1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

[FS] [UK] Absurd Water Cooled HD7970 Offer!

Discussion in 'Buy/Sell/Trade/Giveaway Forum' started by the54thvoid, Apr 8, 2013.

  1. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,436 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,660
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    Hi all,

    This is a For Sale thread but requires background info for peace of mind!

    PLEASE READ ALL THE POST!!

    I recently tried selling my two water cooled HD7970's here on our beloved TPU. Unfortunately nobody took me up on the offer so i ended up selling both on ebay at £320 each. One sale went swimmingly, the other ran into problems.

    The chap that bought the Powercolor card informed me it had zero output. Nada, zilch. It was effectively dead to his system. We had very good communication (he'll be getting a link to this thread) and I ended up refunding the £320+p&p and he sent my card back. The following pictures clearly show the card working in UEFI BIOS. I can't stress enough, the guy had ZERO output from the card, not even BIOS.

    The following pics show my Titan card clearly not powered up and the Powercolor card in the PCI-e slot, powering the monitor screen.

    In my haste to test it i didn't put my name tag on the testing pics but it is on the ones at the bottom. You can sleuth around as well and you'll quickly notice it is most definitely my desktop (http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showpost.php?p=2865663&postcount=89)

    You can see Titan unplugged, Powercolor in (with makeshift static coolant reservoir to keep chip under control in BIOS).
    [​IMG]

    And again, the ingenious static coolant reservoir that means i don't have to drain my loop to test a card.
    [​IMG]

    The red LED you can see is the Boot device LED, so you know the card is in a live PC.
    [​IMG]

    Original For Sale pic
    [​IMG]

    And another
    [​IMG]

    Now the card booted to BIOS and i didnt need to check any further as the complaint was that it was dead entirely. I suspect it was an issue with the buyers integrated gpu on his motherboard and a conflict with settings from his other card (Nvidia). The guy is more than welcome to register on TPU to reply to me. Like i say though, excellent bloke and very trustworthy but it seems incompatibility issues. For reference I run a LGA2011 board with no iGPU.

    Powercolor HD7970 LCS (Liquid Cooled Solution) - core @ 1050MHz. Has been up to 1300MHz on 1.3 volts in past. Board has mild coil whine (in 3D rendering only) - be warned. In a suitable case, not beside your ear - it's not a problem.

    So what's the deal?

    Well, this is only open to very regular posters or people who can be vouched for by very senior members of TPU. I am willing to ship card to the buyer for the price of postage up front. If the card works, then they can pay me. If it doesn't - ship it back.

    So yes, I send you a card to try for the cost of postage only. You only need to pay me when it's up and running. This is very risky to me so that is why I will probably refuse most folk who ask.

    Postage (insured) is £25.00. If the card functions - I am now only asking £225 (£250 inc postage). This offer is only open to respected members of TPU that I know can be trusted.

    Otherwise I'll sell at £275 (inc postage) up front but I will not accept any returns. I have already had this returned and I have checked it and it does boot up. So if you buy up front - it's now your risk.

    This deal is suited to TPU dudes that I recognise.

    All offers will be carefully weighed up and I will not sell until I've thought things through. Cheers.
     
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2013
  2. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,462 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    392
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    Sadly i don't have the money for this otherwise i would have sent you an offer. However i have a lot of respect for the offer you've posted just paying shipping to test the card, so i offer you instead a free, no purchase necessary, bump :)
     
    the54thvoid says thanks.
  3. digibucc

    digibucc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,936 (2.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,501
    seriously, if i had the cash on hand i would snatch this up in a heartbeat. good luck on the sale!
     
    the54thvoid says thanks.
  4. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,508 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    768
    I wonder if the person that bought it had an ASUS board. I have seen some people post some compatibility issues with some cards on ASUS motherboards.
     
  5. douglatins

    douglatins

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,869 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    273
    Location:
    Brasil
    Try baking it
     
  6. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,436 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,660
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    It works. Did you read the post?
     
    AsRock says thanks.
  7. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,447 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    No offence but if you have refunded the original buyer and you now have the card, what is stopping you testing it beyond post? I'm assuming that you would have to modify your loop to do so, though surely that's worth the effort as you will get a fair price for the card without having to discount as effectively untested?
     
  8. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,436 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,660
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    I don't need to retest it further. The guy who bought it didn't get a signal from his monitor from it. His screen wouldn't come on - no output at all. My test was to see if it did indeed allow the system to boot. The PC can't boot from a dead card when it has no other vga output.
    The fact that it happily toddled straight off into the BIOS means the problem is not with the card but at the other guys end - more than likely a BIOS revision issue and/or related to his integrated gfx.

    EDIT: I'm not discounting for untested either. It was for sale on here before at £270. I'm discounting for super TPU folk to get it at postage cost not to test it but to reassure. I wouldn't sell it (again) if i wasn't sure it was working.
     
  9. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,447 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    What I mean is why did you only test it to post? I know he got no signal and you did so what he was saying was not right and likely an user error, though to err on the side of caution I would have posted, benched and gamed on it. Although what you're saying is true, a dead card won't post and you have proved it does, I for one and no offence meant to you would want more than a guarantee of it posting if there was even a slight chance it might be faulty which is very slight in this case, none the less.
     
  10. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,590 (3.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,936
    Guys, try to keep the discussion on topic re buying / selling.

    Remember the OP is selling this for shipping price only and you pay the full price only if it works. (Read the first post for full details).

    I'm pretty positive he wouldn't be risking so had the card been a dud.

    Thanks.
     
    the54thvoid says thanks.
  11. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,627 (3.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,191
    Location:
    Mexico
    Or Gigabyte. My PC 7770 won't boot on any of my two GB boards. I think it has something to do with the UEFI ready bios that Powercolor announced a while ago.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,436 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,660
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    Just to clarify. I sent a card to a buyer that was in perfect working order. Buyer states card doesn't post. I receive card back after refunding. I pop card in and it posts. There is no more required. It worked before i sent it, it still works in my rig.

    As Panther said, postage for peace of mind - I know it works! The reason i have to do this is because it was on sale here first - i then took it off (no takers) and sold it on ebay. I confirmed on my previous FS thread I had sold it in ebay. So if it appeared here again folk would need to know why. That's why the postage offer.

    And to clarify - this is for postage to UK only with very few exceptions. That way if i do get stitched up i have an address to visit...
     
  13. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,436 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,660
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
  14. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,436 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,660
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    :confused:

    I have a working card going cheap and nobody wants it (at least in the UK?)

    Link to post confirming a known issue: http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=182593

    And if you're a regular you get it shipped first for peace of mind.....

    I'm deeply confused.

    Oh well, in the next few days I'll do some more bumps and if nobody wants it here it's going back on e-bay (at £330 + p&p).
     
  15. blibba

    blibba

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    831 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    184
    Location:
    Oxford, UK
    I guess not many people have water loops or are willing to get them and are also looking to upgrade. Good luck nonetheless, it's a great deal you're offering. I'd buy it and stick an air-cooler on it if I was in the market, but I can't justify a £275 GPU right now (or even a £50 one, for that matter :D).
     
  16. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,508 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    768
    +1... your market shrank considerably with the first post and potential issues (scares noobs away, regardless), and its watercooled so your market is miniscule.

    GLWS!
     
  17. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,436 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,660
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    Honesty about a non issue sucks!
     
  18. rhc1690 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Messages:
    75 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    hello is this still available??? if so can u pm me please
     
  19. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,436 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,660
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    pm'd :)
     
  20. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,320 (2.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    868
    Location:
    London, UK
    Do you have the stock cooler for this bad boy? i've found a spot for him
     
  21. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,436 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,660
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    This is the stock cooler :laugh:

    It's a factory built water cooled edition.
     
  22. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    7,734 (8.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,846
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    I'm interested. Dont have a W/C setup but ill buy an AC cooler for it. PM unless already sold.
    I trust you entirely, original buyer was probably a scrub.
     
  23. Grnfinger

    Grnfinger New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    639 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    213
    Location:
    Canada
    I would be all over this, but I don't think I meet your terms.
    If you would like to discuss about a possible deal please pm me.

    My current rig ( system specs) just died and I'm looking to replace fast.
     
  24. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,436 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,660
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    Thanks for interest guys. I have someone else interested from earlier. I'll need to contact them to see if they are still interested or not. I'll let you know after that.
     
  25. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,436 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,660
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    Still have card. Keep getting PM's from folk saying they are interested then I hold off and they don't get back in touch....

    Offer still on.


    Card withdrawn from sale pending other matters, sorry.
     
    Last edited: Apr 28, 2013

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page