1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Unreal Tournament 3 Beta Demo Available

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, Oct 12, 2007.

  1. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    Gaming's premiere first-person shooter Unreal Tournament 3 is now available for download on our servers. This Beta demo includes VCTF-Suspense, DM-Heatray and DM-ShangriLA maps. Hurry up and try it.

    DOWNLOAD | Discuss in our forums
     
    zOaib, nick_1992 and JacKz5o say thanks.
  2. JacKz5o New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Messages:
    485 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Nice!

    Downloading now :D
     
  3. nick_1992

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    580 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    Manitoba, Canada
    aww man the TPU servers are packed.... so slow ARGGG
     
  4. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,506
  5. Grings

    Grings New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,303 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    187
    Location:
    Blighty
    If anyones having it crash after showing the splash screen on an nvidia card try this

    1.Open My Documents\My Games\Unreal Tournament 3 Demo\UTGame\Config\UTEngine.ini (in notepad)
    2.Find bInitializeShadersOnDemand=False
    3.Change False to true and save

    found this on the official forums after messing about for about half an hour re-installing direct x & forceware drivers etc, it worked for me

    P.S this rocks!!
     
  6. FatForester New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2007
    Messages:
    971 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    151
    Already 90TB downloaded! :eek: All these moochers are slowing down the servers tho... darn them!
     
  7. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,135 (5.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,458
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Man the server is getting killed. I'm getting 8.5k a sec on a 10 meg line.


    This is a first ever!!!!

    I have never seen them this way before.
     
  8. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,135 (5.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,458
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    :eek:
     
  9. breakfromyou New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    298 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    virginia, usa
    yay! 1.5kb/sec!
     
  10. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,364 (2.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    914
    Hell, go to filefront, I was Dling at 250K.
     
  11. Makaveli

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Messages:
    430 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    I hit up filefront also at around noon. at about 300k playing it now its runs pretty well.
     
  12. zOaib New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    985 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    FL
    excellento
     
  13. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    i am nabbing it @ 400-500kb/s on gameupdate.org
     
  14. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,272 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,725
    absolutely amazing game..kinda reminds me of gears of war
     
  15. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,364 (2.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    914
    Yeah, GOW crossed with UT2k4.
     
  16. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    Looks like the game's server browsers is semi-broken. I can run the game maxed at 1440x900, but cannot tell if i am suffering low fps due to lag from other players.
     
  17. DaJMasta

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    479 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Silver Spring, MD
    Just fyi, this game demo does NOT work with x64 systems. It is a regularly reported bug in the main ut3 forums, it will either not install giving a couple different messages, or will install and lock up on the splash screen.



    Dunno why epic would do that though, they've had good 64 bit support for their engines/games in the past, I don't see why this beta should somehow be limited by a 64 bit os.
     
  18. Yin

    Yin

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    542 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    HELP it doesnt work on my computer, its not fairrrrr

    I've updated my drivers, and when i get into the menu as it is loading the level it just gives me a critical error =/
     
  19. EviLZeD

    EviLZeD New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    818 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    it runs perfectly fine for me on vista premium 64 bit
     
  20. spacejunky New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Messages:
    96 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    TX
    Can't get it to work on XP x64. I'm sure the full game will support it though. I checked it out on my friend's 32 bit sys and it looks great.

    It looks like Gears because they use the same engine. Probably borrowed some textures as well.
     
  21. Grings

    Grings New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,303 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    187
    Location:
    Blighty
    did you try the fix in my earlier post in this thread?, i had to do it on both my nvidia systems (an 8800 and a 7800) before it worked
     
  22. devguy

    devguy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,239 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    SoCal
    Thanks for the tip. Saved me having to waste my time downloading this. And yeah, it is odd that there's trouble with xp x64 as I believe EPIC even had a 64bit version of UT2k4.
     
  23. Grings

    Grings New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,303 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    187
    Location:
    Blighty
    there's a patch now (for 64 bit/server 2003)
    http://www.gamershell.com/download_21433.shtml
     
  24. DaJMasta

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    479 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Silver Spring, MD

    YESS!

    And...

    WinXP 64 installer workaround
    1) Click on Start > Control Panel > Administrative Tools -> Local Security Policy
    2) Right click on Software Restriction Policies and select New Software Restriction Policies from the popup menu.
    3) Left click on Software Restriction Policies, right click on Enforcement, and select Properties from the popup menu.
    4) Under Apply software restriction policies to the following users: click All users except local administrators. Click the Apply and OK buttons - you should now be able to install the UT3 Demo

    We are currently investigating why it doesn't run afterwards. Sorry for the inconvenience... we certainly would've liked this to be much smoother :-/
     
    Last edited: Oct 14, 2007
  25. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Just downloaded the game....amazing!

    Runs maxed out on my comp @ 1280x1024 :D. Its damn sweeeet.

    Was worth the wait, waiting for it to come to an Aussie server for speeds of 1.2mb/s :).
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page