G34 interlagos core cpu.
    Are you trying to tell us that the interlagos core based on the bulldozer architecture is fail before it has even been released? do you know something we don't?

    Does 32 cores of an upcoming brand new architecture with 8 gpu cores on one board really sound fail to you? if so i would really like to know what impresses you.

    And no I'm not a fan boy I'm just cheap thus why I'm still willing to buy AMD cpu's if the price is right and supported by the board i have been using for years, but yes i do have hope for AMD in the future as i remember all of nvidia and intel's failures in the past and how they came back from them.
    I guess a few years ago you were saying anything from nvidia and intel was fail? and lust look how wrong you would have been, I'm not saying bulldozer will be good in any way I'm just pointing out that you should think a little more before you post :p
     
  14. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    bottom socket on the first mb look totally raped :S
     
    bear jesus says thanks.
  15. bear jesus

    bear jesus New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,535 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Britland
    :eek: :roll: i never thought to look that close, surly that is so messed up it does not even work.... wtf happened to it i wonder?

    Possibly a non working mock up or something thus any old damaged part would do? although i would have thought non working over visibly damaged would have made more sense for a press image.
     
  16. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,869 (11.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,716
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    60 fps, or whatever is your display's refresh rate.
     
  17. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,111 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,232
    +1
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  18. Initialised

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Messages:
    264 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    It ain't no SR2
     
  19. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,098 (4.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,282
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    NO kidding. SR2 will kill your cpu if you don't know what you are doing.:shadedshu
     
  20. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    no........its a server board....................
     
    bear jesus says thanks.
  21. bear jesus

    bear jesus New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,535 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Britland
    I think all the talk of the SR2 is kind of beside the point, it is not really aimed at the server market... it's aimed at the crazy expensive overclocking market :laugh:

    I admit it would be fun to try overclocking the interlagos core but for normal server usage i would hope stock speeds is all that's needed *hopes for awesome performance and value for money out of interlagos*
     
  22. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    i highly doubt you can overclock on any of those boards in #0

    they are ment for server stability, not fun!
     
  23. bear jesus

    bear jesus New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,535 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Britland
    When i say it would be fun to overclock an interlagos i know really there is no suitable board and really i would be a waste of money, the reason these interest me is exactly what you said, a stable server.

    I want a powerful yet relatively affordable server that's 100% stable over it's lifetime, no overclocking or silly fun just stability and power for money, i just really hope interlagos can deliver.
     
  24. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    that wasnt meant for you lol, more for those stupid people who compares SR2 with a serverboard, cause yes, either you are stupid or dont know shit

    again, not pointed at you bear, not at all:roll:
     
  25. bear jesus

    bear jesus New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,535 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Britland
    :laugh: no worry's, i know what you mean.

    Although i now have to wonder if anyone has ever bought the SR2 to use as a server board :roll:
     
    (FIH) The Don says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page