1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Unlock a Athlon 3000+?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by karolpl2004, Aug 15, 2006.

  1. karolpl2004

    karolpl2004

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    646 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Chicago
    Hey guys, i think this was posted before but i could find it. I have a Athlon XP 3000+. I read that some versions of these can be unlocked. Right now im running mine at 2.27Ghz, which is not a big overclock from 2.16Ghz. The numbers on the label say:

    Code:
    AXDA3000DKV4D   Y902274L30166
    AQYHA 0351RPMW   1999 AMD
    Its the green one, not the brown one...
    My heatsink is the Zalman Flower... All copper

    [​IMG]

    Anyway, im looking to hit 2.5Ghz. Do you guys think its possible/worth it?
    Or should i just get a Athlon XP-M?
  2. _33

    _33 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,248 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Quebec
    If it's in 0.13nm chip, then probably you can go little more up. But your HSF has no fan, so it really isn't made for overclocking.
  3. karolpl2004

    karolpl2004

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    646 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Chicago
    it is .13nm and the heatsink has a 92mm fan over it.
  4. Poisonsnak New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2005
    Messages:
    363 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Saskatoon, SK
    Unlocking the multi on athlon XPs is pretty tough I think. I would recommend the XP-M if you can find one, I had a 2500+ and it did 250x10 1.85V no problem.
  5. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    Sell that 3000+, and get a nice IQYHA XP-M 2600+ stepping, those suckers tended to hit 2.6GHz without so much as breaking a sweat.
  6. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,668 (7.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,980
    Location:
    some AF base
    yeah it is a pain in the ass to unlock (i know i had a t-bred 2000+) it did 144x12.5 (w/ a boost in voltage) no issue but i never could get it unlocked
  7. savor_of_filth New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    198 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    S.E.A
    XP-M ??

    is it barton??Im confused..
  8. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    anything from the XP-M 2400+ is the Barton core, yes.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page