1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Unigine Heaven 2.0 for Linux

Discussion in 'Linux / BSD / Mac OS X' started by Melcar, Mar 23, 2010.

  1. monte84

    monte84 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Messages:
    153 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    will find out shortly
     
  2. monte84

    monte84 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Messages:
    153 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Wow, yeah, its a slide show, after seeing it being renderd screenshots and videos really dont do it justice.

    [​IMG]
     
  3. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,711 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    299
    Any idea why the 4850 seems to have tessellation issues?
     
  4. monte84

    monte84 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Messages:
    153 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    It doesn't supported todays tessalation, on unigine demo, you can enable to be rendered by CPU, although very slow.
     
  5. wahdangun

    wahdangun New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,512 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Location:
    indonesia ku tercinta
    are us sure it use software mode? it's seems to me that thing use old tessellator (that already present since radeon 8500 era)
     
  6. monte84

    monte84 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Messages:
    153 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Im pretty sure it is processed by CPU, a friend of mine ran it with his GTX285, with poor results as well.
     
  7. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,499 (4.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,330
    now THAT is interesting!
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. wahdangun

    wahdangun New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,512 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Location:
    indonesia ku tercinta
    hmmm if this thing use software mode why it's say something like "gl_render_use_amd_vertex_shader_tessellator"?
     
  9. monte84

    monte84 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Messages:
    153 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Probably because at the time of release, AMD was the only one with tesellation support. As well, I would expect better performance if it were GPU based tesellation. im just speculating, I can't say for certainty.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page