1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

[WTB] [UK] Retro PC Hardware (Win 98SE build)

Discussion in 'Buy/Sell/Trade/Giveaway Forum' started by KieranD, Jun 11, 2012.

  1. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,062 (3.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Last edited: Jul 2, 2012
  2. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,062 (3.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Bumping thread
    [​IMG]
     
  3. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    14,041 (5.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,424
    Hmmm I might have quite a lot of the stuff that you need.

    550w WinPower PSU
    320GB IDE WD HDD or something around that size
    AGP X850XT PE with an old school Arctic Silencer mounted on it.
    I have a few optical drives lying around, mainly DVD readers, writers and the old X52 speed sort that only reads CDs but i guess youre not interested in that :p

    Pm what you need and we can work something out
     
    KieranD says thanks.
  4. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    If Freedom doesn't sort it all out for you then I have a Socket-7 cooler somewhere & possibly a 120Gb IDE HDD. :)
     
    KieranD says thanks.
  5. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,062 (3.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Kinda looking for older retro parts, that's why i would like a voodoo 3 3000 or something like that for glide compatibility. Another thing sort of related, Windows 98SE has a max partition size of 120gb so i could partition a drive into 120gb partitions but since i dont need a lot of space id rather just get a smaller drive.

    I'll keep in mind your offer if i need anything.
     
  6. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    14,041 (5.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,424
    ehhh... Older cards???

    well I think I have an AGP ATi 3D Rage II, but thats not in the same league as the Voodoo 3. I did have a Nvidia TNT2 somewhere which would probably been a closer match to a V3 but i have no idea where half that shit even is.

    Let me know if you are still interested in anything else.

    :EDIT:

    Found a Western Digital WD400 40GB hard drive - its kinda noisy though but i pulled it out of a cousins rig that got fixed up and donated to a nursery. still working perfectly
     
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2012
    KieranD says thanks.
  7. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,062 (3.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Yeah i should have said in the op i was looking for older hardware. If i could get a newer quieter hard drive i think id go for that.

    Im building a retro 90s gaming rig for DOS and windows 98/95 games, here's a link...
    http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?p=2608647#post2608647

    A user on Amibay offered me; Voodoo 3 3000 AGP, a bunch of different cpu coolers, 40gb WD400 or Maxtor Diamondmax Plus 8, an old creative dvdrom 5x for a decent price

    For a card id probably stick to a Voodoo for Glide or if i had to id go with a GeForce 256 and better or a Radeon, as those all have Hardware Transform and Lighting.
     
  8. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,062 (3.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Still looking, bump
     
  9. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,868 (6.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,469
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I have a 40Gb IDE drive and a Radeon 9200 SE 128Mb AGP that I know work, but that might be too new for what you're looking at doing. I have 2 100Gb IDE drives as well, but I'm not sure if they're good. I have to resurrect a machine that actually has IDE to check SMART and run a long test on them. They're not new, they've all been used but not abused. Let me know if you're interested in any of it.
     
    KieranD says thanks.
  10. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,062 (3.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Quick bump, looking for more offers.
     
  11. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    I'll have a look for that HSF today, posting it shouldn't cost too much so don't worry about that :)

    I'll let you know when I've found it though.
     
    KieranD says thanks.
  12. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,918 (5.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,690
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    I have a 600W PSU, a Sansun Black, not great but not bad, hardly used (about a month) with a single rail of 32A I think sat in a cupboard somewhere along with two DVD/IDE drives and an old MX400 grapics card which I think is AGP.
     
    KieranD says thanks.
  13. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,062 (3.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    600w is a bit much for my needs but thats good to know, depends on if a case i see has a psu or not.

    Going to get a Creative DVD Drive and Creative PCI decoder card, doesnt need to be Creative but thats what the bundle was and that might be nice to have. No longer looking for an optical drive, edited the OP.
     
  14. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,308 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,488
    Location:
    NL, Europe
    Still needing a socket 7 cooler? I have one here that you may have for shipping price (13 euro). It does not have a fan anymore though, and the shipping fee probably does not make it worthwile.
     
    KieranD says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,062 (3.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Techtu, offered me one and so have a few others. Cheers anyway
     
  16. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,062 (3.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    just another bump.
     
  17. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,579 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    Long time no see :p
    Just had a load of old gpu's dropped off to me yesterday, lemme have a look.
    The oldest ones I've got are:
    Diamond Riva 128 Viper 330 4MB (AGP)
    Diamond Stealth 3D Pro 2MB+ (PCI, has 4 free slots onboard for extra memory)
    VL-88S S3 Virge/DX (PCI, has 8 slots for memory and all are filled)

    Unsure if any of it's old or good enough.

    I think I got an old PSU here too if you need it? Only problem is all this stuff is untested.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2012
    KieranD says thanks.
  18. halodude23

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    Messages:
    314 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Interested in a Silverstone TJ04-E, not sure if it's retro looking to you...
     
    KieranD says thanks.
  19. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,062 (3.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Bit more pricey than i would like to spend but man is that a great looking case.
    I've actually acquired an ATX case; its basic but it comes with DVD drive, CD drive, floppy drive, card reader and some fans pre installed. I will put up pics in the build thread when it comes.

    @ Scaminatrix - RIVA 128 is a bit too slow for me. Its an early 3D/2D accelerator, out about the time of the Voodoo 1 (1997). The other cards are S3 Graphics cards, nothing that i could use.

    May take up Tatty on his offer of a PSU but i'll have to see this case first.
     
    scaminatrix says thanks.
  20. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,062 (3.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    PM'd Tatty if he has the PSU he offered

    Bump.
     
  21. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,918 (5.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,690
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    ^^^ Replied.
     
  22. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    Hey man, sorry not got back to you sooner about this, I don't have the cooler I was on about, it was in a old rig in the shed but some fools decided to burgle the contents of my shed so now not only have I had to put of the water cooling and phantom 410 because I've had to replace my push bike I've lost out on lost of other junk too!

    No promises but there may still be some luck as I think I may have a couple more laying around in a box out there (IIRC), got go through it again soon and throw out all the boxes of the gear I've brought over the years as this just gives them reason to attempt to come into the house.

    Sorry rant over, you can have your thread back :)
     
  23. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,062 (3.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Shame about your shed, no need to go out of your way to check i'll find another cooler. Cheers anyway.
     
  24. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    I dug the box of coolers out, not that there was as much as I thought there in the first place but not to matter I did find a basic Socket 7 cooler :) I've also found some other Socket 7 cooler (I'll upload photo's tonight after the missus goes to bed) but you'd have to pay P&P on that as it's just a whole lump of copper. :laugh:

    Either way PM me with your address an I'll get the thing posted to you tomorrow.
     
  25. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,062 (3.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    PM'd about the cooler.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page