1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Unable to format USB flash drive!

Discussion in 'Storage' started by 7mm, Mar 20, 2009.

  1. 7mm

    7mm

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    112 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    INDIA
    I just got Moserbaer 2GB USB pen drive from my friend. Problem is whenever I plug the drive in, it Windows asks me to format every time. When plugged in, it creates another drive as CD drive with 3MB of filled space :eek: . I tried to eject that drive first before formating the main flash area, but nothing changed :banghead: . I've tried several formating tools including the one from HP. I tried Zero level formating but with negative results :mad: . Now the drive is nothing but a part of a Keychain :ohwell: , Please help :confused: .
  2. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,559 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    Try the HP USB formatting tool that you can download in the download section here on TPU.:)

    Oh i feel like an idiot i see you already tried it.
  3. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,559 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    I read that there are many people having this problem.
    Did you check the properties of the drive? Maybe you need to enable or disable something.

    Also did you try it on XP to?
  4. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,300 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,540
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
  5. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,561 (3.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,916
    I had a very similar problem not so long ago. I ended up having to RMA.

    Check out what I did to make sure the drive was kaput before rma'ing.

    :toast:
  6. 7mm

    7mm

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    112 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    INDIA
    Well, Thanx for the replies & the effort made here, I appreciate it. But..., there's nothing my friend can do to get this stick replaced, as he lost it's cap & vendor refuses to change it as it's not a complete product. Also, I missed a point to say here, It has it's own format utility which can be located on a 3MB partition which shown as a CD drive in My Computer.
  7. Xternal

    Xternal New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    20 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Puerto Rico
    Maybe a dumb sugestion but maybe you could buy another one that works of the same model put the cap of the new one on the old one and return the old one
  8. fritoking

    fritoking

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    609 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    61
    Location:
    ohio
    i just rma'ed a 8 gb kingston drive that i cold not format in vista 64 and in xp would format , but every time i tried to transfer files to it said "drive is full". my 4 gb works fine , but the 8 was fubared
  9. inf3rno

    inf3rno New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    411 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    The same problem was going on with my corsair 4 GB due to some creepy viruses.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page