1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

upgrade advice is need

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by lover_pharaoh2002, Jan 17, 2010.

  1. lover_pharaoh2002

    lover_pharaoh2002 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    36 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Egypt
    Hi
    I want to upgrade my rig , i will keep the gpu
    Mainboard : GA-945PL-S3P(rev. 6.6
    Processor : Intel Pentium Dual-Core E5200 @ 2500 MHz
    Physical Memory : 2048 MB (2 x 1024 DDR2-SDRAM )
    Video Card : ATI Radeon HD 4670 1 gb
    Hard Disk : WDC (160 GB)
    Hard Disk : WDC (640 GB)

    i have 2 choices
    1- move to amd
    Phenom II X2 550 3.1GHz (570 EP)
    Gigabyte GA-MA770t-UD3P (525 EP)
    Kingston (2 x 2GB) DDR3 1333 MHz CL9 (560 EP)

    2- intel
    Intel Core2Duo E8400 3.0GHz (950 EP)
    GIGABYTE GA-EP45T-UD3LR (700 EP)
    Kingston (2 x 2GB) DDR3 1333 MHz CL9 (560 EP)

    the Question is , shall i move to amd which is low in price or pay more bucks for intel ?
     
  2. DirectorC

    DirectorC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,624 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    268
    Location:
    Florizy
    I can't argue against your proposed Intel setup because I have an EP45-UD3R and am about to move from an E7400 to an E8400 :D

    However, for not much more you can get an i5 750, P55 board and the same RAM. Of course that depends on how much things cost where you're at, but for most people the cost difference between the E8400 setup you've listed and an i5 setup is about 15% (mostly because the i5 costs $200 vs the E8400 at $170).
     
  3. Aleksander

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,261 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    310
  4. lover_pharaoh2002

    lover_pharaoh2002 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    36 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Egypt
    i5 is greet cpu but i don't that much cash
    i5(1225 EP)
    p55(1750 EP)

    i want to know is it worse to move from my current rig amd choice or go for intel choice?
    becose i heard that amd is not as much good as intel , is it true?
     
  5. DirectorC

    DirectorC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,624 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    268
    Location:
    Florizy
    Are you a gamer? Because the 4670 is not a performer. It's holding you back in games more than anything else.

    If you're looking for raw power, I would pay for the E8400--BUT the Phenom II 550 WOULD be a lot better than your E5200...
     
    lover_pharaoh2002 says thanks.
  6. lover_pharaoh2002

    lover_pharaoh2002 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    36 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Egypt
    i run res 5,cryisis , grid, dirt2 1600x900 high setting no problem , but the cpu usage is 75-100 % always
     
  7. DirectorC

    DirectorC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,624 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    268
    Location:
    Florizy
    Probably because you have a 4670.

    Edit: Let me tell you my final verdict. Put the fastest dual-core socket 775 CPU that you can on your current motherboard and get a good modern video card like a 4870 or 5770. Forget the new motherboard and RAM, they will not net you noticeable gains. Upgrade your current 2GBs to 4 if you wish, but I don't see it as necessary. I have 2GB RAM and I'm about to install an extra 1GB and I'm happy with that.
     
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2010
    lover_pharaoh2002 says thanks.
  8. Aleksander

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,261 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    310
    If the cpu usage is that much, i think you probably need a new cpu, cuz the cpu is giving all its power and maybe it battlenecks
    If you only have these choices the amd 550 be is the best cpu for around 100$ (i mean for games)
    I dont really think you need a new card, cuz that happens to me too with my 7600 gs
    The cpu shows 65-100%
     
  9. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (7.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Keep your cpu, buy the EP45 mobo and ram, then buy a 5770.
     
  10. DirectorC

    DirectorC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,624 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    268
    Location:
    Florizy
    Yeah the CPU is a HUGE battleneck, trust me... that's why I said it's the GPU's fault, the GPU is running at 100% and handing off its load to the CPU, which itself has a f*** lot to do under these circumstances such as 'Crysis @ 1600x900 on high'. I have a hard time believing it runs with no problem, maybe the OP thinks 18FPS is playable though, who are we to judge.

    Because you have a 7600.
     
  11. Aleksander

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,261 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    310
    I dunno but i was thinking you director will surely reply to me. Are you kidding with the load of cpu which brings the gpu to it? It never happens even with the core i5 with intel graphics. So the load of the gpu for the cpu is unstable. The cpu is giving all of its power in order to achieve as much as possible from the gpu and the cpu, lover has, is terrible for that card. That happens to me too, because the 7600 GS is more powerful than the stupid sempron 2600+ can handle. I need a phenom II 550 be too :D
    http://www.hardware-revolution.com/best-cpu-for-your-money-november-2009/
    http://www.hardware-revolution.com/best-video-card-for-your-money-january-2010/
    Have a look to these reviews cuz they are great!
     
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2010
  12. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,249 (4.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,013
    Location:
    Home
    Upgrade ram to 4gb and graphics card to 5770 or 5750, you are going to do that upgrade anyway in the future.
     
  13. vbx New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    720 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    My setup, e8500 with a 4670. I play most game with no problems. Dirt2, SF4, but really not much of a gamer. As long as it works i'm good.
     
  14. Aleksander

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,261 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    310
    As i said is the cpu problem, not ram, mobo neither the graphic card
     
  15. exodusprime1337

    exodusprime1337

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,188 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    342
    m 2 cents-go amd because it's cheaper overall imho

    my other 2 cents, an i5 really isn't that much more expensive that what your thinking about getting now, i'd save the extra 30 bucks or so and go with the i5 rig.
     
  16. lover_pharaoh2002

    lover_pharaoh2002 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    36 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Egypt
    thank you all for your valuable advice, alot of idea here i get
    1-keep my momo change the cpu and gpu (my momo Max Bus 800 mhz and Supported RAM ddr2 bus 667) so i will not have all power of the new cpu.
    2-keep the cpu and change the momo to ep ep54 ( cpu Max Bus 800 mhz)so i will not have all power of the new momo.
    is it right ?
     
  17. Helper

    Helper New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    174 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    As Director said, it's a CPU AND a graphics card problem. The RAM and the motherboard has a very little effect on a system's gaming performance. RAM only becomes a problem when a game fills it up. Games depend solely on CPU and GFX power. Unless he is overclocking, there is no point in changing the P945 motherboard. It can take Core Microarchitecture CPUs already. Seeing that he wants slow DDR3 RAM in a new platform, he'll probably go for a cheap DDR2 RAM kit if he wants to add more RAM anyway. Both his CPU and GPU are weak and they can be considered as low-end. So I would suggest a fast E8X00 CPU and a faster GFX like a HD 4890.
     
  18. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,503 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    417
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    id say the same as everyone else new cpu an gpu, personally id go for intel E8400 but that just coz i got a intel bassed mobo i have myself a E8200 and it performs realy well with my whole rig so i would asume the E8400 to be even better
     
  19. assaulter_99

    assaulter_99

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,793 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    277
    Or 3. you could just buy a gpu (5770 or higher) and keep saving up till you can afford an i5.:toast: Ain't worth buying a new 775 mobo and cpu now imho especially if you plan to keep it for a couple of years. I would do it if i can find a killer deal or used, but not the retail price.
     
  20. Aleksander

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,261 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    310
    Are u really sure about that? Cuz he changed his mind when he talks about gaming saying that the graphic card is better to be upgraded. Thank you dishelper :laugh:
     
  21. lover_pharaoh2002

    lover_pharaoh2002 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    36 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Egypt
    i don't understand this how my momo will be good with e8400 , if i replace my cpu for e8400 i will have all its bus?
    also my 4670 1gb run all the games at high no slowness throw the game, why i should replace it?
     
  22. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,503 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    417
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    coz it can play games now fine but i doubt it will play newer games as well is what i think people are trying to say :D plus no DX11 if your into that
     
  23. Aleksander

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,261 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    310
    Is it a mothermoard??? :laugh:
     
  24. lover_pharaoh2002

    lover_pharaoh2002 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    36 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Egypt
    what do you mean ????
     
  25. Aleksander

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,261 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    310
    he always says my momo
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page