1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Updating my BIOS

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Taz100420, Feb 21, 2007.

  1. Taz100420

    Taz100420

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,928 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Location:
    Fremont, Ohio
    Ive never updated a BIOS and dont want to risk anything screwing up. My mobo is a ASRock ConRoe 945PL-GLAN and has BIOS 1.00 and was wondering if I had to use a floppy since I have no cds or jumpdrive to update? can I do it from windows?
     
  2. LiNKiN

    LiNKiN Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,757 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    298
    Did you perhaps check Asrock's Website, a good manufacturer will have instructions and usually provide the necessary flash software, some allow the use of winflash.
     
  3. Taz100420

    Taz100420

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,928 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Location:
    Fremont, Ohio
    ahhh with abit more searching I found a windows flasher, hope all goes well!

    Now there is a v.1.50 bios will going from 1.00 to 1.50 go? sorry for the n00b questions just want it to work right!
     
  4. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,668 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,409
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Some pointers:

    Read the flashing instructions carefully
    Make a backup of your existing BIOS (if you have that option)
    Never do it if there's a chance of a power outage or brown-out

    Watch the process carefully for any errors. It's usually rather uneventful, but even I get butterflies whenever I do a flash. If something goes "horribly" wrong, don't panic - there's almost always a way to recover, although it might take time.
     
  5. Taz100420

    Taz100420

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,928 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Location:
    Fremont, Ohio
    so should I update one version of the BIOS at a time or is it safe to get the latest one?
     
  6. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,668 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,409
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    I've never heard of needing to update incrementally.

    I've always just grabbed the latest one, or one that I know fixes a problem. Be aware that sometimes with a BIOS update, they've fixed one thing, but broken another which is why they recommend updating only if you know it'll fix a problem you are having, or added features/HW support.
     
  7. Taz100420

    Taz100420

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,928 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Location:
    Fremont, Ohio
    wel I can overclock my proc in the bios but cant control voltage and I was gonna update to see if they added voltage control and I am supposed to have a Hybrid booster and cant seem to find what or where it is.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page