1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Upgrade Path

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by Kenshai, Apr 21, 2009.

  1. Kenshai

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,646 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    218
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina
    Well, I kind of stumbled into a free K9A2 Platinum. Debating now whether to pick up a Phenom II and drop my Intel or sell the motherboard and pick up a E8500 or something similar for ~180. The phenom would be faster, similar price. Selling mobo and proc on intel side will net a bit more so a 955 is possible for the phenom.

    Or I could wait for the 955 to drop and pick up a cheap 920 or 940BE when people get rid of them? Just the possibilities.

    Suggestions?
  2. Error 404

    Error 404

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,777 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    169
    Location:
    South Australia
    I'd go with the Phenom II 955, your CPU cooler should take care of it when overclocking, but make sure you have an AMD retention thingy for it. PII 955 will be a nice upgrade from your E6750, and would beat an E8500 easily, especially when overclocked.
    Kenshai says thanks.
  3. Kenshai

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,646 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    218
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina
    There won't really be much more headroom on a 955 over the 940 will there? From what I can tell about it, just higher stock clock and different memory controller?
  4. unibrow1990

    unibrow1990 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    194 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Location:
    Detroit, Michigan
    I'd go with a 940, I think the only major advantage of the 955 is DDR3 which your motherboard doesn't support anyways so you might as well save a little bit.
  5. Darren

    Darren New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,936 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Phenom II X4 955 supports both DDR2 and DDR3, if i'm not mistaken?


    So if you plan on using DDR3 in the future the 955 or 810 are good choices.


    The Phenom II X3 720 is the best deal though, its extremely cheap and is known to match the i7 in games.
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2009
    Kenshai says thanks.
  6. computertechy

    computertechy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Messages:
    828 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    177
    Location:
    UK, Brighton
    yes the 955 does support both

    will probaly get a 955 this month

    and then all the ddr3,board next month

    gpu's & psu month after

    will have a few bits to sell if any1 is interested?
  7. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,609 (13.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,995
    Agreed, the X3 720 would be the perfect chip to drop in that board. I kinda wish I kept mine and sold my Intel rig now. :ohwell:
    Kenshai says thanks.
  8. Kenshai

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,646 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    218
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina
    After doing a bit more research, that 720BE seems the best way to go for the money. Now to find someone to purchase my Intel stuff.
  9. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    720BE is a brilliant chip, I love mine. I definitely wouldn't get a 940, 955 would be a better choice as it's both DDR3 and DDR2 support so if you got a DDR3 board later on you wouldn't need to change your chip as well.
  10. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,859 (4.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    I was going to suggest the x3 720 too :) I would suggest you get the same HD of one the you already have and RAID 0 them so your load times are faster xD I would sugegst that you sell that board to buy a better board for cheaper... like this one

    If you do get the mobo I suggested (has SB750) it whill enable the possibility of unlocking the 4th core! just get the right batch number of the 720BE (I think it's 0940 or something)
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2009
    Kenshai says thanks.
  11. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    955 has HUGE improvements over the 940. They do 3.8ghz on stock voltage from the few chips I've seen.
    Kenshai says thanks.
  12. Kenshai

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,646 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    218
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina
    Only issue I have with that is, doubt there'll be much interest in the board, it's not really known for it's overclocking potential, it just appears to be a somewhat generic board.

    Guess I'll have to wait for actual release of it to get a true understanding of the difference.
    Also where did you see these chips?
    Last edited: Apr 22, 2009
  13. Assassin48 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,450 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    515
    Location:
    95350
    ill post a comparison when i get the 955 alright
  14. Drizzt5

    Drizzt5 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    612 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    The 955 is not only a higher clocked 940. But I would go for a 720be anyways to save money. You won't see a gigantic difference in game by spending the extra money on a 955.
  15. Kenshai

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,646 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    218
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina
    I'm looking for a used 720BE that can clock decently, other than that will probably pick it up at the local Tiger Direct at least if I can't find one shortly.

    Well comparing the prices on ZipZoomFly

    The 720BE runs $134 shipped the 940BE runs $169 shipped.

    I assume the $35 to upgrade would be worth it?

    Also, walk into Tiger Direct, and get the right batch for the possible 4th core on a different motherboard is another option I'm looking at. $155 then tax at TD
    Last edited: Apr 22, 2009
  16. Drizzt5

    Drizzt5 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    612 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Hmm... wait to buy used 940BE's that people are selling to get 955's maybe?
  17. Kenshai

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,646 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    218
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina
    Purchasing a 720BE. Also debating about selling the K9A2, so I can pick up a motherboard with the correct south bridge for the fourth core unlocking.

    MA790GP-UD4H. Will work just fine from what I've read. Good idea?

    Money from intel rig + K9A2 should be make a cheap upgrade.
  18. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,859 (4.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    get the biostar I suggested... 105$ no? anyways, only MSI and Biostar can unlock 4th core I believe... get the 720BE at MAX 140$ shipped... or else if you can't sell your board, go for 940BE, a faster way...

    but IMO, if you can sell your board for 105$ and getting the Biostar for that much (theres also a 10$ mail in rebate :) so 95$ at the end) and getting the 720BE (or 940BE) used or new is your best choice
  19. Kenshai

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,646 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    218
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina
    I bought cdawalls 720 that unlocks just fine. Clocks to 4ghz on water etc etc. The Arekieh unlocked the 4th core with that exact motherboard and clocked to 3.6ghz no problem with the 4th core unlocked.
  20. wiak

    wiak

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,744 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    198
    Location:
    Norway
    +1

    will probly also get a 955 this month

    and then all the ddr3,board in some moths when ATI SB800 that has SATA 6gbps coms out

    gpu when it comes out (HD 5870* or something) , still got my trusty and epic great Corsair 620HX!

    :)
  21. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,859 (4.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    with what board did you unlock?

    PII 955 sucks for it's price... who pays 60$ more than a PII 940BE for similar performance? and if you go DDR3 you paying over 100$ more than PII 940BE
  22. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,775 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    that a very good mobo but i dont know if it can unlock the 4 core
  23. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,859 (4.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    the 100$ Biostar 128m can and its a great mobo...
  24. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,859 (4.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    I talk for the present... if you want to buy now, don't go 955... BUT you can wait and hopefully prices will fall...

    IMO 720BE is always the best way to go... :) if you want 4 cores, you can either get all you need for unlocking 4th core and give it a gamble (my choice) or just go 940BE and fudge the DDR3 xD
  25. Darren

    Darren New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,936 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    The processor has been out for less than a week so obviously the prices have not stablised. Give it a few weeks for retailers to apply AMDs recommended price guidelines before making judgement on prices.


    Edit:



    I agree the 955 is priced too high at the moment, but it was expected. I can remember people complaining on the release of the 940 BE when retailers did not honour AMDs guidelines, now everyone is loving the prices. Anyone that buys hardware on release, whether a GPU, CPU, memory etc deserve to get their pockets burnt.

    The X3 720 BE is really the best deal ATM, I agree.
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2009

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page