1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Upgrade or Not ???

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by rahulyo, Nov 24, 2009.

  1. rahulyo

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    336 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Nasik,India
    Hi Friends ...

    As u can see in my system spec. I have Intel E4500 @3GHz and Palit 4850 512 mb Sonic (740/1100) ...

    I have some doubts in my mind ...

    Is my E4500 bottleneck to 4850 ???

    Is their any need to upgrade my system ???

    If yes then which one CPU or GPU ???

    Reply soon guys ...
     
  2. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,382 (11.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,686
    nope, seems fairly balanced to me


    i'd replace the CPU first
     
  3. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,530 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,635
    Have you had any problems playing the games you like?
    You may want to try to oc your cpu, but I don't think you should have any bottleneck issues.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. rahulyo

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    336 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Nasik,India
    Yes i face problem in games ...

    Now I m playing Wolfenstein, feel some lagging in game ...

    My 3d mark Vantage score :-

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2009
  5. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,530 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,635
    Then I agree (of course with Mussels) and would look at upgrading your CPU~
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. rahulyo

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    336 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Nasik,India
    So Pls suggest me good CPU for upgrade ...
     
  7. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,382 (11.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,686
    that might be due to your 2GB of ram

    my suggestion would be 4GB of ram and windows 7 64 bit (your CD key for 32 bit works fine in x64)

    after that, find a 45nm intel CPU with 6MB of cache - something like an E8400 or E8500
     
    rahulyo says thanks.
  8. rahulyo

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    336 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Nasik,India
    How is Q9400 ???
     
  9. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,382 (11.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,686
    while its a quad core, its got the cache reduced. since most games only use two cores, those games would benefit from a higher clocked dual core with more cache, than a cut back quad


    edit:

    http://processorfinder.intel.com/details.aspx?sSpec=SLB6B
    Q9400

    its techincally two dual cores on the one chip, so it has 2x3MB cache to make 6MB total. That means any games that use two cores or less, only have 3MB of accesible cache

    http://processorfinder.intel.com/details.aspx?sSpec=SLAPK
    E8500 is a dual core, with 6MB total cache (same amount) so any program (1 or two cores used) has all 6MB available

    then you factor in the 500Mhz difference, and its a no brainer - the dual core is a far better choice for gaming
     
    rahulyo says thanks.
  10. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,434 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    384
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    +1 for the E8xxx i have one in my rig witha 4850 and im getting great performance, just lettin you no froma guy who has a rig alitle similar
     
    rahulyo says thanks.
  11. rahulyo

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    336 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Nasik,India
    But Quad core is better for Future Gaming ...
     
  12. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,382 (11.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,686
    only if you buy one with the full cache.


    The thing is, games may use more cores over time - but performance of the first core is still going to be the main factor to your performance. they cant split the game into more and more threads, they just move tasks over.


    lets say they make core 1 for graphics, core 2 for AI, core three for sound, core 4 for anything left over.

    we all know that graphics is going to need the most CPU power and sound is going to need shit all - but the way this stuff works, core 3 and 4 cant help with core 1. the entire application would be limited by the speed of that one core.


    So yes - a dual core is better for the immediate future and 1-2 years, and then it comes out even for a while (compared to this budget quad core)

    but shit - in 4 years, he'll likely have a new PC
     
    rahulyo says thanks.
  13. rahulyo

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    336 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Nasik,India
    If i upgrade my CPU now then for next 2-3 years no chance of upgrade CPU ,thr4 ask about quad core ...

    Can u suggest any Quad core with the full cache ???
     
  14. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,382 (11.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,686
    Q9450 would be the cheapest, but if you intend to overclock its not an easy one due to the low multiplier.

    its also got that ~500Mhz disadvantage for modern games
     
  15. rahulyo

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    336 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Nasik,India
    I dont know anything about "~500Mhz disadvantage for modern games" ...

    Can u pls explain ????
     
  16. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,382 (11.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,686
    quad core at 2.4Ghz
    dual core at 3.16GHz


    any programs that use two cores or less are going to get a nice boost on the dual core, from the higher clocks.

    even games that use 3/4 cores might see a boost on the dual core, the MHz/raw power can matter more than the amount of cores


    edit: since you may not be clear, MHz is a measurement of time. 4x2GHz doesnt equal 8GHz - its four clocks ticking away at the same time (or four engines at the same RPM) - they can each carry their own load at different tasks, but they cant make each other go faster, or work harder
     
  17. legends84

    legends84

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    346 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Jitra, Kedah, Malaysia
    E8xxx series would be better.. or Q9550 is you have the cash lol
     
  18. rahulyo

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    336 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Nasik,India
    Ohh..

    So Dual core is much better than Quad core in Games ...

    I think Dual core like E8400/E8500 is better upgrade for 1-2 years ...

    Any other suggestions for increase performance of my system ???
     
  19. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,470 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,516
    a q9450 o/c to 3ghz or 3.2 is no prob for one of these chips...ive had mine as high as 3.5 for 24/7 usage
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. legends84

    legends84

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    346 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Jitra, Kedah, Malaysia
    i think you should add some more rams
     
  21. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,382 (11.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,686
    i already said that, another 2GB of ram and a 64 bit operating system.

    32 bit operating systems are capped at 2GB per program, with 64 bit its 4GB in 32 bit programs and as much ram as you have for 64 bit programs - its definitely a future proofing you'll need, as games these days are already pushing the 2GB boundary
     
  22. rahulyo

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    336 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Nasik,India
    How is AMD phenom 2 x3 720 BE compare to E8400/E8500 ???
     
  23. legends84

    legends84

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    346 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Jitra, Kedah, Malaysia
    in gaming.. E8500 are a little better compare to 720. 720 is tri core and had advantage in multi-task. but you could always o.clock the 720 for some great performance
     
  24. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,382 (11.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,686
    720's are pretty good.

    the information i gave was based on intel, since thats the system you have - you go a 720, and you'll need a new motherboard as well.
     
  25. legends84

    legends84

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    346 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Jitra, Kedah, Malaysia
    +1
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page