1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Update VGA BIOS (Gigabyte GTX680 4GB)

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by erdodo, Feb 15, 2013.

  1. erdodo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2013
    Messages:
    5 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Hi all!

    I have a problem with my Gigabyte GTX680 4GB (product code GV-N680OC-4GD). The problem is that my drivers crashes while the pc is in idle and when i play games. They crash randomly sometimes after 3/4 minutes other times after 1 hour.

    I have all drivers updated on my system that's composed of:
    i7 3770K
    asus p8z77-v deluxe
    psu corsair ax 760 platinum
    ram corsair 16 gb vengeance (2x8gb)

    I read about an incompatibility between the Gigabyte and Windforce VGA - PCI exp 3.0 and the z77 chipset of my motherboard but this sounds me very strange and would like to UPDATE MY VGA BIOS to try to solve the problem.

    On the techpower site i can't find the correct bios of my VGA, there are only the 2GB versions (my is 4gb) and I don't know if my bios is the latest... i have 80.04.47.00.5A (P2002-0000).

    My question is, which is the latest version of my VGA BIOS? And do you think the updating could solve the problem?

    Thank you and sorry for my english..... I'm not mothertongue... :)
     
  2. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    There should be no need to update the VGA bios.


    Start with wiping your systems graphics drivers and re-install the latets Nvidea 680 driver. Get a driver sweep to clean the drivers...
     
  3. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,696 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    735
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
  4. erdodo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2013
    Messages:
    5 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Done, but didn't solve the problem... the problem verifies always when I quit from a game. It's very strange... I can try to reinstall the OS...
     
  5. xorbe

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    Messages:
    436 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    I had to lower the boost table in my 680 to get it stable. It was one of those "oc" models. I unlocked the max voltage while flashing.

    OP's card is also an overclock model.
     
  6. erdodo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2013
    Messages:
    5 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Can you explain me and tell me what did you exatly do for your 680? I'm really frustated, I tried quite all the solutions and I want to be really sure before send my GPU to RMA...

    Today first I lowered the GPU Clock from 1171/1137 to 1161/1127 (-10 mhz) and i noticed it was still unstable, then i lowered more to (-30 mhz) and it was worse. Now it is +5 mhz just to try and it is unstable like -10 mhz settings.

    My VGA default settings are:
    gpu clock 1171/1137 mhz
    memory clock 6008 mhz
    minimum voltage 0.988 V
    power target 100%

    What shall I try to change to get it stable?

    Thank you very much for help.
     
  7. xorbe

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    Messages:
    436 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    Flashing is not for the faint of heart. If you can't get it stable by lowering the MHz, it ain't gonna help you anyways. Your model is listed as 1071 / 1137 ... but what is it REALLY boosting to? Use MSI AB chart to find out.

    Driver crash when PC idle makes me think your problem is elsewhere, though.
     
  8. erdodo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2013
    Messages:
    5 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I tried another GPU geforce pci-exp 2.0 on my system and it works. So i tried my GPU Gigabyte on my friend's system and it doesn't work... Also during the bios visualization it gave me artifacts problems.

    I think it's the GPU the problem, so I will send it to RMA and I'll let you know.

    Thanks very much again for help. :)
     
  9. erdodo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2013
    Messages:
    5 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    The RMA told my re-seller that they won't change my graphic card but that they refund the money. I think that that model gave problems to a lot of costumers.

    I bought an ASUS GTX 680 and I will never buy a Gigabyte product no more.

    :toast:
     
    Law-II says thanks.
  10. Ephremius New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2013
    Messages:
    60 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    I thought you could flash GTX 680 to GTX 770 now for free?

    I would just do that, since Nvidia offered something for free for the first time ever. ^^
     
  11. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,696 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    735
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    No; this is not possible

    Read here

    nb: @ erdodo ASUS GTX 680; hope you are enjoying the asus :toast:

    atb (all the best)

    Law-II
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page