1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Upgrade to SB or Keep i7 860 and just upgrade RAM and MOB???

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by 20mmrain, Jan 3, 2011.

  1. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,776 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    827
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    Okay so I have been trying to make a decision between upgrading to SB or Keeping my i7 860 and just upgrading the Memory and Motherboard.

    It wouldn't be that hard of a decision.... but with some of the really highend MOB prices soon to be dropping on the P55 Chipset It makes one wonder... Which way would make more sense to go?

    So do you think someone with a i7 860 Capable of hitting 4.2Ghz should go after a Sandy Bridges Setup either a 2500K or a 2600K?

    Would it be enough of an upgrade to warrant the purchase?
     
  2. overclocking101

    overclocking101

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,892 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    405
    Location:
    vermont
    well clock for clock, 1155 and 1156 are almost the same. now your cpu can hit ONLY 4.2?? you sure it wont go higher?? most of them hit 4.4/4.5 no sweat. that said I would stick with the 860 grab a asus or gigabyte higher end p55 (the evga p55's dont oc as well or as easy) and one of the new sb ddr3 ram kits (ones that run xmp at 1.5v ish) they seem better able to run higher/the same freq at lower voltage and nicer timings. but imo sandy bridge is not worth the cost. non "K" chips will only oc using turbo mode and "K" chips still have a multi limiter. only real benefit is different ram dividers so ram may run more stable on P67 but maybe not
     
    20mmrain says thanks.
  3. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    22,270 (6.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,805
    mine only boots 4.2 for benches on a gigabyte. I say just keep what you have for now.
     
    20mmrain says thanks.
  4. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,776 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    827
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    I can get to 4.2 comfortably on Air.... I haven't tried going any higher since I have switched to water cooling.

    I am getting that from allot of my buddies at home too. It seems allot of people are worried about SB and it's overclocking limits. I just thought that the K series were completely unlocked. I guess I am wrong.

    So then let me ask you guys.... in terms of performance.... How much would I be losing compared? When looking at some reviews it seems like I wouldn't be losing that much at all. But then in other reviews it seems like I would be loosing allot?

    Which is it?

    It sounds like that is what I would do... just update the MOB and RAM. For now... At least until I see what Bulldozer brings or maybe the replacement to the X58.

    As far as updating the RAM.... would you guys go for a Really High speed Kit or a Moderate speed kit but low latencies?
     
  5. rickss69

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,431 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
    I have yet to meet a Gigabyte mb I didnt like. :) I don't know why, but the Evga 1156 mb's just don't play well with this platform.
     
  6. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,776 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    827
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    Yeah I noticed.... When I had a P55-GD65 Board....it was allot more responsive with boot times and seemed allot more stable. I went with the EVGA P55 Mainly Because I needed a Replacement for the MSI Board after I sold it. But my intention was to never end up keeping it this long.

    I have a special place in my heart for Gigabyte to.... My first MOB manufacturer!
     
  7. Smety

    Smety New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    23 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    I say keep your processor and get a CPU water cooler like the Corsair H50 and bump that up to 4.5GHz :)

    From what I've seen so far, with the SB processors you can only overclock the turbo settings...
     
    20mmrain says thanks.
  8. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    5,020 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,260
    Ignore Sandy Bridge for now. :)
     
    20mmrain says thanks.
  9. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,776 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    827
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    Thanx Guys that is what I think I would do for now :).... As far as the H50.... I haven't changed my Profile.... But I am already real water cooled with a XSPC Kit. But thanx for the suggestion :)
     
  10. dir_d

    dir_d

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    848 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    110
    Location:
    Manteca, Ca
    Go SB sell me p55 lol, actually SB shouldnt be considered if you have that machine wait till Ivy bridge and make the same thread
     
  11. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,776 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    827
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    I got yah.... The reviews to me out there were just confusing though. The way they are making these CPU's sound is that they are a huge increase over the last gen. So I wasn't sure.

    So In that case....With the RAM.... Should I go for straight out speed like a 2100Mhz Kit or should I go for a Moderate speed kit like 1800 mhz but with lower latencies?
     
  12. dir_d

    dir_d

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    848 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    110
    Location:
    Manteca, Ca
    These CPUs seem the same as last gen just higher/lower overclocks so far. What i mean by that is you can hit 5ghz on air on a K model but if its not a K model OCing sucks and you are better off with a high level p55 or x58.
     
  13. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,776 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    827
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    Got yah.... so looking at the selections right now the MOB are already seeming to be getting depleted at new egg. Meaning allot of the high end boards out there are already gone. I hope there is some what a decent selection out there... by this weekend (B-day Weekend Present to me :) ) Other wise I might be forced to go SB by default.

    Seriously look around..... New Egg/ Tiger Direct are both getting pretty low on Choices.
     
  14. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    5,020 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,260
    Upgrade from those XMS3's and get some new G.Skill Ripjaws. XD
     
  15. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,776 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    827
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    Well When Are they releasing or have they already??? Well I found a good supply of P55 Motherboards too at Super Biiz /Ewiz but I have never ordered from there before.

    Has any one ordered from there yet? How is their CS?

    Update Specs too!
     
  16. rickss69

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,431 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
  17. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,776 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    827
    Location:
    Midwest USA
  18. rickss69

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,431 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
    Yeah, 4.7GHz...truth is just about any Gigabyte board will do that with this platform. You will be building more heat with the i7 but 4.5GHz should not be out of the question.

    Here is an Asus mb with my 875 on air...

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Got it here last night but it wasnt stable enough for WPrime...

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2011
  19. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,776 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    827
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    Alright man i knew I should have stuck with Gigabyte to begin with!!!!

    Allot lower clock with the Asus Board For sure... Still a nice clock but way lower! :)
     
  20. rickss69

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,431 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
    Keep in mind that was with an air cooler on the Asus...it would do better with more cooling. I just never liked Asus bios's.
     
  21. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,776 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    827
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    How about something like this????

    http://www.superbiiz.com/detail.php?name=MB-P55A-U4&title=GIGABYTE-GA-P55A-UD4P-Socket-1156-Intel-P55-CrossFireX-USB3-0-SATA3-0-A-2GbE-ATX-Motherboard

    Or this????

    http://www.superbiiz.com/detail.php?name=MB-P55UD4P&title=GIGABYTE-GA-P55-UD4P-Socket-1156-Intel-P55-DDR3-CrossFireX-SLI-A-2GbE-ATX-Motherboard

    And have you had much experience with High end MSI Boards??? The one I had was awesome.... But because I only had one experience.... I would hardly call it fact yet? Do you have anymore experience?

    Me either.... Yeah I didn't take into account you were using air Duh!!! :banghead:
     
  22. rickss69

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,431 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
    MSI for me has been kind of iffy...not bad, but lacks a little when pushing them. Their video cards are great tho! I have not used the Gigabyte UD4 but I bet they do well. Do a little googling around for bench results on them. :)
     
    20mmrain says thanks.
  23. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,776 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    827
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    Thanks Will do bud... I appreciate all your help bud! One more question.... You have any experience with ram types?

    If so Which would you go for when overclocking???? High Speed like 2100 Mhz or Low Latencies???
     
  24. rickss69

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,431 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
    I'm not really ram savvy. :eek: I just swap my GTX Dominator's around to whatever I'm working on atm...7-8-7-20 2000MHz. Not sure they even make these anymore.
     
    20mmrain says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page