1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

[Updated]AMD/ATi 2D Clock Guide

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by erocker, Mar 16, 2010.

  1. broken_pixel

    broken_pixel New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Spring, TX
    6990/6970 idle question

    When running a single 6970 the card idles at 0.9 v 250 MHz, 150 MHz. when stressed it bumps up to 1.175 v. at default clocks of 920 MHz 1375 MHz.

    When I crossfire the 6990 and the 6970 the idle voltages change?

    idle voltage and freq for the 6990 + 6970

    GPU1 0.9 v 250 MHz, 150 MHz
    GPU2 0.9 v 250 MHz, 150 MHz
    GPU3 1.150 v 250 MHz, 150 MHz the 6970 is stuck at 1.150 v

    I have been flashing different BIOS images and sometimes the idle voltages will match and bump up to 1.175 volts when stressed.

    Now no matter what BIOS image I use that worked before with matching idle and load voltages.

    Any ideas???
     
  2. Dreammystic New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Can anyone help me?

    Its tempting to just return the 6970 since its causing me so much trouble. The card idles at 300/150 while I'm working on corel painter. This causes artifacts to appear on screen, which makes it difficult and frustrating to paint. When the card is running at full speed, the problem is no longer there. I didn't have this problem with the 4870.

    If someone is out there with a bit of time on their hands, I'd appreciate the help.

    Thanks so much.
     
  3. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,897 (13.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,306
    Probablly just a bug with triple CrossFire.

    Well, that's what this thread is about. Follow the directions, make your 2d clocks a bit higher and hopefully it will help.
     
    KenW says thanks.
  4. Dreammystic New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Heya,

    I've followed the directions, but my clock speeds do not change at all. I have no idea what I could be doing wrong.

    edit: I think I see the problem. For some reason I can't change profiles. When I click invoke (profile), it does nothing. Any suggestions?
     
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2012
  5. KenW New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    Messages:
    19 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Start all over from step 1. Should have no problems :)
     
  6. bobalazs

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I have to +1 this.
    This saved me a major headache.
    I had bsod-s because of some ati powerplay trouble or whatever.
    i reduced these clocks, and BAM the BSOD IS GONE!!!
    Thank you my friend for posting this!!!
     
  7. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,413 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    572
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    thanks again, second time using your guide much appreciated and works well:)
     
    More than 25k PPD
  8. dr.noob

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    87 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Doesnt work with my Sapphire 7770 1GB OC.The bios may be locked?

    Can i edit and flash?
     
  9. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,897 (13.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,306
    I'm pretty sure that this has nothing to do with the bios. I'm under the impression that this might not work with 7 series and/or newer drivers. I have to test things out and I'd like to know if anyone using a pre-7 series card can still do this with newer drivers.
     
  10. dr.noob

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    87 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    I think you are right, i used 12.4 on my 5770 with the file mod and it worked.

    And now i have the same problem with the same brand but instead of a 5 i have a 7. LOL
     
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2012
  11. Thvle New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hello, I have a problem following the lead of # 1, I can not make it work ... is still staying at 157/300 2D ...

    I would like to disable PowerPlay, and let permanently in 860/1200.

    I have HD 5770 and the 12.6 WHQL drivers.
     
  12. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,897 (13.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,306
    From what I can gather you need to use 12.4's or earlier.
     
  13. Thvle New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    With 12.6 not work? fuck, that chance: (
     
  14. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,897 (13.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,306
    That's what the last few posts above yours have been saying. They changed things with 12.6. Honestly, unless you are having issues there's no way you would want to run your card at 3d clocks all the time anyways.
     
  15. Thvle New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Perfect, I downloading 12.4 WHQL drivers... within an hour I tell if it has worked: D

    Thanks
     
  16. Thvle New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I just installed 12.4 WHQL, and still not work ... on the desktop I still go to 157/300 ...

    This is my file profiles.xml: http://pastebin.com/cj58t2dJ
     
    Last edited: Jul 20, 2012
  17. wiinippongamer

    wiinippongamer New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2012
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    MSI afterburner can do what you intend to, install it, edit Afterburner.cfg and set UnofficialOverclockingMode=2 , then raise either core or memory clocks by even just 1mhz, that'll have your card at 3d clocks always until you manually click "reset", you can set it to apply on startup.

    There's also an easier way to fix your 2d clocks for those who are having issues, afterburner has a 2d/3d profile setting, when you enable UnofficialOverclocking it gets rid of Powerplay and applies anything that is different than the stock clocks by just 1mhz. Was having some flickering issues with my 5850, set it to 360/500 (lowest it'd allow) at 1v, and 3d at 730/1000 with stock voltage, now it's golden.
     
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2012
  18. SaltyDoughnut New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    <Feature name="CoreClockTarget_0">
    <Property name="Want_0" value="30000" />
    <Property name="Want_1" value="57500" />
    <Property name="Want_2" value="80000" />

    Hi I accidentally messed up and made it look like this. I know why I messed up now, but I was just wondering what the default values were for Want_0 and Want_1 so that I can re-enter the correct values on another go.

    Thanks

    Edit:
    Could you also mention the default values for this:
    <Feature name="MemoryClockTarget_0">
    <Property name="Want_0" value="30000" />
    <Property name="Want_1" value="125000" />
    <Property name="Want_2" value="125000" />

    Thanks again.
     
    Last edited: Aug 9, 2012
  19. SaltyDoughnut New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Also, is there any way to delete the preset I created and straight up go back to default with no presets at all?
     
  20. VipZUK New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    Messages:
    16 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Under a rock
    Thanks erocker

    This has fixed my extremely annoying issues with HDMI audio with Catalyst newer than 12.4.

    Tested with Catalyst 12.8 in both Windows 7/8 x64 with good results. 300core/310mem seemed to do the trick for me.
     
  21. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,920 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,600
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    I think I must have done it wrong, as I could not get my clocks to change from 300/150 on the desktop with my 7950 and Catalyst 12.8 drivers. I'm sick of having my desktop randomly spazz out because AMD thinks memory should be underclocked to terribly low speeds when memory doesn't even consume much power. I'm also tired of PowerPlay sending my card to 300/150 with 100% usage during TF2 and other games and creating dumb lag because it believes the game isn't using enough power to run the card at 1GHz or whatever.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  22. Cruserd New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Is that guide working for Radeon HD 4850? Can I do that for mine? I would like to do that because I want to get more fps for Guild Wars 2
     
  23. Sartherus New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2012
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I followed all your steps,but I don't have <Feature name="CoreClockTarget_0"> in my profiles,and I can't invoke preset...

    any help?
     
  24. KalashNK

    KalashNK New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2013
    Messages:
    19 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    It works on latest drivers and 7000 series.
    I have a 7970 with 13.3 beta drivers and I increased the minimum clock thanks to this guide.
    Now I'm running at 400/300 instead of 300/150, hoping this eliminate the flickering problem.
    Anyway... three years? This has been going on for three years and AMD didn't solve it. Pretty disappointing.
     
  25. KalashNK

    KalashNK New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2013
    Messages:
    19 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    It has fixed the problem, thanks.

    EDIT

    Actually it didn't work, it started again :|
     
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2013

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page