1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Unreal Tournament 3 PC System Requirements

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, Oct 3, 2007.

  1. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,380 (3.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,083
    I think a11111etc is right. If you need a totally high-end system to make a game look good, something's strange. However, now when the Dx10-shift is coming up, I assume there will be a gap of some sort that'll make it harder for the lower-end systems to keep up.

    EDIT: Remember though, that a1111etc's graphic card nowadays must be labeled low-end and therefore he might have troubles with this game, so he/she might speak out of jealousy. ;)
    a111087 says thanks.
  2. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    "Minimum System Requirements
    * NVIDIA 6200+ or ATI Radeon 9600+ Video Card"

    That is silly, I had a 9600pro and the games didn't ran good even when it was new! :)

    Those Recommended specks seem more like the real minium.
  3. a111087

    a111087

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,736 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    US
    Thank you Frick, but 7600gt is really good on Bioshock (low res, med/high settings, perf mode on drivers)
    however, I will not refuse from 8800Ultra

    Edit: 7600 is coming close to low end, but not quite there
  4. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,865 (6.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    If by new you mean new in box, and by games you mean Oblivion, then sure :D
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. kakazza New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Messages:
    470 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Taken from the Epic chat on EnterTheGame in #beyondunreal a week ago or so:

    [26-09-2007 03:27:08] <@EventServices> Question - Will UT3 have an online FPS cap? If so, will we be able to breach this cap by editing the .ini files?
    [26-09-2007 03:27:27] <@[Epic]Checker> programmer question.
    [26-09-2007 03:27:53] <@[Epic]IctusBrucks> i dont believe we cap the frame rate
    [26-09-2007 03:28:56] <@[Epic]IctusBrucks> well I've seen UT3 running at 300+ fps just last night on a new system
    [26-09-2007 03:29:24] <@MarkRein[Epic]> Yikes 300+ fps? That's insane!!
    [26-09-2007 03:29:50] <@[Epic]IctusBrucks> that was on one of the new dell 720s :) it wasn't a full benchmark, just looking around
    [26-09-2007 03:29:53] <@[Epic]IctusBrucks> but still, it was fast ;)


    Probably this "720":
    http://www.dell.com/content/products/productdetails.aspx/xpsdt_720h2c
  6. DaJMasta

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    479 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Silver Spring, MD
    Oh epic, I love how your engines scale.



    I'm glad the specs came out this way, even though the x1300 remark is a little ridiculous (methinks that should be an 8 not a 3). My guess is the minimum specs resolution is SM2, 640x480, low detail everything and some choppyness but still playable.... so it doesn't seem unreasonable to think a 9600 pro could pull that off at the low end.
  7. Nothgrin New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    145 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Being a game programmer myself I see that the requirements are possible but not impossible. First off if an engine is built from the ground up with a certain gpu manufacturer in mind say ATI, DirectX and OpenGL both have ATI only operations. and Nvidia has their own set of operations too. IF the engine is built with ATI optimizations the same operations may take longer on an NVidia card thus requiring a better GPU to handle the same data.

    Secondly this is Epic. They made the engine themselves. They must have the most updated and optimized UT3 engine there is. Other companies have to learn to use the UT3 engine SDK and get familiar with it while Epic can pick it up and go. They have the ability to look deep into the development code of the engine that they can pick things apart and use what they need. Thus requiring less secifications than another company.
  8. Basard

    Basard

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Messages:
    582 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Oshkosh
    ... 9600 owned nvidia like athlon owned pentium 3..... 9600 was godly...
  9. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,379 (2.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,116
    QFT!!!
  10. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    Don't know what you've been smoking. 9500 was faster than 9600, the card that replaced it, 9700np was miles ahead of 9600pro. It wasn't until 9600xt came, that 9600 series finally got to 9500 level. Sure it beat fx series, but those were nvidias worst cards ever. You can't say that 9600 series was fast just because it beat top fx cards in source engine. 9500, 9700 & 9800 cards and their pro versions were great, 9600 (RV350) was bad, 9600xt (RV360) just ok. All GeForce FX "sucked" :) Hopefully I'm not offending any previous FX owners, just that 9600 series was anything but godly.
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2007
  11. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,379 (2.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,116
    you know what beats ALL those cards you just mentioned?

    a hammer.
  12. a111087

    a111087

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,736 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    US
    i had FX 5200 128mb AGP
  13. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,635 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    Tennessee
    8Gb? This game takes up more HD space than WoW... :laugh:
  14. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    11,934 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,334
    if i recall, UT2004 ran good on lower settings which was a GF2, 1.0 GHz CPU, 512 MB ram. I think the guys that dev UT are the best at the game of optimization, in compare to freaking Creators of Doom3, FEAR, etc.
  15. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,379 (2.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,116
    hell, i used to run ut2k4 on an old hp with a 1.2 GHz Athlon, 256 MB of RAM, and a 16 MB Riva TNT 2.
  16. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,362 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    903
    Oh yeah. I could run UT2k4 on some old shit fairly well. I mean, GF4 MX 420 old.

    I would like to see more devs making games that will run on the lesser hardware.
  17. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,379 (2.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,116
    yea, and ut2k4 STILL looks damn good when you crank up the graphics to this day...
  18. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    11,934 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,334
    Need for Speed Underground 1 and 2 were the same way, would run on just about any hardware, that changed when MW and higher came out.
  19. Basard

    Basard

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Messages:
    582 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Oshkosh
    ATI was king of the hill back when the 9xxx were out... I'm just sayin that even though the Pro might have sucked, it was still better than nvidia. And now ATI kinda sucks, so yeah, rub it in my face now, thats what your sposed to do. :D
  20. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    Yeah, I was just a bit dissapointed, as many of my friends had Radeon 9700np:s back then and those or 9500np were no where to be found anymore, so I had to get a 9600pro. Well I got them back eventually, just few weeks back the last 9700np owner upgraded to a x1950pro :)
  21. mixa New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Messages:
    120 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Aden Castle Town
    Many games are gonna use this engine very soon so if somehow it`s optimized for AMD/ATI cards .... well you know if you`re framerate maniac you better go get quad SLI to keep yourself satisfied ;)
  22. mab1376

    mab1376

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Messages:
    946 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    i remember my 9600, i got the core up to 500MHz with the zalman heatpipe cooler. used to rock desert combat for bf1942 on that:)

    UT3 should run fine on all 7000 and 8000 series nvidia cards and x1k and x2k ati cards

    obviously higher end cards will be capable of more features being enabled (FSAA, AF, etc)

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page