1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Unknown Device?

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Random Murderer, Oct 4, 2007.

  1. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,464 (2.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,165
    [​IMG]

    WTF is that?
    I think it's my ATi Rage Theater chip, but i don't know.
    I've tried installing drivers for it through that dialog box to no avail.
     
  2. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    Check Device Manager for Hardware installed but not working properly. It could be a simple media component or somthing else built onto board but not working due to missing drivers etc.

    :toast:
     
  3. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,464 (2.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,165
    nah, the only other things that show up weird are the net adapters that i have manually disabled.
     
  4. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,685 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    348
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Where did you get your drivers from (if the internet please link)?
     
  5. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,464 (2.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,165
    ati.com... i'm running 7.6's and i'm not updating dammit!
     
  6. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    Update your drivers or disable that thing, because your cards are diff.:toast:
     
  7. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,715 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    If you do the display drivers only, you will not get the VIVO drivers and you will see that message for the rage theater chip like you mention - I learned the same way :toast:
     
  8. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,464 (2.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,165
    nah, i have the suite... it comes with the ccc, the display drivers, and the wdm drivers. nothing about vivo.
     
  9. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,783 (13.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,163
    You can download the avivo separately.
     
  10. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,797 (3.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    546
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    I have the same thing, but its because of the whole package.
     
  11. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,793 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    567
    Location:
    New York
    I would try the betaCCC7.10
     
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2007
  12. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,464 (2.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,165
    so, stupidly, i tried updating my drivers. i uninstalled, ran driver cleaner, manually searched and deleted ati files, and then cleaned my registry. i rebooted, tried to install the drivers, and after the driver was done installing, just when i thought it worked, it gave me a "zero display device" error... wtf? help?
     
  13. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,464 (2.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,165
    and now amdgpuclock tool is telling me it has no driver support... dammit, i knew i shouldn't have tried upgrading...
     
  14. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,464 (2.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,165
    bump
     
  15. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,464 (2.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,165
    ok, i reinstalled the 7.9's and, lo and behold, i got the same error. except now amdgpuclock tool tells me driver aid is supported... i'm fuckin stumped...
     
  16. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,715 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    :banghead:
     
  17. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,464 (2.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,165
    lol, fixed.
     
  18. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,715 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Shit, I left the drivers in when I installed my HD 2900 XT, I get a 'file already or driver already exists' error in CAT 7.9 and unknown device when I rebooted:

    [​IMG]

    ATI removal, drivercleaner pro. Tried two times.

    How did you fix?
     
  19. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,464 (2.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,165
    can you show me what you have under display adapters?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page