1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Unable to Activate Win 8

Discussion in 'General Software' started by MxPhenom 216, Feb 15, 2013.

  1. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,222 (6.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,390
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    I got Win 8 isntalled on my file server, but I am unable to activate it with the key. Says the key is invalid. Since I work at microsoft I got a retail version from the employee store. I have been doing some reading, and to be able to activate Win8 with the key there needs to be a previous version of Windows installed for it to work. WTF, so you can't do clean installs?

    And the box says nothing about Upgrade version. Straight Windows 8 Pro.
     
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,980 (12.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,401
    I don't get why you're not asking your employer what is going on? My answer for you is to install Linux.

    Oh, and no, false, wrong.
     
  3. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,222 (6.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,390
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Well apparently I have an upgrade copy, so doing clean installs won't activate. And too bad Microsoft doesnt label the damn boxes.
     
  4. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,980 (12.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,401
    Okay, so get a different one? I don't understand what you need from this thread.
     
  5. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,946 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,614
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    You may be able to install Windows 8 consumer preview and upgrade from that. With older Windows versions, I could easily install the upgrade version and then upgrade that version and automagically have a full copy of Windows that I could activate. Windows 8 is evil in that you have to have a product key entered before you can even install it.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  6. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,222 (6.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,390
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Wondering more or less if anyone else has made the same issue.
     
  7. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,222 (6.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,390
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    im doing a little work around real quick that i just found.

    And that fixed it.

    What I did:

    1.In Windows 8, open the Registry Editor
    2.Search for MediaBootInstall and set the value to 0.
    3.Open an elevated command prompt (run as administrator) and enter:
    slmgr /rearm
    4.If you get an access denied error message, you’re not running the command prompt with administrator privileges
    5.Restart the computer
    6.Open a command prompt and enter:
    slui 3
    7.Enter your Windows 8 upgrade license key and activate it
    8.Done!
     
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2013
    Jetster says thanks.
  8. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,263 (6.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,298
    I was just about to post that fix.

    Yes, doing a clean install with an Upgrade edition is as simple as doing a reg tweak after install to get it to activate.:toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  9. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,317 (7.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,797
    1. Ok I have the upgrade copy and I do clean installs.

    2. Just use the phone activation.

    You can do clean installs with an upgrade version all day long without doing anything to the registry.
     
  10. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,263 (6.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,298
    That actually won't work, it won't even let you bring up the phone activation window if you do a fresh install using an upgrade key. I've tried.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  11. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,228 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,706
    False:slap:
     
  12. rickss69

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,431 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
    Just one more reason for me to skip Win 8 completely. :laugh:
     
  13. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,317 (7.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,797
    I guess I have some kinda magical upgrade copy then. Because I've done it about 5 times already.

    My guess would be you guys are not doing proper formats. IF I was guessing.
     
  14. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,935 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    477
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    I was about to suggest run CMD as Admin and then do a "slmgr -ipk xxxx-xxxx-xxxx-xxxx" activation...does anyone know if that works with win8?
     
  15. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,846 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,481
    I'm with MailMan on this one. Both of my systems at home were fresh installs of Win 8 Pro Upgrade without any activation issues. Also did a clean install of Win 8 Pro Upgrade here at work without issues.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,317 (7.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,797
    I guess that's two of us with magic Windows 8 upgrade disks. :laugh:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page