1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Unlocking the power of the WRT54GL(and a few other routers) with LINUX!

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by newtekie1, Nov 19, 2010.

  1. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,383 (1.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    865
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Finally figured out my problem with ROF ect, turns out I needed to add a signal reducing adaptor to my modem, it was being over modulated and was causing all my issues. Now that I got this thing working right, I realized it had upnp. I then found a little app called PortMapper: http://upnp-portmapper.sourceforge.net/ a little sourceforge project, that allows you to create unique port triggers for any app you like. Works perfect with tomato as well. Now I don't have to leave ports open, only when I need them!
     
  2. pesare6969 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Need some help with WRT54GL !

    Hi Guys!

    Sorry for my bad english , I'm from Sweden.

    I have a few years old Linksys Router WRT54GL V1.1 with Tomato 1,28 firmware.

    Need some help, want to do somethings and don't know how to begin.


    I want that point A (WRT54GL) be connected wireless to point B (Notebook with some intel a/b/g card integrated).

    The distance is 300Meters (330Yards / 0.19 Mile) and humidity in that area is around 80% , but open range none buildning or ...

    The maximum speed I need is around 1 Mbit persecond (150KB per second), and normal internet connection no streaming or ...

    Security doesn't matter can be WEP 64 or none att all!


    Should I buy any antenns for router , and how many should that be dB ? 7 , 9 or 12 ?

    Do I neet to upgrade my network card in notebook , how about this one?

    http://www.memorypuntoit.com/public/prodotti/982011144745a.jpg

    Technical Specifications:

    • Wireless Standard: IEEE 802.11n, IEEE 802.11g, IEEE 802.11b
    • Interface: High Speed ​​USB 2.0 / 1.1 interface
    • Data Rate: 802.11n: up to 300Mbps (downlink) and 150Mbps (uplink), 802.11g: 54 / 48 / 36 / 24 / 18 / 12 / 9 / 6 Mbit / s 802.11b: 11 / 5,5 / 2 / 1 Mbps
    • Frequency: 2.4 GHz ISM band
    • Radio Channel: 1 ~ 14
    • Antenna type: Screw-on antenna
    • RF output power: 25 ~ 27 dBm (typical)
    • Modulation: 11N: BPSK, QPSK, 16QAM, 64QAM OFDM mit, 11g: BPSK, QPSK, 16QAM, 64QAM, OFDM, 11b: DQPSK, DBPSK, DSSS, CCK


    I thought that overclocking the CPU would also increase the range so I bought a notebook cooler (heatpipe + sink + fan) that fits the WRT54GL to cool the CPU and Hynix's memory of it! Have not installed yet, but it has now.


    Can tomato help me, or Do I need to change firmware?

    How about Transmit Power ? What heppens If I increase it to 200 or 250? Can cooling help the radio? I have tested with 100mW but it doesn't work.

    And which channel should I use?




    Thanks for answers, in advance!
    /
     
  3. lilhasselhoffer

    lilhasselhoffer

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,677 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,039
    Location:
    East Coast, USA
    Holy crap, that's some distance.

    The area a router can cover is significantly less than 300m. You could search of plans for a directed antennae online (something like this: http://www.engadget.com/2005/11/15/how-to-build-a-wifi-biquad-dish-antenna/).

    The less crazy route is a repeater. You can pick up a (or maybe a couple given the distance) wireless repeater for slightly less than the cost of a decent router (something like this: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16833315087, though I understand you'll have to find a local supplier). It will likely introduce some speed loss, but you should, reasonably, still get the speed you need.


    *Crazy is all relative. I just wanted to get across the fact that building your own antenna is difficult, and will likely not get you what you want.
     
    pesare6969 says thanks.
  4. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,217 (6.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,258
    For that kind of range you are probably going to want to build or buy a directional antenna to focus the signal in the direction need it to travel instead of kind of just going everywhere. Increasing the signal power is also going to be a must. And network adapter that can take an external antenna will also be very helful.

    A couple of these would likely cover the distance you need: TP-LINK TL-ANT2424B 2.4GHz 24dBi Grid Parabolic An...
     
    pesare6969 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  5. pesare6969 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thank you for your answers. The link was usefull I bookmarked them.

    Want to ask some thing, Every time I see a new D-link product like Router N about range specification 100m indoor range and 300meters outdoor range , is that bullshit?

    Because I think D-link doesn't make any good router, Here in sweden my friends making joke of D-link product!


    I tested with a normal ADSL Modem(integrated Router function) wireless for a years ago i that situation I told before. My notebook could see a wireless network connection in distance but the signal was too weak so it couldn't stablish any connection. I don't remember the name of that adsl modem but I'm going to find it! It was a cheap normal modem with wireles and only one simple anten (maybe 2-3 dB).

    About the distance, I'm sure that its more than 200Meters but maybe less than 300!



    How much should I increse the Transmit power on my WRT54GL for testing ?

    Should I use the cooling "fan+sink+heatpipe" I have?
     
  6. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,217 (6.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,258
    For the most part, yes it is bullshit. The approximate indoor range of wireless N is 70m, and the outdoor range is 250m. D-Link is just using those numbers and fudging them a little with an "up to" before them. You might get 300m on a perfect day with 0 humidity, on a perfectly flat piece of land, but in the real world it doesn't happen.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  7. pesare6969 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks for answer! Yes I think the same about D-link

    The AdslModem which I told before is : Soliton Technology RTA7105W(ROHS) , I could see the signal in that distance with my integrated intel card , but couldn't establish connection because of weak/low signal !

    I want to test my wrt54gl first, before I buy any extra anten, How much should Trasmit power be att highest level/maximum , for not trying to kill this router?
     
  8. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,217 (6.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,258
    The highest I would recommend for the transmit power would be 150mW.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  9. mtosev

    mtosev New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,463 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Location:
    Maribor, Slovenia
    should I now still buy the linksys wrt54gl router? i'm looking for a new router to replace the current crappy router that i unfortunetelly currently own.
     
  10. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,217 (6.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,258
    Today, I wouldn't recommend the WRT54GL anymore, it is just too antiquated with its features. My current personal choice for routers is the E3000, which can be had for around $60. It has gigabit network ports, simultaneous dual-band wireless N, and a USB port that can be used for a few different things, not to mention a faster CPU and more memory than the WRT54GL which makes overclocking the CPU pointless. But best of all it is still easily supported with TomatoUSB(my favorite firmware) and DD-WRT.
     
    mtosev says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  11. mtosev

    mtosev New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,463 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Location:
    Maribor, Slovenia
    thx but the E3000 here costs 102Eur vs the price of 48Eur the WRT54GL.the WRT still looks like a good buy
     
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2012
  12. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,217 (6.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,258
    Try looking for a refurbished E3000. Otherwise, if you don't think you'll need the features of the E3000, the WRT54GL is still a good router.
     
    mtosev says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  13. mtosev

    mtosev New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,463 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Location:
    Maribor, Slovenia
    I live in Europe and I can't buy refurbs as they aren't sold here.btw I have a 20/2 connection.I plan flashing it with ddwrt the same second I recive it
     
  14. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,217 (6.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,258
    The problem with the WRT54GL is, even with the CPU overclocked, it can only really handle about a 35MB/s internet connection. So, while it would handled what you have now, if you ever upgrade it might become overloaded.

    If you plan to use DD-WRT, then I would also consider an E1000 or an E2000 over the WRT54GL. The E1000 shouldn't be that much more expensive than the WRT54GL.
     
    technicks says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  15. mtosev

    mtosev New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,463 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Location:
    Maribor, Slovenia
    yeah I seen your test on the first page.I don't expect that we will have a faster connection anytime soon as this part of the city doesn't yet have fiber optical infrastructure.btw do you maybe know if my older router(asus wl-500g deluxe running ddwrt) is better or worse than the linksys 54GL
     
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2012
  16. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,217 (6.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,258
    The WL-500G Deluxe is about the same as the WRT54GL, maybe even slightly better.
     
    mtosev says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  17. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    11,218 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,796
    Location:
    US
  18. mtosev

    mtosev New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,463 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Location:
    Maribor, Slovenia
    I can't.My country isn't even listed on cisco's website.the only way for me to buy a refurb would be on ebay but the shipping costs would be crazy:laugh:
     
    Last edited: Apr 28, 2012
  19. mtosev

    mtosev New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,463 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Location:
    Maribor, Slovenia
    there is an option of getting a wrt160nl for 63eur.ordering the router today so what would you say sould i get the wrt54gl or the wrt160nl
     
  20. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,053 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    691
    I really wish AMPED WIRELESS!!! would have DDWRT support but they say that thier amplifiers/chipset might not work right in it or something....thier firmware is Linux based tho... I wonder if anyone would love to try to attempt to get that to work... that would freakin rock.

    they did say they are looking into it though so that's a good sign!! I will reach out to them again in a couple months...
     
  21. lilhasselhoffer

    lilhasselhoffer

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,677 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,039
    Location:
    East Coast, USA
    Why?

    The reason you install dd-wrt, tomato, etc... is because features have been stripped out. Amped seems to be selling a pro-sumer grade product, with little to no restrictions placed on the feature set. The only real benefit seems to be a change to the UI...?

    I loved dd-wrt on my old 54gl, but most new $100+ routers have all their features enabled. Linksys's black eye has changed a lot about how router manufacturers design hardware. I don't see why you wouldn't just buy the router if you really wanted its brand of extreme overkill (relating to TX/RX receiver power).
     
  22. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,053 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    691
    Excellent points there.
     
  23. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,217 (6.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,258
    WRT160NL no question.
     
    mtosev says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  24. mtosev

    mtosev New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,463 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Location:
    Maribor, Slovenia
    I ordered the 160NL yesterday and today I get it
     
    Last edited: May 18, 2012
  25. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,383 (1.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    865
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Love my old WRT54GL... it's what I'm currently using. But really people... it's time to upgrade. My router chokes out on torrents easily ect, I've got it oced to 250mhz, but dam, it's years old tech! Check out my Asus router thread, I'm going to buy this thing and make it my bi0tch....
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page