1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Updating my Drivers after Bios modding question.

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Drizzt5, Nov 10, 2008.

  1. Drizzt5

    Drizzt5 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    612 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Over the summer I Bios modded my 4850 both to unlock the clocks in CCC and to set them at 800/1000 in the bios. That was back when 8-7 were up to date drivers. Well I heard from someone that If you upgrade your drivers to 8-8 that your bios would not work and you would have a hell of allot of problems so you might as well stay with 8-7.

    Now I'm going to reformat and throw my new HDD in raid 0. And so I was backing up all my stuff and preparing the drivers when I remembered this whole thing... Would upgrading to the latest drivers for my 4850, 8-10 i think, cause it to act up? I happen to like my clocks and setup atm and I rather not bios mod again if I don't have to. I can always just reinstall the 8-7 drivers but If I can get the latest drivers it would be better so I can take advantage of them.

    So... 8-10 would be fine for me to use? Or do some new bios mod so that I can use 8-10? Or stay with 8-7?
  2. Fastmix

    Fastmix New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    627 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    115
    Location:
    The Kingdom of Heaven
    Usually if you just changed the clock..it should be ok but if you changed the CCC limit with method 2 (manually) you might have a problem.

    What you can do is remod another bios with the clocks that you like and transplant the CCC limit from another official bios...that should do it.
    Drizzt5 says thanks.
  3. Drizzt5

    Drizzt5 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    612 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Thanks, I can't remember what the last bios mod I did was (I did like 9 of them... damn) But it may have been JUST the clocks in which case, like you said, I will be fine.

    The problems I may have won't be permanent damage right? This sounds like it won't be a big deal... I will just try out the new drivers that I have saved on my external after I get my raid set up and if they fail in some way then I can either go uninstall those drivers/reformat (bugger) or just reflash the bios once again without method 2.

    Is there anyway I can tell if I did it the way that won't cause problems or not? It's not like I have reformatted or run into any problems as of yet.
  4. Fastmix

    Fastmix New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    627 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    115
    Location:
    The Kingdom of Heaven
    You can extract your current bios with gpu-z and check it.
  5. Drizzt5

    Drizzt5 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    612 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    I'm going to upload it to the site using gpu-z, if someone could tell me if this bios would work with 8-10 I would appreciate it allot <3

    H/o
  6. Drizzt5

    Drizzt5 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    612 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Yes, so I installed windows vista after I raided my drives, and then installed the newest drivers for my 4850s. They just didn't work so.... i went into safe mode and got rid of them and then installed the old ones.... Can someone help me make a good bios for my asus 4850? I don't fully remember how I did it over the summer...

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page