1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Ugh.. more problems...

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Kantastic, Oct 18, 2009.

  1. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,135 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    Board: Gigabyte US2H
    CPU: Athlon X2 5000+

    My cousin gave me a key for W7 and Vista, so I offered to trade him my dad's 5600+ for his 5000+, and my HDT-S963 for his AC 64 PWM since my pops will never notice the difference. I get home, put the CPU in and I get nothing. The HSF fan spins at max, rear fan spins at normal speed, but my USB peripherals aren't getting anything and my LCD isn't getting any signal.

    Two things you might want to know:

    1. It was raining when I got home and a splash of water might've hit the heatsink, but I didn't see any.
    2. Two of the pins were bent on the CPU, I fixed it and it goes in the socket smoothly.

    I've yanked out the CMOS battery for 5 minutes or so, nothing. I ran into this situation after pulling out the CMOS battery yesterday, but after 2-3 boots everything went on and about as usual with the default BIOS.
  2. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,681 (11.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,210
    did you forget the 12V aux power for the CPU?

    that tends to give symptoms just like this.
    Kantastic says thanks.
  3. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,135 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    If you mean the 4/8pin connector that's near the CPU, it's in.

    **I only have a 4 pin in there though, as the PSU only has a 4 pin. I'm going to replace the PSU as soon as I can with one that's got an 8 pin, but right now I don't think that's the problem as it was working all of today with just a 4 pin.
  4. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,681 (11.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,210
    it should work with just a 4 pin, but its a common mistake that can cause those symptoms.


    with that ruled out, i'd say CPU, memory controller (in the CPU, in this case) or ram.

    you did mention bent pins - can you test with another CPU?
  5. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,135 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    This is the only CPU I have, I traded with my cousin so he's got my other one and he lives a good 40 minutes away.

    The memory should be ruled out as I haven't touched that, it's 2 gigs of ValueRAM and 2 gigs of Siemen's RAM that have been running together for half a year now. It ran fine on my old board and it ran fine on the Gbyte board yesterday and today.
  6. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,517 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    327
    Location:
    Illinois
    When you pulled the battery I assume you jumped the jumper to reset? I've had a board installed in a case once and the graphics card blocked the jumper but I could get to the battery. Just pulling the battery didnt reset it. I had to move the jumper to reset. Could be a capacitor somewhere that held the charge longer then I left the battery out.
    Kantastic says thanks.
  7. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,135 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    I did not use the jumper, I'll go check it out now. [​IMG]

    Can anybody find the jumper? I actually don't know where the damn thing is.

    :banghead::banghead::banghead:
  8. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,681 (11.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,210
    heeeeeey! i have that motherboard!


    i think its actually just two pins you ahve to short, and not a jumper per se.

    let me go check.
    Kantastic says thanks.
  9. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,135 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    Love you Mussels!
  10. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,517 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    327
    Location:
    Illinois
    [​IMG]

    Attached Files:

    • giga.jpg
      giga.jpg
      File size:
      112.5 KB
      Views:
      136
    Kantastic says thanks.
  11. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,681 (11.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,210
    i was thinking it was the "CI" - #18 on his chart thing. its #19, eh?

    they really hid that away, between the PCI slots
    Kantastic says thanks.
  12. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,622 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,097
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    I had that board too.......did you try booting with only two sticks of RAM installed?
    Kantastic says thanks.
  13. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,517 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    327
    Location:
    Illinois
    Kantastic says thanks.
  14. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,135 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    I did, no good. I'll go short the 2 pins now.

    HOW DO I SHORT PINS? :banghead::banghead:
  15. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,775 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    thats the real use for screwdrivers in the friggin world :laugh::laugh:
  16. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,681 (11.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,210
    i use my car keys
  17. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,135 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    I'm gonna use a chain of staples!
  18. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,517 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    327
    Location:
    Illinois
    At least it's not as bad as my Intel XBX-2. That jumper was burried and had to be put into recovery by pins 2&3 to reset the cmos from a recovery rom. Then placed back on 1&2 for normal. I wound up putting a lead and toggle switch on it to make my failed overclock attempts alot easier to manage.
  19. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,135 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    Nope... yanked the battery out and touched the pins w/ a screw driver and nothing changed.

    /tear
  20. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,517 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    327
    Location:
    Illinois
    Sorry to hear that. Is the graphics card known to be working?
  21. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,681 (11.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,210
    at a guess, somethings up with the CPU then. maybe you missed a bent pin?
  22. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,135 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    I'm using the onboard and it definitely works. Aside from the change of CPU and HS/F, everything remains the same as it was when it was working around 3 hours ago.

    Can it be possible that the pin is bent yet still go into the socket holes?

    If all else fails I'm simply going to have to buy my old man a Regor/Callisto, but I don't want to have to spend unecessary money.

    Oh I felt the AC 64 PWM, it's not hot or even remotely warm whatsoever even if I let it run for so long.
  23. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,681 (11.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,210
    bent pin that still goes in proper hole = working pin.

    the concern is one thats still bent (possibly pressed flat against the CPU), or worse, broken off.
  24. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,135 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    Guess I'll have to take a look..
  25. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,517 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    327
    Location:
    Illinois
    Reseat the CPU and if all else fails, can you trade back?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page