1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

[WTB] [UK] AGP Radeon HD 2400 PRO or similar AGP card

Discussion in 'Buy/Sell/Trade/Giveaway Forum' started by KieranD, Aug 19, 2008.

  1. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,072 (2.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    832
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    It has to be a 2000 series or higher since you dont get 8000 series agp cards, its for the decoding and the like for films coz i have a linux box but i want to make it run movies too when i set it up. I might stick xp on it if i feel like it tho so the card will get used well.

    Didnt like the price of £35 for a brand new one and didn't see any on Ebay that were AGP.

    Really dont want to spend a lot on this card.

    Thanks in advance ;)
     
  2. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,072 (2.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    832
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    anyone got anything? or know where i can buy a cheap one
     
  3. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,072 (2.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    832
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    bump
     
  4. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,072 (2.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    832
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    bump still looking for one
     
  5. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,265 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    851
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    why 2000 series in particular? Are you going to watch Blu-ray or HD movies? If not a 9600 pro or x1600 pro would do fine.

    just my 2 cents.
     
  6. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,072 (2.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    832
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    i had a 9600pro but i gave it to my friend who gave his system to his aunt

    i now need a 2400pro so i can get the UVD for Highdef video acceleration

    plus its a low profile and moderate power consumer
     
  7. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,072 (2.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    832
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    could take a 2600pro tho
     
  8. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,265 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    851
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    if u r going to do high def, then better go with 2600 pro. 2400 pro is so so. What cpu you have to decode HD?
     
  9. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,072 (2.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    832
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    amd athlon single core 3200 939pin and i also have an amd socket A Duron

    even over clocked im sure that socket a duron would struggle
     
  10. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,265 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    851
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    i run Media center PC that plays Blu-ray and HD movies. I initially tried with a Single core A64 3200 at default speed with a 8600gt and it was fine playing movies and recording programs. But recommended is atleast a dual-core 3800 or E2180, sometimes some movies are demanding. So just be careful when you are spending that much money and not happy.

    try getting a dual-core cpu for that 939 socket, that might do well.
     
  11. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (2.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    If you decide to go down the CPU decoding route, my dad has a Sapphire 9600pro he might be willing to part with?
     
  12. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,072 (2.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    832
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    i might just take the 9600 pro from your dad, coincidence it is the exact same card i used to have except mine was the gddr3 256mb version

    the duron is not suitable for any thing other than websites and open office, so i needed a 2400pro so that i could at least watch movies on it

    i might get a better cpu for the other system i have the 939pin system and i know it can accept a dual core, its a pci ex system so at least that way i can get any card i like and there seems to be more cheap pci ex cards around even 8000series and 2000/3000 there are a lot of cheap ons flying on websites and ebay

    first i need that ram from thebeephaha, who just seems to be ignoring me, the ram is perfect for my 2 pcs, http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=56721

    i want to make a log of my old duron rig, im putting it into my old case which is shit but way better than the durons current bashed crap, want to spray a logo onto it and get some mx-2 on the duron, itll be running xubuntu with 512mb of ram if i can get it like i said
     
  13. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,072 (2.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    832
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    if i had the cash id get an athlon that was compatible with my durons jetway motherboard, it shouldnt be more than £20 to go up in speed and cache but right now i need to get the ram and graphics card so the cpu will have to do im afraid

    as for the other rig its my sister who uses it since i dont need it so if she wants it to be faster she can pony up for the dual core cpu, i dont mind paying for the ram but the cpu no
     
  14. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (2.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    He has the 256mb ddr version. Let me know if you do decide you want it.

    :toast:
     
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2008
    KieranD says thanks.
  15. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,072 (2.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    832
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    i guess i could take it for the now, then get a better card in a few months

    you got any pics?

    and of course whats the price on this baby :cool:

    UK too so postage shouldnt cost much
     
  16. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (2.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Does £17.50 delivered & insured sound okay? (please tell me if not)
    just an FYI, it is an unlocked 9600pro. Was bought as a 9550 and flashed to a 9600pro. (back in the days when that kinda thing was possible), boxed with instructions/ disc and adaptors (afaik)

    Will get some pics up if your still interested
     
  17. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,072 (2.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    832
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    let me think about, sounds good tho

    it is AGP tho?
     
  18. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (2.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    okay, slight correction. appears my dad has chcuked the box out along with the adaptors. :slap:
    It will still be sent out safe though.
    here is a pic (sorry for low quality.)

    [​IMG]

    Has a really cool (pardon the pun :p ) looking blue led fan on it too!

    But yeah its AGP. 4x/8x
     
  19. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,072 (2.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    832
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    you know what ill take it

    im going to add some thermal MX-2 paste to it just coz i have some handy

    probly wont need the cables or cd i get get the latest linux drivers anyway
     
  20. Morgoth

    Morgoth

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,795 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    250
    Location:
    Netherlands
    i'm selling my hd3850agp +Thermalright HR-03 next month
     
  21. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,072 (2.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    832
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    PM me your pay pal ill give you my address
     
  22. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,072 (2.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    832
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    QUALITY MAN PURE QUALITY:pimp:, id love to see the bottleneck on the card when i put a HD3850 with a bloody 1.1ghz DURON :roll:
     
  23. Morgoth

    Morgoth

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,795 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    250
    Location:
    Netherlands
    i can give you a mainboard + cpu 3ghz p4 and 4 gigs of ramm with it :p
     
  24. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,072 (2.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    832
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    no thanks ill keep my duron, plus im broke literally as a person and financially
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page