1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Upgrade or $$$ waste?

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Hal24, Mar 21, 2013.

  1. Hal24 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Messages:
    8 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Would this: Radeon HD 7750 1GB GDDR5
    be a worthwhile video upgrade for my ancient PC or a waste of money?

    Mainboard : Gigabyte GA-M61VME-S2, Rev.2.0
    Chipset : nVidia GeForce 6100V
    Processor : AMD Athlon 64 X2 5400+ @ 2800 MHz
    Physical Memory : 4096 MB (2 x 2048 DDR2-SDRAM )
    Video Card : NVIDIA GeForce 8600 GT
    Hard Disk : Seagate ST380815AS (80GB)
    DVD-Rom Drive : Toshiba-Samsung CDDVDW SH-S203N
    Monitor Type : Asus ASUS VH198 - 19 inches
    Network Card :NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller #3
    Operating System : Microsoft Windows XP Professional 5.01.2600 Service Pack 3 (32-bit)
    DirectX : Version 9.0c (May 2010)

    Thank you all
     
  2. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,116 (6.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,314
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Id say upgrading GPU on that system would be a waste. You would get a boost, but not enough to warrant it. Your better off upgrading the whole system, rather then just GPU. At least that's what I think.
     
  3. kn00tcn

    kn00tcn

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    692 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    122
    Location:
    Toronto
    how much money & what do you plan about the future? (would you want the 7750 to last a while or what, are you a young person about to start a paying career, etc)

    which games do you play, you could probably see if you're cpu limited or gpu limited, but i'm going to lean on a lot of cpu limited cases
     
    Hal24 says thanks.
  4. Hal24 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Messages:
    8 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I am an older person and don't really play a lot of games. I use the PC for general tasks, web browsing, e-mail, etc. I do run a few simulators like FS and Train Simulator. I hope I can coax the PC along a bit longer,1-3 years and then buy/build something new.
     
  5. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,116 (6.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,314
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Jesus you play Flight Simulator on that thing?
     
  6. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    if that is a 65nm CPU i would bump it to 3ghz at the least and buy a 2nd hand GPU on the forums.
    That CPU is "weak" but you will see a performance boost from a GPU.

    I Used to play Dirt on a P4 nutburst based celly and a 8800GTS with decent results.I know i was severly limited but point is,you can make your rig last a little longer and give a slight boost, but it brings to the question... does it do everything you want reasonably well or is this upgrade just a "want". If its just a want i would recommend against it.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,773 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    539
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    The answer is YES, upgrade the GPU, especially if you want this PC to last a few years more.
     
  8. lilhasselhoffer

    lilhasselhoffer

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,671 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,036
    Location:
    East Coast, USA
    Short answer is that a GPU upgrade would not help. You should not spend the money.



    To those that think this could work: check out the motherboard specs. PCI-e x16 (not 2.0) running at x1. "(Note 2) The GA-M61VME-S2 supports up to PCI Express x1 mode. (please refer to the VGA cards support list)"

    Buying even a low end card for a x1 slot is an absolute waste of money. Your 8600 is already more than saturating that link. You need to put this thing out to pasture. For $300 you can have a new APU build that will trounce your current rig (and it should only be 3x the cost of that GPU).
     
  9. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,116 (6.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,314
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Wow that sucks ass. Completely missed that. so its like there's basically 2 x1 slots, just the top one is full x16 form factor but electrically only x1. Yeah OP sounds like your a bit SOL. Better off upgrading CPU, memory, and motherboard at this point. You could get a nice Trinity APU build for pretty cheap that would beat everything you have right now.
     
  10. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,171 (3.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,811
    Location:
    04578
    yup I had a similar board 939 physically x16 electronically x1 was unable to get a GPU to work in mine, gave up junked the board.

    Guy needs a new rig period at this point.
     
    yogurt_21 and MxPhenom 216 say thanks.
  11. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,116 (6.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,314
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Agreed. He could get a Trinity APU, some memory, and A75 FM2 micro atx board for pretty cheap too. not more then $200.
     
  12. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,884 (4.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,110
    that GPU is pretty well matched to the rest of your system.
     
  13. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    639
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    You will see a performance increase even if upgrading to a 9800GTX+ or HD4850 and will allow you to play those Flight simulators at a higher detail.

    Although a power supply with a 6-Pin PCI-E connector is required.
    I think two 6-Pin PCI-E connectors are required for the 9800GTX+

    Since the two cards are not available anymore new, a new model capable of pushing out the same performance would be recommended.

    I gamed for a long time on a X2 4800+ 939skt with an HD4850 on XP until late 2011 at 1440x900 playing games like DiRT 3 at high settings with acceptable frame rates.
     
  14. Hood

    Hood

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    820 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    I wasted a lot of time and money "upgrading" my old Pentium 4 550 system, even bought a new MSI motherboard and DDR3 RAM for it, and it never worked right no matter what I did (the faster RAM and 550 Ti would overheat the north bridge whenever gaming or benchmarking). I finally had to install a fast, very noisy Delta fan pointing at the north bridge to keep it below 64c. Last year I built a decent Z77 i5-3570K system and sold the P4 rig for $100 (after spending $250 upgrading, but I kept the $150 GTX 550 Ti). Maybe you should start buying parts one at a time as you can afford them, until you have a new mainboard, RAM, CPU, and GPU, and probably a new PSU. Then you can do the upgrade right with hand-picked parts and an amazing leap in performance.
     
  15. Xaser04

    Xaser04

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    743 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    106
    Not when the PCI-e slot is limited to 1x as quoted above.

    Upgrading the GPU would be a complete waste.

    I agree with the Trinity suggestions, although I understand that a refresh is due shortly.
     
  16. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,116 (6.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,314
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    And a price cut next month
    Hal24: Where are you located? States or....?
     
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2013
  17. Hal24 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Messages:
    8 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Canada
     
  18. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,116 (6.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,314
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    oh. So you can get a decent Trinity rig from ncix.ca then. That's what id do. Also upgrade to Windows 7 or 8.

    Because anything you do with your current rig will be a worthless upgrade.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page