1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

[WTB] [UK] Cheap 939pin AMD X2

Discussion in 'Buy/Sell/Trade/Giveaway Forum' started by KieranD, Sep 7, 2008.

  1. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,019 (3.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    814
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    I have in my other pc a single core 3200+ 939pin, i know my board can take duals so i was wondering if anyone had a cheap x2 i could buy

    i have been looking on ebay pricey because 939 pin is old but if someone has one in an old system an x2 would be better than a single core for me its just to give it a boost its used for light gaming, media and internet at the moment

    i want to get an x2 since that 3200+ holds back the pc


    i can find better single cores fine for cheap just not x2's ebuyer has a 4200 single core for £28
     
  2. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,019 (3.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    814
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    if i have to i could get a single core 4000+ and over clock it
    although id rather see if anyone has a spare x2
     
  3. spud107

    spud107

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,194 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    131
    Location:
    scotland
    if you cant get the x2 go for the 4000 (the 1mb one), i had one an it was a bit faster in some things than my x2, awsome chip for a single core
     
    KieranD says thanks.
  4. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    Fancy my 6000x2 socket 940 at the right price of course. Looking to make up an intel rig now.
     
    KieranD says thanks.
  5. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,019 (3.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    814
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    yeah thats what i think i was going to go for if i cant get an x2, really id take any x2 as i can clock it a bit a x2 3800 or a x2 4200 would be perfect 939 pin of course even a x2 3600

    i have an overclocked x2 5000 BE in my main pc but thanks LifeOnMars, anyway its nice to get offers for other gear

    if im going to upgrade this x2 5000 BE cpu its going to be for a quad since this is about as much as ill get from an x2
     
  6. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,486 (1.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    You'll be hard pushed to find anything over a 4400+. I've been searching for months trying to find a 4400+ as these are the models that come with 1MB not the 3800+ or the 4200+.

    Good luck though, 939s are rare and expensive if they're over the aforementioned two.
     
    KieranD says thanks.
  7. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,019 (3.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    814
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    if i have to go for an single core im gonna get a 1 mb cache, x2 id take anything just because of the extra core

    ive got the latest bios for the mobo so i can overclock and get the x2's
     
  8. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,486 (1.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Fair play!

    I'll ask around my friends, I know one of them has an Opteron 170 for sale, think he wants at least £60 for it.
     
    KieranD says thanks.
  9. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,019 (3.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    814
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    wanted to see what was available thats a good price too but dunno if i want to shell out just to do up my other system
     
  10. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    you'd be better off grabbing a new board and cheap core 2 mate due to the price of the 939's
     
    KieranD says thanks.
  11. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,019 (3.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    814
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    whats the point i already have a system so why buy a full new system, id have to buy ram a new cpu and mobo

    its only a second system ive got a good main rig 939 is fine plus my 939 pin board has pci express 16x so i can get a half decent cheap card if i want to replace my x800gto
     
  12. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    well if you offset the cost by selling your old parts you may end up paying less and having a lot better perf, it all depends on what you want.

    even though its just a 2nd system, would give it a new lease of life and last you a while longer

    you can get the asrock 4coredual? board that takes ddr and pcie aswell, so thats another option ? allowing you to keep your ram :toast:
     
  13. Exceededgoku

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Messages:
    410 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    I've got a Opteron 175 if you're interested... In fact got a full system that I want to get rid of!
     
    KieranD says thanks.
  14. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,019 (3.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    814
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    you think i could get a mobo and cpu and ddr2 ram for £40
    thats how much a single core 4000+ 1mb cache is
     
  15. Gam'ster

    Gam'ster New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    980 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    113
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    I have a 4200 x2 for 25 including shipping to the uk pm me if interested.
     
    KieranD says thanks.
  16. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    damn thats a nice price on a 939, id jump all over that :eek:
     
    Gam'ster and KieranD say thanks.
  17. Gam'ster

    Gam'ster New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    980 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    113
    Location:
    South Wales, UK

    Yeah its cheap i just want it gone :laugh:, also my car needs an mot 25 would come in handy :D
     
    KieranD says thanks.
  18. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,019 (3.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    814
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    you know thats i had a am2 x2 4200+ before i had this x2 5000BE

    nice cpus they can go up to 2800mhz which is nice

    just to make sure its 939 pin right and its £25 so do i pay shipping or what? HOT DIGGITY your in the UK too nice :cool:

    right so i have this non overclocked 3200+ 939 pin if anyone wants it for a £15 plus shipping although i could just ebay it?
     
  19. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
    I only have cheap Single Cores here... bump for you anyway.
     
    KieranD says thanks.
  20. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,019 (3.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    814
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    can close this thread pm'd Gam'ster getting an x2 4200+
     
  21. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,623 (5.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,478
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    If you can do £52 then here is a nice Opteron 144 socket 939 with the larger cache, they used to overclock like monsters................

    http://www.advancetec.co.uk/acatalog/AMD_OPTERON.html

    If you can make do with a single core, here is a REALLY cheap option (£20) for the 3800+ Venice, only 512kb L2 cache but I used to have one and almost touched 3gig with it (about 2.95).

    http://www.advancetec.co.uk/acatalog/AMD_Athlon_64_BIT.html

    And lastly, a single core 4000+ belter that I got 3.25gig out of with the 1MB cache for £23?

    http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showp... Athlon 64 4000 San Diego (Socket 939) - OEM

    :rockout:
     
  22. mithrandir New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    149 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    UK
    That's a single core opteron. You can pick up an opty 146 for under 20 notes nowadays.

    The dual core optys are 165, 170, 175, 180 and 185. These are all rare but still sell on ebay for close to or over £100.

    The only decent budget athlon is the 3700 which had 1mb cache and most of them can OC to 2.7ghz or higher.
     
  23. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,623 (5.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,478
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Your right, damn this all day drinkin malarkey is startin to have an effect! :eek: But we would have to disagree on the 3700 sandy being the only decent one, the 4000+ sandy was the same chip/core clocked higher and consistently (but not always clocked higher)......if you look in the SM2 and SuperPi archives, I still have some of the fastest AMD times from back then at 3.25gig!
     
  24. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,019 (3.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    814
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    he sold it to me for £25 plus shipping, hope to get at around 2.8ghz from it maybe just 2.7ghz
    its the x2 4200+ 939pin seems like a good upgrade from the 3200+ for me

    optys my friend are well out of my price league damn i could by a quad phenom for the price of a opty 939 pin
     
  25. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    at £25 you should be laughing, even a x2 3800+ is a steal at that price, and it will outperfrom that lowly 3200+ any day of the week, weather you hit your anticipated 2.8 or not.

    btw what board do you have in that rig?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page