1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Underclocking

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Nitro-Max, Dec 21, 2008.

  1. Nitro-Max

    Nitro-Max New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,476 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    239
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom.{East Anglian Coast
    Does anyone underclock??

    i dont need 3.6ghz of quad power just for watching a movie or surfing the internet just a waste of power and electricity tbh

    Screen shot running 1200mhz idle and 1600mhz under load :toast:

    voltage 1.098v probably could go lower lol but this seems stable its a great chip i can do 3.6ghz @ 1.360v

    I have 2 profiles saved in the bios this one i call energy saving mode

    and gaming mode 3.6ghz raw power.:rockout:
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Dec 21, 2008
    burebista and Emanuel1788 say thanks.
  2. dadi_oh

    dadi_oh New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    809 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Almonte, Canada
    It would be interesting to measure the power savings in going from stock down to 1600MHz. That might indicate whether the savings on the power bill are worth the hassle of deciding which mode to be in (assuming a reboot is required to change modes).

    The other motivation for someone to underclock is closely related and that is thermal load. If you have a small HTPC case and want to run a smaller heatsink with low fan speed (or possibly no fan?) then it may make sense to dial things back. Like you said, you don't really need 4 cores @ 3.6GHz to play a movie.
     
    Nitro-Max says thanks.
  3. jaxxxon New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Messages:
    174 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Wales
    when its playing a movie and only 1 core is running at about 5%, does it really use that much electricity? i thought it only uses alot of electricity when you put it under load. if you underclock it wont it just make the cpu work harder thus using the same amount of electricity. i don't know, just seems pointless to me lol.
     
  4. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Pointless. Are you that much bored ?
     
  5. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    My previous server ran at 800MHz instead of 1600. Simply halved the FSB with a BSEL mod. Apart from power saving it also allows mostly passive cooling.
     
    Nitro-Max says thanks.
  6. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,418 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    637
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    I saved a few watts editing the 2D/3D modes of my video card. It's just an 8600GTS, so it wasn't a huge difference (and now with GPU F@H, I'm always in 3D mode).

    As for CPUs, my C2D, C2Q, and PX4's all transparently adjust voltage and speed for when it's needed and when it's not.
     
    Nitro-Max says thanks.
  7. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    most CPUs underclock automatically when not under load.
    There is no performance lost from it, whenever it reaches almost full load on my 2500MHZ, it goes right on back up to 4200.
    Any good mobo will save you some good $ on the energy bill.
     
  8. Nitro-Max

    Nitro-Max New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,476 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    239
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom.{East Anglian Coast
    Why is it pointless?

    If you have c1e dissabled /speedstep etc then you are running 3.6ghz or what ever all the time the cpu still requires the full amount of voltage to remain stable even if its only useing 5% and your temps are still going to be higher.

    As said you could probably turn the fans off and use passive cooling at such a low voltage.

    I belive it does save energy thats why the c1e /speedstep feature is there to do the same but by underclocking you can take it even lower and run at lower voltages for even more power saving.

    Ive always loved overclocking but i think its pointless and wastefull for just general internet browsing and i have noticed a big increase on my electricity bill through running at 3.6ghz all the time especially when i have the 2nd pc running and the xbox360.
     
    Emanuel1788 says thanks.
  9. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    dont forget longevity of your cpu/gpu/ram.
     
    Nitro-Max says thanks.
  10. Nitro-Max

    Nitro-Max New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,476 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    239
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom.{East Anglian Coast
    you can even dissable cores too you might be able to run the cpu on hardly anything lol
     
    Emanuel1788 says thanks.
  11. silkstone

    silkstone

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,883 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Seems like a good idea, CCC also reduces 2d clock to 500mhz at idle. I might start doing this if my energy bills keep going the way they have been
     
  12. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,569 (6.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,506
    Location:
    IA, USA
    I have never intentionally underclocked. I do generally leave Cool n' Quiet or Speed Step on though.
     
    Nitro-Max says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,418 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    637
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    Maybe.

    If you're component lasts 8 years instead of 4 years, does it really matter if you've already replaced that part after 2 years of use? :)
     
    Nitro-Max says thanks.
  14. burebista

    burebista

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    612 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    181
    Location:
    Romania
    IMO pointless is OC-ing for nothing.

    My old X2 3800+

    idle_amd.png

    Actual E8400

    idle_intel.png

    Both were perfect for browsing, office, movies, music, you know light stuff.
     
    Nitro-Max says thanks.
  15. Emanuel1788

    Emanuel1788

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Cartagena, Colombia
    I also underclocked my quad, it saves up to 30w at idle.:toast:
    [​IMG]
    Its very stable, I think I can go lower, but Im fine. :)
     
    Nitro-Max says thanks.
  16. Nitro-Max

    Nitro-Max New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,476 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    239
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom.{East Anglian Coast
    Thats really nice underclocking there burebista
     
    Emanuel1788 says thanks.
  17. Nitro-Max

    Nitro-Max New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,476 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    239
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom.{East Anglian Coast
    looking at that seems i can go lower on my voltage ive only just started playing though tbh
    nice underclock
     
    Emanuel1788 says thanks.
  18. silkstone

    silkstone

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,883 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    So we're talking about a saving of around 40w with underclocking, at most? That's less than a light bulb takes right?
    Well every little helps i guess.
     
    Nitro-Max says thanks.
  19. Emanuel1788

    Emanuel1788

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Cartagena, Colombia
    I also underclocked my power hungry 4870 for even more power savings.:)
    [​IMG]
     
    Nitro-Max says thanks.
  20. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,892 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    lol, cool thread. Since my 9600BE doesn't OC for crap, maybe I will see how far it goes down.
     
    Nitro-Max says thanks.
  21. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    I can't underclock, but I do undervolt my laptop. Core 2 is amazing in that regard too...at 2 ghz I only need .9875 V to be stable. Unfortunately, at the lowest multi, the lowest voltage option is .95 volts. But you defiantly notice the difference in temps. At full load with no undervolting, the fan has to run at high no matter what, more or less. With undervolting, it can run at low all the time if it's fairly cool in the room, or low and then some high and then back to low, so it defiantly benefits temperature. I imagine it would do power consumption some good, especially if it's a core 2, where 1 ghz is more or less enough for me to browse the web, listen to some music, youtube just fine.
     
  22. kid41212003

    kid41212003

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,584 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    533
    Location:
    California
    The Core i7 can go down to 0.9v when Energy saving mode is enabled.

    I don't like to underclock my processor, because you will have to restart to change setting when you want gaming. And beside, there will be noticeable performance lost, even if you're just surfing websites, and I don't like the time lag, or delay clicking when I'm using my computer.

    I want my computer to react faster than me.

    It took my computer to open Photoshop CS4 under 1 second and a half.
    Half second to open MS Office 2007.

    My old computer couldn't keep up with me, but now, I couldn't keep up with my computer, and I like it that way...
     
  23. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,542 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    my Q6600 does 3040mhz @ 1.2875 (its own VID) and 2.4ghz somewhere around 1.1v

    if you really going for low power/heat then under volt is the way to go, but as you can see with a Q6600 there is generally OC headroom at stock volts too.
     
  24. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I have all my CPU's folding so I have them at the highest they can get. I can't fold with my P4 tho because it slows my system down tho.
     
  25. OzzmanFloyd120

    OzzmanFloyd120

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,047 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    297
    Location:
    Pontaic Michigan
    I've been doing this for about six months, only I downclock to 1ghz at 1.0v
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page