1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Unstable... raise FSB voltage or chipset voltage?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by hat, Dec 7, 2010.

  1. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,878 (6.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    I've got an unstable system (E2140 in specs). I did the 1333 BSEL to it seeing as how my new motherboard supports 1333 processors, but it was unstable. I didn't want to mess with it right now so I dropped the multi to 6x in the bios, giving me 2000MHz (well blow the 2130MHz I achieved with the 266 BSEL in a far crappier board), however, it is still unstable. I'm thinking it can't handle the FSB increase, even though the boards supports 1333 CPUs, since the CPU is only stock 800...

    So, should I move to increase my chipset voltage or the FSB voltage to solve this issue? They're both stock 1.20v, about how high should I go?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. GSG-9

    GSG-9

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,678 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Mn
    I say raise fsb, but honestly you probably oc more than me and are more knowledgeable. Let us know how it goes!
    hat says thanks.
  3. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,510 (13.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,918
    FSB or "north bridge" voltage needs increasing.
  4. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,878 (6.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    I know... but I'm not sure which. That was my whole reason for making the thread.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. GSG-9

    GSG-9

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,678 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Mn
    I think start with the FSB, I would say only raise it by .8v or so (and not all at once). If the problem is not elevated set it back to .8 and try raising the chipset.
    hat says thanks.
  6. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,878 (6.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    On second thought, I'm considering upgrading the psu in my main rig to a nice Silverstone Decathlon. This may help me avoid some problems I've been having in that machine, as well as make a nice hand-me-down for my server. I noticed the board had an 8-pin cpu power connector, but I only have the 4-pin... and there's no provisioning for it to snap in either, it just sits in there. This may be a hint that the board really prefers having the 8 pin connector...

    That said, it appears the Silverstone DA750 (the model I was going to buy) suffers from a buzzing noise. There's a thread about it at jonnyguru here:

    http://www.jonnyguru.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2289

    The Silverstone rep posted about revisions that fix the noise back in 2007, so if I buy one from Newegg now, I should be getting the v2.5 model with the issue fixed then? One thing I simply can't stand is having high pitched noises coming from my rig... I definitely want to get a damn good model if I'm going to spring for a power supply.
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2010
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,878 (6.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    I raised the FSB up to 1.35v and the NB up to 1.40v, the last values before they were shown in red. It still failed the test after 17 minutes. I don't know what to do anymore... the core itself should be stable, it's at 2000MHz now and passes 6 hours at 2130MHz when I had the 1066 BSEL mod.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,172 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    375
    Try it with your Antec 550w from the other rig? Watch how much wattage you put on the +12v rails as well..
  9. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,878 (6.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    I set the FSB and NB voltages back to their default values (1.20v for the both of them) and raised the cpu core voltage to 1.375v (stock 1.325v). So far it appears to be stable... I have no idea how it would be unstable at 2000MHz when it was stable at 2130MHz in a crappier board. At 2000MHz it's running 1333FSB; it ran 1066FSB at 2130MHz. Could running at a higher FSB make the processor unstable at the same, or even a lesser core speed?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,581 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,281
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    i agree try from fsb first leave the north bridge, if it become unstable try the north bridge then

    or re run it again, raise the processor clock then the voltage next the fsb and the voltage

    :shadedshu its kinda hard
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2010
    hat says thanks.
  11. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,401 (5.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,339
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    I used to have a 750i and they can be quite choosy with voltage settings. if I remember rightly, to run a 1333mhz FSB I needed an FSB voltage of 1.325V, if it isnt already, make sure CPU spread spectrum is disabled as I found having it enabled caused me instability in any and all overclocking.

    Next set your SPP voltages to 1.3. Lastly you may have to play around with GTLvRef volts as I found that to get any decent overclocks on the board I need to raise all refs by one or 2 increments.
    hat says thanks.
  12. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,440 (10.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,995
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Yea like tatty says, the 680I, 750I wassnt the greatest of OCers. if you can come across a nice P45 board then you might get some serious clocks out of it
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,878 (6.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    Heh, no way am I going to buy another board for this... I recall hearing that the 680i was bad for quads, but just fine for duals (which is what I have).

    I did a test overnight with 1.3375v on my cpu, which should be enough considering some people were hitting 3GHz on stock voltage... and 1.375 on the FSB. It locked up. I'm now trying 1.5v FSB, as the board set that value when I left everything on auto. What exactly does FSB voltage do? How high is a safe value?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. sapetto

    sapetto

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    409 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    Location:
    Bulgaria
  15. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,878 (6.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    I've played with it both ways... high vFSB or high vcore alone won't work. There's some sort of balance between the two, and I haven't found it, and I don't think I have the paitence anymore... I'm about to run a test at 1066FSB (2130MHz) and leave it at that if it comes back clean.

    Another thing worth noting, in that screenshot your vcore is showing 1.56v... my stock voltage is 1.325v. I bet my cpu would be stable at a voltage that high as well... but I don't want those temps or my system handling that kind of power, espically with the shoddy PSU in this thing.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    No offense brandon but you're full a bull....
    In my own personal experience, 750i>680i, night and day difference.

    Hat,

    I'm wondering why you need the 1333 BSEL mod at all...
  17. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,878 (6.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    I don't. I've since removed the mod and have been clocking through the BIOS.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Just curious,are you overclocking your ram at all?
  19. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,878 (6.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    Nope. I had it set to 667MHz throughout the whole ordeal. I even did a memtest on it to make sure the stick didn't go bad on me. The current test in progress is to validate stability for 1066FSB (2130MHz) and 800MHz on the RAM (first time I've tried clocking it). Stock voltage on everything. So far it's looking good about an hour in. I would like to reach stability with 1333FSB, though. If this test passes maybe I will work with 1333FSB more later on, knowing I at least have this stable configuration to fall back on if I get tired of playing with it.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    That's very odd. Maybe fsb hole? Tried 400fsb? If you got 800ram working 1:1 with 400fsb should be ok if you drop cpu multi.
    hat says thanks.
  21. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,878 (6.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    FSB hole? Not at 333... unless there's a difference between overclocking a lesser cpu to 333 and running a stock 333 cpu. That's something I've been wondering... could a 333 cpu impose a higher default FSB voltage than a lesser cpu?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. Rado D

    Rado D New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    490 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Portsmouth,UK
    No,he is certainly not,given me a lot of useful advice..by the way,you dont need to be rude just because you dont share same opinion with him..and by the way,he wasnt questioning which of two is better,he was simply underlining that none of them were good OCs.thats all.
  23. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Me n him are good friends, I give him shit all the time even when I know I am wrong ;) it was literally a joke

    @hat

    Yup fsb hole..

    Had one on my own 750i with the e5200 if you remember. If i had the 5:6 divider set it wouldnt post past 339fsb. I had to run a 4:5 boot strapped to 266 or 1:1.
  24. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,878 (6.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    Let's just say there are some conflicting opinions here and leave it at that. I really hate to see people getting fired up over trivial things... epically here. Looking back on it I see how JR could have worded his response better, but given that, I would hate to see this escalate any further.

    Beat me to it... guess that works too. :toast:

    FSB hole at 1333? Not sure how memory ratios affect it, but I was running 1:1 at that time. I'll try 400 later, after this test clears. Lord knows I wouldn't mind running 3.2, 2.8 or even 2.4GHz instead of 2130MHz...
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. Rado D

    Rado D New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    490 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Portsmouth,UK
    in that case :toast:

    EDIT: Whats the average age of people living in your town? :D LOL

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page