1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Upgrade Advice Needed!!

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by mentos, Aug 14, 2006.

  1. mentos New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I'm upgrading from a dated +3000 amd and a 8rda+ mobo.

    I've already bought a 1900xt but now need a board and cpu. I can't seem to get a clear picture of which cpu is faster, core 2 duo or amd x2 dual core. I've been away from the computer scene for a long time, which way should i go?

    i'm looking at the e6400, which is my price budget for a cpu, but with which board should i choose? 975x or nvidia 590sli?

    is the amd a better value for money, speed and gaming? which is a good combination?

    thx!

    btw, i'm in canada
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2006
  2. savor_of_filth New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    198 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    S.E.A
    Conroe beats all AMD 64 architecture hands down..

    even Intel 1,83Gig beat AMD X2 3800+...

    but AMD is best bang for the buck and AMD known for its gaming performance...

    get AMD FX-60 its great for overclocking...

    but its your call... Im just suggesting...
  3. g12rxz New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Messages:
    293 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Illinois
    If you go the conroe route, plan to have the system for a while, cause if and or when you get a compatible motherboard for it, its highly likely you wont be able to use any future LGA775 processors on the board due to intels 'innovation'. If you go the X2 route you'll need an x2 4200+ or 4600+ to keep up/beat an e6400. Realize though, you'll be able to use all current am2 processors, any future am2 processors, and even am3 processors [on the same motherboard!] if you go the amd route. also, conroes still cant beat amd's onboard memory controller :cool:
  4. mentos New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i like to support the underdog (amd) but i don't upgrade often, once every couple of years. the amd board, if it supports the upcoming cpu from amd, does not affect my decision. however if amd is, at this moment, the best value/performance now, i'll take it. i still can't decide....

    oh yeah, whats the best chipset: 590sli or i975?
  5. savor_of_filth New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    198 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    S.E.A
    i975 hands down...
    its the Bad Axe chip
  6. stealthfighter

    stealthfighter New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    Messages:
    557 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    at my pc
    Core 2 duo is for laptops. I suggest 1gb ddr3 ram, a pentium D 3.0GHZ 800FSB 4mb l2 cache (2x2).
  7. g12rxz New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Messages:
    293 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Illinois
    that would totally pwn if ddr3 was out for normal memory... also core 2 duo is not JUST for laptops (its a power saving psu... cause of its design not its purpose).

    i'd just stick with an amd for bang/buck/reliability/upgradeability
  8. stealthfighter

    stealthfighter New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    Messages:
    557 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    at my pc
    My friend has 2gb ddr3 corosair ram :D
  9. g12rxz New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Messages:
    293 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Illinois
    so is he running quad sli? cause the only time you'd have that much ddr3 in a computer is with 2 79[5,0]00 GX2's.....

    EDIT: Heres my proof....

    not to mention that i cant think of any intel chipsets that support ddr3, and theres no amd cpu out that has a built in ddr3 memory controller.....

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    :D
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2006
  10. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    That's incredible...

    ... especially since it hasn't been released yet :laugh:
  11. g12rxz New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Messages:
    293 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Illinois
    lolz..
  12. BigD6997

    BigD6997 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    891 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    hahaha:roll: :slap: ur friend lied
  13. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,668 (6.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,981
    Location:
    some AF base
  14. savor_of_filth New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    198 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    S.E.A

    DDR3???I want one...how much for two sticks 768MB DDR3???

    lolz...:laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :roll: :roll:
  15. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    in respect for upgradeability, amd. as mentioned you will be able to use am3 cpus on am2 mobos. AMDs X2 CPUs also currently offer the best bang for performance because their so damn cheap (i can pick up a X2 3800+ for £105!) combine that with some of the awesome am2 boards surfacing (such as the asus crosshair) am2 is actually looking to be quite a winner as its cheap, and once amd move to 65nm SOI, their chips should get a rather nice OC boost too, dont be surprised if you start seeing 3GHz as the norm OC on the lower end chips.
  16. pt

    pt not a suicide-bomber

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,982 (2.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    Location:
    Portugal
    that's what i'm hopping for, a 65nm cpu on my AM2 board, it sucks in voltage and BIOS but it does a good job on the remaining, and it's complete silent :)
  17. jaffers New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Messages:
    12 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0

    2 Duo beats AMD by all means. Your better bet is to go Intel way. Then motherboard must be 965 or 975 based. I suggest one from ASUS. I was a die hard fan of MSI for the last several years and progressed from 845 to 865 to 915 to 925X with MSI. But with my 975 I have ASUS and before it played with from MSI, GigaByte for few days. I found ASUS is the most reliable and solid and best in cost / performance. Just my suggestions
  18. _33

    _33 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,248 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Quebec
    Most Core 2 Duo processors are heavily unavailable. The E6300 and E6400 are more available, but with a price tag of roughly 250-300$ for the processor alone. At that price you could get an Opteron 165, which IMHO is a very decent processor.
  19. savor_of_filth New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    198 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    S.E.A
    FX-60 > opty 165...
  20. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,668 (6.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,981
    Location:
    some AF base
    opty 165 is about even w/ the fx-60 when you oc it
  21. Changis New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    314 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Norwegia
    mine sure is ;) shows a few points above the fx60 in sandra tests
  22. magibeg

    magibeg

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,000 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    203
    if you talk about overclocking why not just get the e6300 and overclock it to something the opty and fx could never reach :p

    In terms of decisions i would still go for the intel chip. Those core 2 duo's are beasts.
  23. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    why not just use the 1900 card with what u have and let things settle down a bit.. any gaming gain wont be a good bang for buck..

    the new intel stuff is gonna drop in price over the next few months and more options will be availabe.. now is not a good time to lock into a new system..

    trog
  24. _33

    _33 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,248 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Quebec
    If you overclock, the Core 2 Duo (ANY MODEL) is a bargain and is performing better than ANY AMD. But, it comes with; a pricetag, loads of "first generation" bugs, a truckload of ineficcient mobos to choose from, lack of availability.... blabla...

    On the other hand, the AMD processors are now the defacto. It's the same situation as it was when AMD first introduced 1Ghz processor in advance to Intel. AMD was faster, but the core wasn't mature. Now it's the other way around.
  25. Slater Guest

    ????
    Explain?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page