1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Upgrade for under $300 maybe?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by joshiers8605, Nov 29, 2009.

  1. joshiers8605 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    172 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    would u consider these 3 things to be a good upgrade for under $300?, maybe even cheaper if possible, lol

    [​IMG]
     
  2. RX-7

    RX-7

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    265 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Location:
    Wichita,KS
    you could keep the same board and get a 955 or 965
     
    joshiers8605 says thanks.
  3. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Or even better, a 940BE if you can find one for cheap.
     
    joshiers8605 says thanks.
  4. DirectorC

    DirectorC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,624 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    268
    Location:
    Florizy
    I agree with not ditching your mobo/RAM setup. DDR3 isn't some killer upgrade that will net you huge noticeable speed gains. Upgrade CPU and probably GPU and setup a RAID0.
     
    joshiers8605 says thanks.
  5. d3fct

    d3fct

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,087 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    165
    Location:
    Upstate NewYork
    agreed, ddr3 might get you slight gains but at a much higher price and latency. cpu would be my first upgrade especially if your gonna oc, then gpu, raid 0 couldnt hurt niether.
     
    joshiers8605 says thanks.
  6. joshiers8605 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    172 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    aahhhhh, yes, awesome ideas :toast:, proc will be first then, i'm happy with my 4770 at the moment
     
  7. d3fct

    d3fct

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,087 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    165
    Location:
    Upstate NewYork
    doesnt take big money hardware, im one of those hardcore ddr2 ftw when it comes to ddr3, lol. i have a asus p5q with 2 280gtx's in sli and 8 gigs of g.skill, dirt cheap component's that push my 9650 to 4.4, my proc almost cost more than the rest, lol. ( i got the 280's on trade so basically for free).
     
  8. 3volvedcombat

    3volvedcombat New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,514 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    261
    Location:
    South California, The desert.
    Ya im sticking with ddr2 untill ddr3 gets to 2200Mhz cas latency of 8-7 for cheap. Then it would be worth it O; :laugh:
     
  9. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,864 (4.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    CPU upgrade only should be fine
     
  10. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,998 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    What they said, but at The Egg, the 940 and 945 are the exact same price. If you are going to get the new processor, go ahead and get the 955 or 965. That way, when you do upgrade to DDR3, you will not need to replace the processor again.

    The 940 BE just has no place on the market anymore.
     
    joshiers8605 says thanks.
  11. joshiers8605 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    172 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    would that 125 watt be an issue then?, i was hoping for lower wattage, lol, but performance is nice also
     
  12. 99vw New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    Messages:
    96 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Yeah as others have noted, you would be better of sticking with your current ram and mobo and picking up a Phenom II 940 or for 15$ more you can get the Phenom II 955
     
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2009
  13. d3fct

    d3fct

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,087 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    165
    Location:
    Upstate NewYork
    if your cooling can handle it.
     
    TheLaughingMan says thanks.
  14. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,998 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    yeah, that rating is about heat, not power use. I found the stock cooler on the 955 is a bit noise when it kicks in the high gear during gaming. It is not distracting, but annoying.
     
  15. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,249 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,188
    what everyone else said, get a 955 and be done with it for now.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    The 940 being a BE do have it place in the market.
    There is really no point switching out that mobo anytime soon.

    If the OP really want a sigificant upgrade later, he need to wait until the Hex-Cores.
    He end up switching out that proc anyways.
     
    joshiers8605 says thanks.
  17. d3fct

    d3fct

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,087 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    165
    Location:
    Upstate NewYork
    lol, he wanted a cheap upgrade, im thinkin upgrade to a hex wouldn't be cheap, especially if they decide to go to an entirely diff socket, then you would have to spend more. just stick to the safe cpu upgrade, if price is an issue.
     
    joshiers8605 says thanks.
  18. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,998 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    AM3 chips all work in AM2+ and most AM2 boards. He would not need to upgrade anything else to use a AMD 955. Then when or if he does decide to upgrade the board later on, he can upgrade to AM3 and DDR3 and keep the 955 if the hex-cores are too expensive to included with that upgrade.

    I can understand you point about saving money, but the difference in price between a 955 and the 940 is $15. In the price range a 940 BE is in now, there is no point in buying it.

    I personally see nothing wrong with the 7750 BE you have unless you want better multitasking. I would honestly look into other areas for your upgrade right now since monitors, Blul-ray drives, mice, and HDD are at a low price right now. There are other things to beef up in your computer I am sure. You can mix these other upgrades with say a Athlon AX4 620 or Phenom X3 720 for better CPU performance included in this upgrade.
     
    joshiers8605 says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page