1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

updating bios

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by scottl08, Jun 7, 2009.

  1. scottl08 New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    59 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    uk cumbria
  2. MRCL

    MRCL

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    5,795 (2.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    861
    Location:
    Switzerland, Heart of Europe
    Yes you're fine with just flashing the latest version. I've done that a few times, no problems at all.
     
  3. scottl08 New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    59 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    uk cumbria
    beta bios? hmm whats that then lol?is it safe?
     
  4. Asylum

    Asylum

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,857 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    705
    Location:
    South Carolina
    If your not having problems with your computer you should leave your bios alone!
    No point in messing with it if your not having issues!
    Sometimes a bios update will be worst than the one your already running!!
     
  5. scottl08 New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    59 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    uk cumbria
    well i am and its def the motherboard, but is a beta bios ok?
     
  6. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,957 (3.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,034
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Usually a beta is fine. There is some additional risk though, and make sure you follow the directions to flash it. If you do windows based flashing, sometimes a beta will not flash properly through this method.
     
  7. scottl08 New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    59 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    uk cumbria
    which way is best to update the bios, i have a usb pendrive but i cant find the option to boot from it. when i extracted the files i tried opening the main one andi got a message saying its not compatible with this version on vista?? im currently running vista ultimate, this is nothing to do with 32 and 64 is it ?
     
  8. chuck216

    chuck216

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    632 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Location:
    Tampa FL
    Get the f9b beta. As for beta Bioses hurting I'm running a Beta on my MB and it's what's enabling me to be able to run a Phenom II 940, so give it a try.
     
  9. hema New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    45 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page