1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

underclock qx9650

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by ap4lifetn, Sep 24, 2012.

  1. ap4lifetn

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    136 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    I managed to pick up a QX9650 w/ a P5E WS Pro, an 80GB G2 SSD, 4GB DDR2, a GTS250, and some IBUYPOWER case/psu for $125 today. Its basically a system that isn't needed, but for the price I figure i couldn't pass it up. I want to use this thing as a headless home server since the P5E has 8 SATA 3gb/s.

    ideally, the system will be idle most of the time, except maybe for some streaming and backing up of my current systems at home.

    i want to downclock this thing to about 2GHz to save some power, i want to know if anyone of you think that downclock it will cause stutters in streaming or problems with backing up.

    i think the highest load it'll have is maybe 2 streams from it at once. It will be wired so i dont think lan speed will be a bottleneck.
     
  2. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,962 (5.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,079
    Location:
    Ohio
    Why not just let the power saving features take care of it?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. ap4lifetn

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    136 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    well i was playing with it earlier, i can lock the chip stable at 2.0GHz with .90 vcore, which is much less then the intel speedstep idle voltage
     
  4. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,962 (5.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,079
    Location:
    Ohio
    Yes, I suppose it is... Possibly just set whatever the lowest multi is and go to whatever the lowest voltage is. You wouldn't want to lower your FSB below the stock speed... FSB is already slow enough.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. ap4lifetn

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    136 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    does anyone have a suggestion on a ATX HTPC case? It'll have to be an ATX Media case since the motherboard is an ATX. according to anandtech, if i were to downclock the qx9650 I can probably get down to about 30w for the CPU, and i plan on getting a smaller and more efficient GPU then the GTS250 so i dont think cooling will be a big problem.
     
  6. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,433 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    617
    If you want to save power you might want to just sell the quad core and gts250 and get an old Pentium dual core and maybe a gt610 or something for video

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/Intel-Penti...sor-/251155508790?pt=CPUs&hash=item3a7a08ee36

    $34 with shipping for a 2.5ghz dual core e5300. Please note this is NOT a "Pentium D" which is based on the old P4. It is a Pentium Dual Core, which is more or less a slightly crippled Core 2 duo. It's TDP is only 65w, half that of the quad you have now. If you can find the right buyer you can get quite a bit for the quad since its an "extreme edition"
     
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2012
    More than 25k PPD
  7. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,276 (2.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,184
    Location:
    Oregon
    Correct me if im wrong but doesn't the QX9650 throttle down and use less power then the P Dual Core that does not if I remember right?
     
  8. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    I guess when I decide to upgrade I'll just be giving away my old hardware. :cry:
     
  9. marsey99

    marsey99

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,657 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    you could drop the fsb or multi and run it on low vcore if you wanted.

    i mean my q9550 would do stock speeds on 0.925v or 3.6ghz on 1.16v both of which was super cool.

    as already said i think you would be best swapping out the cpu and gpu for low power stuff, use anything extra you can get for ram as you can easy fill 4gb imo.
     
  10. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,276 (2.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,184
    Location:
    Oregon
    No not yet. He stole that shit
     
  11. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,433 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    617
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2012
    More than 25k PPD
  12. ap4lifetn

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    136 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    i plan on changing the graphics card to a 6570 or something, but i plan on keeping the processor and motherboard, i think i can keep power consumption in check, check this out
    besides, keeping this is easier then selling and buying a new pentium g620 or something

    [​IMG]

    that's 100% load on all 4 underclocked cores
    ambient is around 22-24C i would say


    i got really lucky :)
    although the case is ugly, and the power supply is a generic brand, so both of them need to get replaced
     
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2012
  13. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,962 (5.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,079
    Location:
    Ohio
    Lucky indeed...

    Don't worry too much Kreij, that CPU is worth more than $125 by itself.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    Let us imagine for a second this topic was posted January 2009.

    Take yourself back to January 2009 then reread the topic.
     
  15. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,507 (4.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,357
    i know...seriously...
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    521
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    Sigh...Poor Extreme...If only it knew it was gonna be "turned down" It woulda hid behind a less powerful CPU in the hopes you didn't notice it there....
     
  17. ap4lifetn

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    136 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    haha, unfortunately the lowest multiplier i can do is 6, otherwise it'll be even lower lol. its gonna be the lowest power consumption extreme processor possible!
     
  18. marsey99

    marsey99

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,657 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    nice going :D

    you could drop it more, set it to 200 fsb and then change the ram ratio, idk how stable it would be bellow 200fsb but it should work :)

    i bet that chip would love my phase, its volts scaling is nice :D
     
  19. ap4lifetn

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    136 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    check out this article from anandtech,
    http://www.anandtech.com/show/2404/2

    thats why im not worried about "TDP" it scales really well when underclocked. i plan on getting a 6570 or something after i pawn the GTS250. it doesnt even have HDMI!
     
  20. marsey99

    marsey99

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,657 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    [​IMG]

    looks like they stopped at 200 fsb on their testing too :)
     
  21. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,667 (3.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,879
    This is interesting. Subscribing
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. ap4lifetn

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    136 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    the lowest voltage my mobo supports is .85V, now lets see i can get 1.8GHz with .85V, would 1.5GHz at .85V be much of a difference in power consumption?
     
  23. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,433 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    617
    well i guess extreme can go either way then... high perf. or ultra power saving :cool:

    If the worst should happen to the rig you use for gaming, you'll have a solid backup waiting for you
     
    More than 25k PPD
  24. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,276 (2.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,184
    Location:
    Oregon
    I still cant believe you got that for that price. For months I watched e bay hoping to snag on of those for less than $250. Before buying my 1155
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page