1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

unbalanced temperatures

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Damian^, Sep 7, 2008.

  1. Damian^

    Damian^ New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    552 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Texas
    At the moment i have my E7200 overclocked to 3.8GHz with a VCore of 1.352V
    When i check my temps tho on HWMonitor the difference between core#0 and Core #1 are really far apart most of the time about 20C different.

    I'm having a trouble deciding if i should clock it down or not because when i run OCCT Core temp shows about 68C or 70C while realtemp shows 65C and my motherboard temp sensor shows usually 58C (while the cpu is 100% load)

    Any ideas as to what i could do to bring the temps down or balance them out a bit?
    I have my motherboard/parts outside teh case right now on my mobo box, and my heatsink is the Xigmatek HDT-S1283 w/ Ultra Kaze 120mm 133CFm fan.
     
  2. kyle2020 Guest

    Sounds like the sensors are a bit fubar. Seems to be a regular thing with this chip - you will have to go by an approximation of the other cores temperature, thats about the only thing you can do i think.
     
  3. Damian^

    Damian^ New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    552 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Texas
    Yeah i have heard that...well thanks man I'll still keep working on it, maybe try some ghetto mods to cool it.
     
  4. kyle2020 Guest

    im sure that xigmatek will cool that processor no problem. I wouldnt even worry about it if i be honest. If its under warranty, send it back. If not, learn to ignore the second temperature. :toast:
     
  5. Damian^

    Damian^ New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    552 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Texas
    true that :)
     
  6. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,619 (6.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,143
    Try realtemp to monitor temps...it specifically set for reading the 45nm CPU's!!!!11!!!!
     
  7. Damian^

    Damian^ New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    552 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Texas
    Realtemp "test senors" 4 difference..not good
    [​IMG]
     
  8. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,619 (6.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,143
    looks like you have a stuck sensor. Read the FAQ for real temp to try to calibrate it to your CPU!

    Oh and FYI from my experience 65*C at that clock on air is just about right IMHO!
     
    Last edited: Sep 7, 2008
  9. Damian^

    Damian^ New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    552 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Texas
    I am trying to calibrate my cpu, and i read the faq but even at idle and at 1.6GHz with speedstep and C1E enabled and my VCore is at the lowest setting (1.032V) my temps still show core#0:16C and core#1: 26C

    The faq says to make sure its 4-5C above room temperature but how can i make sure its not more then 4-5C, one core is 4C different then room temp, but the other cores is far ahead
     
  10. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,619 (6.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,143
    if you read the lower part of your screenie, it states that the sensors are not made r=to be prfect at idle, I would worry about load temps. Oh and BTW I have a screenie with an E8600 @ 99*C.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page