1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Ultra X3 1k psu

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Relyt, May 15, 2013.

  1. Relyt

    Relyt

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    76 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    La Habra,CA
    Hey guys,

    Somehow I managed to lose my box which contained all my extra cables. I'm probably going to run an SLI setup here soon and I can't find a place to pick the cables up at. Any ideas as to where I might find these? Any input would be appreciated!
  2. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,050 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    682
    Location:
    Rochester area
    ID contact Ultra and ask them for a cable set for that psu
    else you may need to make a set of cables for it
  3. Relyt

    Relyt

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    76 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    La Habra,CA
    I heard that they used the same cables but they weren't exactly the same fit. I've been trying to figure that out as well.
  4. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,511 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,158
    Same cables as what? Other Ultras? Contact Ultra, they should know.
  5. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,598 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,237
    Im sorry but Ultra power supplies are just disasters waiting to happen from what ive heard. I wouldnt trust it to run an SLi rig
  6. Relyt

    Relyt

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    76 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    La Habra,CA
    I've had it for a few years with no problems. I'm still contemplating if I should run the 2x660s or just one 670. I already contacted Ultra, no response back yet.
  7. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    ummm,Ultra 3's are better than their old product but this is not the question he is asking
  8. Eric_Cartman

    Eric_Cartman

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Messages:
    577 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    43
    That's never really stopped you from posting your opinion before.:rolleyes:
  9. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,915 (6.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,196
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Ultra PSUs aren't great, but I wouldn't say they are absolutely horrible. There are worst out there, but I sure wouldn't put one in my system.

    Im not sure if Ultra is even intact anymore. Might be harder to get cables from them then the OP might think. The last PSU they released was the X4 and that was years ago.

    OP: Id go GTX660ti SLI. very good price to performance ratio. About the cost of a single 680, but significantly better
  10. Relyt

    Relyt

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    76 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    La Habra,CA
    I already have the psu and I don't really have the means to go grab another one at the moment. I know someone who would sell me 2 660s (standard not ti) by MSI for $160 each or one 670 (Gigabyte Windforce) at $300. My box with the cables simply vanished and I'm sitting here going in circles trying to make a choice. I do tons of multitasking and play a wide range of things. I personally have never ran an SLI setup but I have the means to do so with the exception of the pci-e cables that I am now missing. And all this reading of SLI profiles, screen tearing, and microstuttering is starting to add doubt to me.
    Last edited: May 16, 2013
  11. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,504 (8.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19,063
    I have the cables from a modular 600w Silverstone Strider PSU (SST-ST60F). The psu is dead but you can have the cables for cost of shipping if you want them ;)

    PM if interested

    EDIT- if the ends of your cables match each other (i.e. reversible) then you should be able to use these if they do the same... will need to double check mine to make sure they are like this too
    Last edited: May 16, 2013
    Relyt says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  12. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    Exactamundo.. You can buy cable kits online too but make sure they are compatable with x3
  13. Relyt

    Relyt

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    76 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    La Habra,CA
    This is the major problem right now. Not exactly sure how to go about this, google is screaming at me from abusing it's search bar right now.
  14. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,109 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    806
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    is this the one you have?

    http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=4267989

    I would contact Ultra, their customer support is top notch.

    I have 2 x 600W version (one modular like yours and other non-modular) and both have been working great for few years now. I have run 2 x 4850 CF on the modular with a OCed Phenom II X4 @ 3.8 with total consuming about 480w during gaming and never had a issue with the stability of the PSU.
  15. Relyt

    Relyt

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    76 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    La Habra,CA
    Yeah, that's the exact one. I already sent them an email, still haven't heard back from them though. I've had no problems with the psu, and as you can see it gets great reviews.
  16. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,109 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    806
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    nah call them.


    Corporate Address
    8300 West Flagler St. #121-106
    Miami, FL 33144

    Tech Support E-Mail
    (24 Hour)
    For Tech Support Click HereSupport Number
    (Mon-Fri, 9am-7pm EST)
    1-888-222-5487
    Relyt says thanks.
  17. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,445 (6.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,415
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Last edited: May 16, 2013
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    LOL they never responded back
  19. karolpl2004

    karolpl2004

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    646 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Chicago
    i agree with the quality.. had two of them go to crap 2 weeks apart. ended up picking up my thermaltake and no problems since.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page