1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Unlocked Realtek HD Audio Drivers (With Dolby Digital Live and DTS Interactive)

Discussion in 'Audio, Video & Home Theater' started by 2bad, Oct 24, 2013.

  1. marcusdavidus New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2014
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    mr helpfull file is reported by kaspersky as an trojan so i propably dont want o mess with it i check it more i reinstaling system anyway so i will report later
     
  2. spoonhandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2014
    Messages:
    13 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Just stopped by to say thanks to 2bad and everyone else here for this. I got the modded drivers setup on an Asus Crosshair V Formula-Z and GA-F2A88XN-WIFI with Windows 8.1 and it works perfectly with the Astro Mixamp Pro 2013. (even works on 8.1.1)

    I was kind of pissed to realize that the onboard sound didn't have DDL as an option and I don't understand why the manufacturers won't make that an optional purchase to unlock with some kind of software download. I would gladly purchase it over buying a new sound card.
     
  3. spoonhandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2014
    Messages:
    13 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    The screenshot you have is showing the settings for the High Definition Audio/Speaker which is the settings for the 3.5mm audio output. DDL would be on the settings for the Optical output (if you have one on your motherboard).
     
  4. Delphium

    Delphium

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    19 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    So after running these for a few months, providing the functions claimed, 5.1 digital output, I have unfortunately needed to stop using these drivers as I found that there was a memory leak, it is very slow, but there is one, resorting in my 16gb of ram being totally eaten up in approximately 5-6 days, a restart of the system would of cause clear this but not fix this, meaning a restart every few days, this frequency of restart increased as I used more audio focused applications such as Native Instruments Traktor DJ or playing music all day with Winamp.

    As soon as I reverted back to the default non modified drivers my RAM usage returned to normal and my PC would no longer come to a grinding halt hammering the pagefile.
    It has now been 2 whole weeks without me needing to restart my PC and for the past week my RAM usage has not been through the roof, it has remained steady and stable, I have even been able to have NI Traktor running for a complete week without issue.

    Has anyone else noticed that over a period of time that RAM usage seems to increase as if there is a memory leak occurring?

    I am using the R2.71 modded drivers.
     
  5. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,981 (11.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,292

    i've been getting generic bluescreens for a while now since i went to windows 8.1, with a generic 'driver power state failure'

    it may not be related, but its entirely possible its another symptom of this memory leak you've mentioned.
     
  6. Autoboat New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2014
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    So, add me to the list of people who made an account here just for this thread.

    I'm considering trying this on an ASUS Sabertooth Z77 with the Realtek ALC892 codec. I was wondering if there is any risk of hardware damage from forcing a device to run a codec it doesn't support? I have read elsewhere this can cause damage if the codec exceeds the hardware's capabilities.

    On the other hand, I've also read that the only reason DDL isn't supported on the ALC892 is the cost of licensing.

    The previous post about bluescreening also makes me sort of worried. :confused:

    Thanks everyone.
     
  7. spoonhandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2014
    Messages:
    13 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I haven't had any issues using the modified 2.73 drivers for the last month and a half. I'm not positive whether there is a memory leak as others have reported, so I'll be monitoring my processes to see whether I'm having the same problem.
     
  8. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,981 (11.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,292
    well my machine didnt reboot last night, but my BSOD's have been roughly 2-3 days apart, so one day isnt enough evidence.

    the drivers work, they give you DDL/DTS over optical. they cannot harm your hardware.
     
  9. h3lls New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2014
    Messages:
    3 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Try it with 2.73.
     
  10. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,981 (11.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,292
    i swear one of my posts went missing - no more BSOD's since i removed the drivers. i could have been on older ones, or it could be an issue with windows 8.1 - but a fair warning to anyone 8.1 users who use S3 sleep a lot, it causes bluescreens and reboots (at least, on whatever version i was using - i've lost track sorry)
     
  11. Crycher New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014
    Messages:
    2 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thank you guys,
    after waiting 5 months you gave me the opportunity to test DTS and DDLive without buying a Sound Card....
    After some hours i was able to get DTS Sound :peace:

    But I'm still wondering about the bad sound quality :
    I'n running my Teufel Consono 35 Mk2 conncted via coax to my OnBoard RealTek ALC889A... if i dont put any "Environment Filters" like "Room" music is only played in 2.1 and only with really low bass support.... changing to "Room" makes it sound like 5.1 Stereo, which much more enjoyable...... but other Applications like games and especially youtube( all browser vids) sounds like a big tube/pipe, i also tried to connected the System via 3 x 3.5 cinch... games and youtube were quiet good but hearing music was really terrible, no bass and really high tones...


    is that normal for DTS, DDLive, i'm roconsidering to try a sound card...
     
  12. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,981 (11.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,292

    DDL converts it straight up, as is - so a stereo source is still stereo.

    DTS upmixes, and makes it come out of all speakers if its stereo, or a 5.1 source comes out as 5.1

    personal preference as to what is preffered.
     
  13. Crycher New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014
    Messages:
    2 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    well just tried DDL ... with and without Dolby home Theater... only got 2.0 while hearing music in VLC and WMP....

    edit: just tried to connect the the soundsystem without the reciever... got 2.1 in VLC.. 5.1 in movies with with Dolby Digital and a clear 5.1 in games.. but it's still sounds like crap without bass support... :(
     
    Last edited: Apr 24, 2014
  14. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,981 (11.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,292
    welcome to digital. without a dedicated bass channel, you wont get any. i went back to analogue for that reason.
     
    xvi says thanks.
  15. renegade_officer89 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    4 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Can DDL be used with a single 3.5mm aux cable to a home theater? I have no optical out on my mobo, so I was planning to hook up my home theater unit to my PC using an aux cable.

    I use a Gigabyte B75M-D3V with a Realtek ALC887. Any chance?

    Reading everything here, I didn't manage to pop up that DDL option in my default format setting. I've been slaving this the entire night, and I got nothing out of it. Or is it that it cannot be done?
     
  16. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,981 (11.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,292

    aux cable generally means 3.5mm stereo... in which case, no. thats analogue.
     
  17. renegade_officer89 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    4 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ah crap... Well, that's gonna suck. Any suggestion on a cheap DDL capable sound card with TOSLINK out? Anyone?
     
  18. Cogitatio New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Messages:
    2 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hello guys
    count me in as one of the new guys.

    I have a little Gigabyte GA-Z87N-WIFI LGA 1150 (ALC892) and donĀ“t have the room for a dedicated soundcard. My home cinema system supports hdmi, toslink and sadly only analog aux. . .

    I was extremely excited but I couldnt get it to work:
    - I downloaded the Windows Vista / 7 / 8 - 32 bit and 64 bit - R2.73 M1 files
    - put both of them (the .sys files) in the Vista64 folder of the 64bit_Win7_Win8_Win81_R273 installer (which I opened with 7zip)
    - run setup and told windows to use the unsigned drivers
    - and got an error code: 0x000000ff near the end :-(

    Specs
    OS: Win7 64bit
    Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-Z87N-WIFI LGA 1150 (ALC892)
    HD Audio Controller Hardware ID: There are 3??? o_O
    - PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_0C0C&SUBSYS_20108086&REV_06
    - PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_8C20&SUBSYS_A0021458&REV_04
    - PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_0E1A&SUBSYS_84691043&REV_A1

    HD Audio Codec Hardware ID:
    - HDAUDIO\FUNC_01&VEN_10EC&DEV_0892&SUBSYS_1458A002&REV_1003

    Any suggestions? I really wanted to play FRACT OSC with sourround.

    Thanks in advance. You guys rock!
     
  19. mtrai New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012
    Messages:
    21 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Thanks for this hard work on these...quick question

    I got it installed and it works however I cannot get the Dolby Home Theatre software to work. It is installed but does not do anything. Windows 8.1 update 1 64bit.
     
  20. Delphium

    Delphium

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    19 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    I had issues with the M1 method of patching, however the alternative A1 method (Windows Vista / 7 / 8 - 32 bit and 64 bit - R2.71 A1 (Alternative method):) worked well.

    Unfortunately there does not appear to be a A1 method released for R2.72 or R2.73 as of yet.

    After another week without using any modded drivers I can confirm that my RAM usage has remained stable, in fact the PC has now been online for 3 weeks straight, something I was unable to do before when using the modded drivers without daily restarts of the system.

    Ill give the M1 R2.73 drivers another go again soon.

    How about an Asus Xonar DX ? It might be superseded now but its a starting point, it is what I was using prior to me using these alternative drivers provided in this thread, and is what I am returning to after the stability issues I was facing.
     
  21. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,981 (11.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,292
    contrary to my previous posts, teh driver was not the cause of the BSOD's - faulty ram was causing the drivers to crash.

    sorry for a false positive.
     
  22. Cogitatio New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Messages:
    2 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Can someone explain me how he got R273 + M1 to work?

    On another note: Is it possible to get sorround sound in games with an external usb sound card?
     
    Last edited: Apr 29, 2014
  23. renegade_officer89 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    4 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Already read reviews about the card, and I'd have to say that it sounds quite good. Quite cheap too. Thanks for the suggestion. However, one question. Does DDL really drove 5.1 audio through TOSLINK? Or does it run an emulated version of it, i.e sounds came from all speakers, but at a controlled volume for the rear ones (or something like that)?
     
    Last edited: Apr 30, 2014
  24. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,981 (11.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,292
    if its a 5.1 source, 5.1 comes out. the DTS encoding upmixes it, if its less than 5.1

    if the sound card is 5.1, yes.
     
  25. renegade_officer89 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    4 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I see. That's helpful to know. Thanks a whole lot! Will go look for that card once I have the free time for it.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 17 (0 members and 17 guests)

Share This Page