1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

upgrade advice from p4 3.4ghz prescott

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by david419, May 2, 2009.

  1. david419 New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Messages:
    38 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southend-on-Sea, Essex, England
    hi all, i have just joined this forum as i need a bit of advice, i want to upgrade my p4 which is the p4 3.4ghz 650 ht prescott (running @3.8ghz) to a core2duo but i wanted a bit of advice as to which cpu would be better than my p4.

    i am after a few ideas as to what cpu to get as i keep looking on the net and getting all sorts of answers, i have heard good things about the e4300 so i think thats the minimum i would go for but i wanted to know how much better the c2d is compared to my p4.

    many thanks.
     
  2. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    Welcome to TPU:)
    TBH all C2D chips can kick a P4's ass
    Try running super PI on your P4 and compare it to any C2D:)
    try filling this out would also help
     
  3. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,372 (11.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,677
    any core 2, even the lowest ones, will decimate a P4.
     
  4. aCid888*

    aCid888* New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,754 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    In a state of flux...
    Well your obviously at least somewhat PC savvy, as you like to OC....so a E8xxx (whatever one you have money for) and either the Asus P5Q Pro or Gigabyte UD3 will be a great upgrade.


    On the lines of cooling, maybe look at the Xigmatek HDT1283 and you wont go far wrong. :toast:


    Every C2D will stomp the P4, even the lowly E2200 will be better, and clock for clock, the P4 is about 6 times slower.


    Edit: Also, fill out your System Specs in your Control Panel, it will assist us more. :)
     
  5. david419 New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Messages:
    38 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southend-on-Sea, Essex, England
    many thanks just filled out the system specs so any more help would be great.
     
  6. aCid888*

    aCid888* New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,754 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    In a state of flux...
    Thanks, a location also helps so when you have time please fill that out too. :)

    I see you already have a Gigabyte....I assume you like it so you should try the "Gigabyte Ultra Durable 3" and a E8500, 9.5 multi plus a board that likes to do 500fsb+ easily is a huge upgrade from your P4, even the E8500 @ 1.8GHz would :nutkick: your 3.8GHz P4 without breaking a sweat.

    Also, for better OC results you should really consider a HDT-1283 as it will keep that E8500 @ 4GHz at about 45'C load; dependent on your case airflow and volts - I based it on 1.3v.
     
  7. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    yep:) acid give good suggestions:)
     
  8. aCid888*

    aCid888* New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,754 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    In a state of flux...
    He cant really go wrong upgrading to a C2D, he has a P4! :roll:

    :)


    More detail in your SysSpecs would be great, what PSU brand/what watts/amps on 12v rail(s) would be a great start.....a quality PC is 60% of anyone's rig, without one you will blow things up from a poor PSU.
     
  9. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    Yeah, and I want you E8400:p
     
  10. david419 New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Messages:
    38 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southend-on-Sea, Essex, England
    thanks i just ran the super pi test like h3llb3nd4 mentioned and it does the 1mb test in 35 seconds lol.

    definatly time for an upgrade, can anyone name any sort of budget c2d that would overclock a bit and still beat my p4 easy.
    a local shop sells the e6300 are they any good and would i see an improvement?

    sorry to sound stupid but dont wanna change cpu only to not notice any difference in performance :)
     
  11. aCid888*

    aCid888* New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,754 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    In a state of flux...
    [​IMG]

    One screenshot for you my man. :)

    10.3 seconds @ 4.2GHz


    Edit: Tell us where you are from and we can help you so much better.
     
  12. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    nice you sent me the same screenshot :p
    isn't it 9.782?
     
  13. DaveK

    DaveK

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,889 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    I went from a P4 630 @ 3GHz to a C2D E4300 @ 1.8GHz and there was such a difference, HD video converting of a movie using Xilisoft Video Converter went from 12 hours to about 6, which is a huge improvement, especially with a higher end one.
     
  14. david419 New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Messages:
    38 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southend-on-Sea, Essex, England
  15. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    oh, I'm blind these days:shadedshu
     
  16. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,130 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    415
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    oh you live in england?? thats great :) you should consider looking at websites from..
    www.scan.co.uk
    www.ebuyer.com
    www.novatech.co.uk
    Have a look around those websites,they are best for components in UK i recon heres what acid reconmend?? £260 from novatech:
    [​IMG]
     
  17. aCid888*

    aCid888* New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,754 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    In a state of flux...
    Not a great PSU...and for parts, I'd look here: www.ebuyer.com

    Cheap, reliable and they wont fuck you over like most other etailers. :)

    On a note of the E6300, all E6xx CPUs are 65nm, more heat and lower OC's (still damn fast at the side of the P4)
    Everything with a higher number starting in the 7's are 45nm parts, run cooler, higher OC's and less voltage needed to clock higher; also, the E5xxx is 45nm.

    This is a solid cheap setup.
    http://www.ebuyer.com/product/148715
    http://www.ebuyer.com/product/152175
    http://www.ebuyer.com/product/105994


    This is more expensive but the best buy in my view:
    http://www.ebuyer.com/product/139971
    http://www.ebuyer.com/product/148075
    http://www.ebuyer.com/product/155486
    OR
    http://www.ebuyer.com/product/145751


    Edit: Thanks for posting more sites, thats a good deal on the parts....he should compare prices and get the cheapest he can. :toast:
     
  18. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,130 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    415
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    hmm the asus p5q pro is cheaper on novatech than ebuyer :) then again ebuyer did screw me up big time on my OCZ psu lmao and replaced it for the corsair
     
  19. david419 New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Messages:
    38 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southend-on-Sea, Essex, England
    many thanks for the replies.

    i have a freezer 7 pro in the box unused so i guess i will use that, are the e5200 ok as i thought they were just pentium dual core as opposed to core2duo this seems like my budget so will that still leave my p4 standing?
     
  20. aCid888*

    aCid888* New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,754 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    In a state of flux...
    Yes, the E5200 will do about 3.6GHz without a worry, a good one will do much better. :)

    The freezer is a nice cooler for that CPU too, you wont go far wrong.....also, anything in the C2D range will leave your P4 for dead, even at stock speeds so you don't need to worry about having any issues. :)
     
  21. NinkobEi

    NinkobEi

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    2,045 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    is there a place to find the Xigmatek s1283 still? last time I searched I found nothing
     
  22. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    If you want go cheap and still kick some ass E5200 will kick it.
     
  23. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Even a lowly e1400 chip will kick the n**s off that P4. As far as motherboard is concerned, go P45.
     
  24. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    :p I still have a G31
     
  25. david419 New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Messages:
    38 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southend-on-Sea, Essex, England
    whats a good p45 motherboard then? i think i will be going with the e5200 so any suggestions for a board?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page