1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Up for a challenge?

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by Cordero, Apr 16, 2012.

  1. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,030 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,926
    $817 before MIR

    Quad core, probable to unlock to a 6 core
    AMD 970 chipset MB
    8 gig DDR3 1600 RAM
    single 12v rail 500 watt PSU
    23" 1920*1080 monitor
    750 gb HD
    Everything else Crazy's build has

    choice is yours(OMFG I don't believe I'm actually pitching a AMD system vs a Intel).


    [​IMG]

    And if you want cheaper, you can simply exchange the motherboard and CPU I have for the motherboard and CPU in Crazy's build, and save $50 over whatever Crazy suggests staying with the 2400 cpu and that H61 MB.
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2012
    Crunching for Team TPU 1 Million points folded for TPU
  2. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,125 (4.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,741
    Location:
    04578
    ID still take the Intel, even with 6 cores the chip is slower in multi threaded tests he will be using, probably not enough to matter much but id take better IPC then extra more power hungry cores.

    still a good build its an option for sure, better monitor etc but that CPU having moved from a Phenom II to Sandybridge even with the extra cores i wouldnt touch it.
    BarbaricSoul says thanks.
  3. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,030 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,926
    I agree, look at my system specs, that should give you a idea of which way I'd go. Just trying to get Cordero the best bang for the buck.


    And when it comes right down to it, it's not like Cordero can't take the best from both builds. Say he takes your CPU and MB and puts that in exchange for the AMD cpu and MB in my build and have that for about $850.
    Crunching for Team TPU 1 Million points folded for TPU
  4. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,125 (4.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,741
    Location:
    04578
    best bang for buck is Intel man ;)

    photoshop the Intel chip is around 30-45% faster
    3D content creation its 10-30% faster
    and thats i5 2400 vs 1075T 6 core, which is what the 960T unlocks to,

    in gaming such as World of Warcraft starcraft II etc its around 33% in favor of the i5,
    the price on the CPU is better but its getting knocked hard as a 6 core vs 4 cores, and thats a best case senario alot of 960Ts dont unlock or only unlock to 5 cores at 4 and 5 cores it just gets slaughtered

    still with the selection i have the monitor suffers in size and res a bit but even so i managed sub $800, with a bit of parts shuffling between both are suggest builds he could end up well off.

    In all honest swapping to the i5 2300 wouldnt hurt him much at all, and would drop the price another $10 mix and match the parts we dug up i think sub $850 would be easily doable.
  5. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,030 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,926
    I agree, Intel is faster, but let's face it. With a GTX560 SE, which either CPU is fully capable of max'ing out, he won't notice a difference when gaming. As for photoshop and 3d work, no arguement from me there.
    Crunching for Team TPU 1 Million points folded for TPU
  6. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,125 (4.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,741
    Location:
    04578
    well for the games he mentioned WoW favors Intel to the tune of 30+ fps between both CPUs with a 5870, 560 SE isnt the best but it does end up a bit faster then the 7770 from what ive seen which falls in near a 6870, but i agree most titles are a non issue with no real difference.

    but if its gonna be dual purpose rig and hes going to be needed it for classes etc id focus on what gets WORK done faster as a job that actually pays is better then college debt and a gaming pc lol i should know $85,000 in the hole and i have an awesome gaming PC, but cause its AMD gpu all my digital work is on hold with Apps like Autodesk Maya, XSI, 3DS Max not functioning properly do to AMDs borked open Gl drivers etc.

    but i digress not a huge difference but the Intel offers big enough improvement in apps and programs he should be focusing on to make it worth while.
  7. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Hey Cordero, if you need to save a little bit of cash throw me a pm. I got some ram we can work out a deal on.
  8. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,847 (8.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,382


    Where are you at in North Florida? Also what EXACTLY do you need this rig for. I don't mean "Im gonna use it for WoW and graphic design stuff". I mean what programs exactly and what will you be using them for. Photoshop isnt just for photos ya know.
  9. D007

    D007

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,052 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    361
    Location:
    Pompano beach, Florida
    Depends if your MOBO has dual channel mode. I always try to use the max channels available. Like I go triple channel now, with 3x2gb sticks. I'd rather have 3x 1 gb sticks than 1, 4 gb stick. You get no triple/dual channel mode with one stick.
  10. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,030 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,926
    just over $850



    [​IMG]
    Crunching for Team TPU 1 Million points folded for TPU
  11. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,125 (4.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,741
    Location:
    04578
    nice find on the Open Box,

    id still change out the 1600mhz for the Pareema not a huge change but if we drop the patriot for pareema swap out to an i5 2300, we should be able to fit 16GB for Photoshop work etc, since 16gb of pareema is just $70 even
  12. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,030 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,926

    he did say something about going for some used stuff sold by TPU members so-


    he could save $20 by buying the 2*4gig G Skill Ripjaw DDR3 1600 RAM AsRock is selling for $20- http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=66794

    save another $29 by changing the GTX560SE for Stinger's GTX465 he's selling for $110- http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=164246

    buy the Corsair TX550M from Meatloaf for $55(real life friend to SneekyPeet) ALOT better PSU, few dollars more, but worth it IMHO- http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=163420

    Now your at about $822.
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2012
    Crunching for Team TPU 1 Million points folded for TPU
  13. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,847 (8.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,382
    Does anyone know what EXACTLY he needs this build for?
  14. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,030 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,926
    I'm going off this and doing best I can with it-

    Crunching for Team TPU 1 Million points folded for TPU
  15. Cordero

    Cordero New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012
    Messages:
    51 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Florida
    Ah, I suppose knowing that would help.
    I live in Jacksonville.

    Also, I wasn't even using it for Wow, if at all, I just figured that'd be a good representative for what I was looking for when gaming. Sigh.
    The main things I think I'll be running are: Guild Wars II, My older games (Starcraft, Age of Empires, etc.), Possibly WoW, Diablo III

    Guild Wars 2 Minimum System Requirements*

    OS: Windows® XP Service Pack 2 or better
    CPU: Intel® Core™ 2 Duo 2.0 GHz, Core i3, AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 or better
    GPU: NVIDIA® GeForce® 7800, ATI Radeon™ X1800, Intel HD 3000 or better (256MB of video RAM and shader model 3.0 or better)
    HDD: 25 GB hard drive space required

    Anyways, I do image editing and creation, and have fooled around with minor animations in Adobe Photoshop and I work with vector imaging in Adobe Illustrator as well. I'll need to be able to run multiple processes and possibly some 3D rendering in the future. (http://spiderfeet.deviantart.com/) :rockout:

    Sorry for not being specific enough, I suppose.
    I hope this helps more, let me know what else you need.
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2012
  16. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,847 (8.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,382
    Well unless you are doing heavy photoshop (which looking at your art you aint) I think an i5 would be enough with 8gb of decent RAM and a 600w PSU. Find a lil 560 for cheap and call it a day. Also since you are in FL (near me) use Newegg. Tax free. It will save you the cash.

    By the way if you have any questions about Photoshop or Illustrator let me know. Been working with them for close to 15 years.
  17. Cordero

    Cordero New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012
    Messages:
    51 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Florida
    Now be fair, that was well over a year ago, and on my move to Florida I couldn't continue my education for lack of equipment/instruction. :cry:

    Anyways, I suppose. I just wanted something that would last a while without having to do any major upgrades.

    Just FYI what I'm using at the moment:

    HP Pavilion ze4600
    mobile AMD Athlon XP2500 1.86 GHz
    Hard drive: 37GB
    Video: 64mb Radeon IGP 320
    RAM: 448MB
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2012
  18. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,847 (8.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,382
    I'm being very fair man. You are years away from intense Photoshop work. However Ill be happy to help you with what I can via the web to get ya there! What are you studying? FYI I'm brutal when it comes to teaching art. It helps to prepare you for the asses that wanna belittle you later for a lack of talent. You have talent man. You got a whole Hunter S. thing going.
    Cordero says thanks.
  19. Cordero

    Cordero New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012
    Messages:
    51 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Florida
    I won't be starting until fall/spring.
    I'll be going for Graphic Design/Advertising/Marketing, but I also want to do Illustration and Game Design. From what I can see of the courses, I'll be doing media history, design concepts, animation, 3D rendering, Digital Painting, etc.
  20. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,847 (8.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,382
    College or Vo-tech? Because if you are going to school for this you might as well just buy a Mac. Thats what they will be pushing on you.

    On a side note.......don't go to school for Graphic Design/Advertising/Marketing. Go for C++ or something in programing if you like computers.
  21. Cordero

    Cordero New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012
    Messages:
    51 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Florida
    It'll be Vo-Tech, community college, aka FSCJ.
    Macs are evil, as well as the company.
    If they have them in class, then I'll use them by all means, but I refuse to buy one.
    My instructor had over 12 years of experience and she said it was as much a personal preference than anything, that she stuck with PC.
    I'd prefer that route.

    And I've wanted to be an artist as long as I can remember, so I mean I don't think programming would be for me, even though it'd probably make more money.
  22. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    11,934 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,334
    There is a wide demand for graphic,CAD,Web design, conventional Artists just as much as Programmers..

    How Else are you going to get that stuff for games, advertisements, architecture

    Cordero says thanks.
  23. Cordero

    Cordero New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012
    Messages:
    51 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Florida
    Yeah, that was my reasoning behind going the route of graphic design instead of traditional art.
    eidairaman1 says thanks.
  24. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    11,934 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,334
    Ya Traditional art is still Graphic Design in all Honesty, just a means of transferring it is different
    Cordero says thanks.
  25. Cordero

    Cordero New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012
    Messages:
    51 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Florida
    It's so so

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page