1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

"Upgrade" my "old" system?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by TechnicalFreak, Dec 30, 2007.

  1. Hi

    Well I sorta want to "upgrade" it's hardware parts. First I'll tell you everything about the system so far and what I already have in it.

    Mobo: ASUS K8N-E Deluxe (SATA Raid support , AGP8x , Dual Channel support(memory).

    Graphics card: NoName(can't remember), ATi 9800SE works perfect with 8 pipelines, needs memory cooling (already have Arctic Cooler v1.2 installed).

    Sound: Hercules Digifire 7.1 (otherwise built in on mobo 7.1 sndcard).

    Memory: Samsung 2x512Mb DDR (Dual Channel).

    HDD: Seagate Barracuda 120Gb (has never let me down for so many years!) PATA.

    CD/DVD: CD-CDRW-LiteOn /DVD-LG.

    CPU: AMD Athlon64 3000+ (@2041Mhz) / stock cooler.

    PSU: Thermaltake Butterfly 480W.

    Case: NoNamer , normal "Midi" tower. I call it "Custom Junk" (pics coming shortly!).

    Other: 2 80x80 fans in rear and 2 80x80 fans in front + 1 80x80 fan on top. Smaller fans cooling HDD.


    So what can I upgrade? Btw.. I think the Socket is 754 or something like that. I could also think of getting second hand parts for it , we do have something called "Blocket" where people sell new and used things (everything from cars to toilets!).


    Thankful for any replies
     
  2. Urbklr

    Urbklr

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,346 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Do you have a budget??
     
  3. keakar

    keakar

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,407 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    299
    Location:
    just outside of new orleans
    you have to give us a budget and some idea of the intended purpose of the system would be needed as well

    is it for non gaming, light gaming, heavy gaming, or serious gaming with the newest games coming out
     
  4. Oops, sorry. Well ok, I'll have to make the budget in €uro's (if it's ok?)..
    About 530€uros as budget.
     
  5. choppy

    choppy

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,173 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    150
    Location:
    UK
    with that budget you may as well build a new and much MUCH better system!
     
  6. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    if you want to keep on the same socket it has to be 939 if it has dual channel support get a 7800/7900GS or 7950GT or X1950PRO AGP card and 2X1gb of DDR400

    also i assume that since its s939 i would recommend a 3800X2 or opteron 165 or higher
     
  7. Scrizz

    Scrizz

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,987 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    416
    Location:
    Florida, US
    you can build a new system with that budget.
    new system will pwn your old one
     
  8. Urbklr

    Urbklr

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,346 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Yea...Build a new one! You can build a pretty good computer for that much money, and it would destroy your current one;)
     
  9. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    i agree i didnt see your budget post build a new system!
     
  10. True. But I can't build "THE" system that I want for that money.. Only the cpu would cost almost the entire "budget" I listed.
     
  11. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Sorry but how much is that in $?
     
  12. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    639
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    530 euros is a fair bit of cash where I come from.

    I'd look for a C2D system to get best bang for buck and sell the card, mobo, cpu, ram and possibly the PSU.

    Of course the system would be mid-range for that kind of cash but you will be able to upgrade unlike my 939 rig which is pretty much maxxed out atm unless I buy a new motherboard and GPU to take it to PCI-E.
     
  13. Ok..
    I have been looking thru various prices, and I think I just have found a setup for a reasonable price:

    Mobo: MSI P35 NEO-F iP35.
    CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E6600.
    Memory: Kingston 2x1024Mb PC6400 (2Gb total, and to a killer price!).
    HDD: Seagate Barracuda 160Gb SATA2/8Mb cache.
    Graphicscard: MSI GeForce 8600GT 256Mb PCI-E.
    PSU: Xilence 600W ATX12V V2.2.

    Total : 574 €uros.

    I'm very unsure about the graphics card, since I have NEVER had a GeForce card in my life
    (seriously). Also I am very unsure about the CPU and the mobo aswell. Since I have never had an Intel cpu ever before..

    But ok, it went a little bit high (stupid swedish prices :mad: ) But this is what I would guess it would "look" like.
     
  14. It is 770$ (+-1$).
     
  15. wiak

    wiak

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,749 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Norway
    socket 939 still is good loong after it was released :p
    a socket 939 X2 3800+ @ 2.6ghz is as fast as X2 5000+ on socket AM2
     
  16. jpierce55

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,335 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    If you are a gamer buy a good g-card and a cheap x2 processor/mobo, that makes more sense than a $$processor and low g-card.
     
  17. But then what should I get?? I feel "lost" when looking at Intel's processors.. Not to mention the graphics cards of today. I picked that cpu because the price was rather low (well I thought it was low).

    The most games I play theese days are BF1942 w. DesertCombat mod and TotalA2 (or Supreme Commander as everyone else calls it...)
     
  18. rick22

    rick22 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    629 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    I would go intel.775.you could get a Asus p5n e sli mobo for 124.00 or a Dfi blood-iron p35 mobo for 109.00...then get a Intel chip e6550 conroe 2.33 for 169.00..thats a good start ..all Newegg prices..


    P.S. I have the Dfi blood-iron and the mobo rocks...
     
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2007
  19. Darren

    Darren New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,936 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    TechnicalFreak, it might be cheaper to go AMD, cheapo AM2 motherboard and a 6000+ X2, that way you can put the money saved in a better graphics cards such as the 3850 or 3870. Forget the geforce 8600 series. But it depends what you want the system for, gaming or office work?
     
    rick22 says thanks.
  20. rick22

    rick22 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    629 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34


    He has 770.00 the intel parts would only be around 300 ..you can get a Sapphire radeon hd 2900pro for 170.00 ..
     
  21. jpierce55

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,335 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    He really should get a psu with the upgrades, 480 watt Thermaltake, I have read bad things about Thermaltake.

    If you go Intel, buy one of their cheaper dual cores and a mobo that will support the quads. I suggest an 8800gt graphics card and good ram.

    http://www.ncixus.com/products/27328/88YFF6HUFEXX/Galaxy Technology/
    http://www.ncixus.com/products/24495/P5K/ASUS/ how about an open box mobo?
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820211174 ok ram

    I don't know what a good dual core Intel is, and PSU's are something you can read up on.
     
  22. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    were did you read bad things about Tt i have never had an issue with mine!
     
  23. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    That would be a very good build. If possible try and find a e6750 instead of the e6600 because the 6750 is a G0 stepping and while it doesn't have as high of a multi, it's defiantly a good overclocker. Unless it's more expensive of course. Idk much about the motherboard, the graphics card is good, the hdd is good. The ram, if you can get crucial they overclock better, if you don't want to overclock the ones you picked are fine (actually idk how they overclock, but kingston is a good brand). Psu, never heard of xilence before. Of course these are little things, except for the psu, might be good might be bad idk.
     
  24. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    With 770$ you can build a comp with a E2200, P35, DDR2-800 and a HD 3850. Thats a kick ass rig right there.
     

  25. Me neither.. Never failed me for 3-4 years now.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page