1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

University of Antwerp Makes 4k € Supercomputer with Four GeForce 9800 GX2 Cards

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, May 31, 2008.

  1. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    :laugh: the solution to the energy crisis by recycling used energy on gpu's
  2. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,483 (6.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,725
    They do need to cnvert this setup to water cooler. Maybe they can do what that village in Europe did with their water cooling setup for their IBM super-computer, use it to heat their public swimming pool.
    25 Million points folded for TPU
  3. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    Just sit it in a pool and make sure its water proof and it will heat it up. Or you could use it to boil water for tea or for cooking etc.
    Last edited: May 31, 2008
  4. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    11,554 (4.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,262
    Wow he is being all serious about this While Shadow and Dr are joking about it, LMAO!!!
  5. Morgoth

    Morgoth

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,789 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    250
    Location:
    Netherlands
    no i'm talking abouth bandwith of ram and quikpath
  6. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    :laugh: I'm going to make mine a reality :cool: DrPeppers nuclear nvidia reactor.
  7. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    Yeah the ram was the weakpoint in the system. I think nehalem with the 4 Gx2's would cure cancer.
  8. Morgoth

    Morgoth

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,789 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    250
    Location:
    Netherlands
    i hope so :)
  9. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    11,554 (4.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,262
    ya since Green is Related to Nuclear Waste, glowing green lolz.
  10. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    If it does i'l be an intel believer for life :toast:

    and green is good for the environment = greenpeace loves me
  11. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    11,554 (4.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,262
    not nuclear waste dude.
  12. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    just tell them its fairies not radiation
  13. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    11,554 (4.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,262
    Heh, thats amusing.
  14. Haytch

    Haytch New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    510 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Australia
    I dont see anything super about it.
    Its actually a pretty crappy setup, except ofcourse the 4gfx cards. I applaud CUDA being used to make the cards render images given to them for medical purposes, thats gold and very smart, but other then that, its crappy. Actually, its a total piece of shit.

    Sorry, i get emotional :p The only reason i call it a piece of shit computer is because someone actually thinks its SUPER . . . Like i said, nothing super about the actual pc. The super part is the people that wrote the program to make the pc render images for the medical purposes.

    Dont IBM have a Supercomputer ? Doesnt everyone have a Supercomputer ?
  15. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,267 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    595
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    They have a supercomputer until someone else outdoes them :)
  16. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    "delivers roughly the same performance as a supercomputer cluster consisting of hundreds of PCs" If a single pc can do that imagine a cluster of them at roughly a fraction of the cost, if thats not super then your insane also CUDA means they can use it for almost anything a normal supercomputer can do e.g folding at hone or climate simulations etc etc
    ghost101 says thanks.
  17. Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,171 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    375
    That is one leet and neat build.
  18. Weer New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,417 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    New York / Israel
    How crude of you to insult my logic. I was simply mis-informed or un-knowledged.

    However, I thank you for clearing that up, as it did present a form of interest to me.
  19. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,678 (11.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,210
    making assumptions without any empirical evidence or prior knowledge, fits under faulty logic to me. Dont take it personally, it wasnt intended that way.
    Video cards work fine in the same system dual display without SLI/crossfire, and always have since the PCI days.
  20. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    11,554 (4.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,262
    ill settle it, both yall stop arguing and kiss and makeup.
  21. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,678 (11.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,210
    :(
  22. sumit_malwadkar New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    What a shame.......:mad:

    What a shame...... they have used AMD Phenom 9850 processor :laugh:.
    Insted of AMD Phenom 9850 processor if they have used Intel Core2Extreme they will surely get more peroformance from this system....
  23. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    Not really since that was only to control the gpu's and the flow of information, if it did they would have used a core 2
  24. Morgoth

    Morgoth

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,789 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    250
    Location:
    Netherlands
    and if the did that the would have a huge bottleneck from the FSB and ram
    since amd phenom uses HT, HT gives allot more bandwith then FSB can ever offer
    DrPepper says thanks.
  25. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    Cheers for explaining that :toast:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page