1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

underclocking bad

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by binsky3333, May 29, 2008.

  1. binsky3333

    binsky3333 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    643 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Ok i have 2 8800gts and consume a crap load of energy, my dad kinda gets mad when i leave my computer on. If i underclock my graphic cards so they use less power and put off less heat, is that bad for them?
  2. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    Its not bad to underclock it. I do it too save energy as well or you could turn the computer off when your not using it: saves a ton of energy.
  3. binsky3333

    binsky3333 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    643 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    ok great!!! what should i underclock it too. Should i underclock the core and the mem. c=576mhz m=850mhz stock
  4. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderatorâ„¢ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,558 (3.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,911
    No... but obviously it won't do good to your gaming... ;)
  5. binsky3333

    binsky3333 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    643 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    only for when my comp is idle
  6. magibeg

    magibeg

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,998 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    203
    Just be careful not to underclock it too much. I seem to recall people back in the x800 days underclocking their cards and killing them that way somehow. Could just be a rumor though.
  7. echo75 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Messages:
    456 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Denmark
    buy a less comsuming card like the 7900 that comsumes a fraction of the 8800 wattage. i will happyly exchange my old 7900 for your 8800 :)
  8. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    I used to go 350 and 500 on my GTS
  9. binsky3333

    binsky3333 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    643 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    ok
  10. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,201 (3.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,089
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    Why not just put your computer in standby mode? Near instant bootup...
  11. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    And when your not gaming lower the clock speeds when your browsing etc :)
  12. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,687 (4.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,618
    Location:
    US
    Don't that depend. Lowering the clocks is good but lowering voltage could do more harm than good as you can blow some thing up by not having enough volts.

    I underclock the Htz by some 120+ but as volts i leave. Just not willing to take that risk as ATI i believe would of done it them selfs to stop so many people complaining about the card i own.
  13. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    I didn't suggest lowering the volts ... I don't know how to anyway :laugh:
  14. kyle2020 Guest

    +1 on that - just put your pc on standby or something?

    if you really want to underclock, use rivatuner.
  15. MadCow New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Messages:
    544 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Honestly underclocking won't do much for power consumption, it's voltage that kills it. I would just leave it and spare the hassle or undervolt it.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page