1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Upgrade Graphic card or CPU for Farcry 3

Discussion in 'Games' started by ahzeman, Dec 6, 2012.

  1. ahzeman New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kuala Lumpur
    Hello everybody, first time here.

    I like to know should i upgrade my HD5850 1G or C2d e7600 3.0Ghz to get better fps and graphic for new games like Farcry 3. I like to get a new cpu maybe i3/i7 but that means i have to change a few other things like mb etc which i can't afford. Or are they good enough to get the beauty of the Farcry 3?

    For your information the average fps that i've managed to get with older shooter games are about 30-40 with moderate setting. I'm looking for 40+ and most importantly a bit higher setting if i could for future games. Can someone recommend what Graphic card should i upgrade to with minimal price.

    Thank you.
     
  2. rampage

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,050 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Port Fairy, Victoria, Australia
    Hello and welcome to TPU.

    Thanks in advance for filling out your system specs.

    What sort of budget are you looking at ?

    your 5850 will be ok for games, a new cpu/ mobo/ ram would be the biggest leap forward, but once again it all depends on budget.
     
  3. Naito

    Naito

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    316 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    97
    Location:
    Terra Australis
    I'd say a new CPU, MB, RAM combo would most probably give you the biggest improvement.
     
  4. qu4k3r

    qu4k3r

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    249 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    150
    Location:
    Valencia, Venezuela
    Hi, welcome on board.

    Have you tried OC your E7600?
    That's the cheapest free way to improve performance.
    According with your system specs you have a p35 mobo, right?
    I think with that mobo your E7600 could be easily overclocked to 3.6 GHz or higher with the proper cooling.

    But, in the other hand...
    New games like FC3 run better with 4 threads (2 or 4 cores) than 2 cores/threads only.
    http://www.techspot.com/review/615-far-cry-3-performance/page6.html
    So upgrade to new cpu/mb/ram combo could be your best call, but it depends on your budget.

    5850 is still a good card.
    If you upgrade it to a newer one and more powerfull card, then you could find that new card would be bottlenecked by current cpu.-

    Edit:
    Do the math!
    A real upgrade over 5850 could be at least hd7850/gtx660.
    With the money you spend on a new gfx card you can buy h77 matx mobo + i3 2120 + 8gb ddr3 1333mhz which is a great upgrade over your current system ;)
     
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2012
  5. DarkOCean

    DarkOCean

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,616 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    349
    Location:
    on top of that big mountain on mars(Romania)
    Cheapest way to improve your fps oc the cpu first then the gpu but that cpu is kinda weak being just an dual core so you should think about upgrading to something like a i5 3750k +z77 mobo or 2500k +z68 if you find one cheaper that 5850 is stll ok.
     
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2012
  6. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,774 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,615
    Definitely the CPU route, the 5850 is still a decent card, and would be held back by your old clunker of a processor in games like FC3 and BF3.
     
  7. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,739 (1.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,044
    To be honest you'll have to change everything for FC3. But first I'd go with an i5.
     
    radusorin says thanks.
  8. lyndonguitar

    lyndonguitar I play games

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,629 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    Philippines
    CPU only if money is a problem, 5850 is still a very good card, try to play at 720p too. it helps

    if you can, upgrade your ram to at least 8 GB

    Although if you change your CPU to the newer i series you will need to change your mobo. I'd recommend any newest gen i5 and any mobo compatible for minimal costs.
     
  9. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,247 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    Welcome to TpU!! :)

    I would try max OCs on both CPU/GPU and see where you're at. Then I'd prolly get a hd78x0 or gtx660. Then I'd be saving for a new system...

    E7600 based machine is still more powerfull than a console, especially with a new GPU

    Just my $0.02 :eek:
     
  10. LDNL

    LDNL

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    462 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    105
    Location:
    Finland
    If youre expecting to run at higher settings at (insert resolution here) you'll pretty much need to upgrade the whole system. 4 cores on the cpu and something like 660/7850 would be ideal.
     
  11. RCoon

    RCoon Forum Gypsy

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    6,875 (7.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,150
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    overclock within reasonable limits and play 720p. If all else fails, a cheap i3/i5 mobo ram combo would be nice, and not too pricey. The card will hold it's own on lower graphical settings.
     
  12. jed

    jed

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    285 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
  13. WhiteNoise

    WhiteNoise

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,387 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    289
    Location:
    Riverside, California
    I'm not sure FC3 is worth upgrading for but there are plenty of other good reasons to upgrade.

    I'd also do CPU/MOBO/MEM.
     
  14. natr0n

    natr0n

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,909 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    982
    If your mobo chipset supports a quad core I would try that and 8gb ram.
     
  15. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,739 (1.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,044
  16. qu4k3r

    qu4k3r

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    249 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    150
    Location:
    Valencia, Venezuela
    azheman is located in Kuala Lumpur, I suppose he will shop there, locally.-
     
  17. Jack1n

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1,020 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    229
    Location:
    Central Israel
    I would get a low end I5 a cheap H77 board and an 8gb 1600mhz memory kit (memory is cheap as dirt any way so why not 1600).
     
  18. ahzeman New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kuala Lumpur
    Guys thank u very much for all the suggestions and option. Everything looks clear to me now, at least. I'm not into overclocking because climate reason and not kinda techie person. And changing cpu/mb/ram i think is more future proof, personallly. I will get the most minimal cost for those (with i5 cpu) and use the 5850 instead. Tq guys.
     
  19. Frag Maniac

    Frag Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,485 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    While OCing the CPU will give you a bit of a boost, you'll need to put at least $20 into an aftermarket cooler, and it will still be just a dual core. More and more top games released make use of quad core tech, it can make quite a difference. There's also some CPU, MB, RAM bundles this time of year that are tempting if you can afford to buy now.

    I say save that cooler money and put it toward a better CPU, MB and RAM. One way you can assess how much performance each component adds to the overall system is by running the Windows Experience Index bench, but in your case just playing any resource intense made for quad game would make it obvious that the CPU is the bottleneck in that build.
     
  20. ahzeman New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kuala Lumpur
    Tq Frag and everybody. All reasons are make sense to me. I will get the best cheap combination of those cpu/mb/ram with my little money can buy. Tq again.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page