1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Upgrade: wd green 500gb vs. seagate barracuda 500gb

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by ChiSox, Nov 17, 2009.

  1. ChiSox

    ChiSox

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    447 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    On The Green
    So Im in the process of upgrading my friends pc

    His specs:

    Biostar Nvidia 6100 939 Mobo

    AMD Athlon 64 x2 3800+

    2 Gb DDR Gskill Ram

    Waiting for Ati 4670 to get here

    160gb IDE Seagate Barracuda

    575w Logisys


    He wants more space

    Board supports Raid would he benefit from it with this system?

    And I was looking at these 2 drives Seagate Western Digital
     
  2. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,130 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    415
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
  3. cerver

    cerver New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    68 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Philly
    I had trouble with my last seagate drive. But i have never had any issues with my WD drives or mybooks. I also noticed that my seagates would wine after about 6 months of heavy use, where as my WD's did not.

    how much more space does he need and what is he storing? Are the files being accessed all time or is it just needed for general space for programs, games ect?
     
  4. ChiSox

    ChiSox

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    447 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    On The Green
    Well we already dumped some money into the gpu and ram so $60 is about the max....Im gonna just clone his disk that he has...which is @ 140gb with all games/programs installed...all data is on an external...
     
  5. ChiSox

    ChiSox

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    447 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    On The Green
    Does the 32mb cache on the WD help alot in compared to 16mb?

    EDIT: Sorry to double post
     
    Last edited: Nov 17, 2009
  6. cerver

    cerver New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    68 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Philly
    Most people claim that there is no significant advantage to a 32MB cache over the 16. they say that it does not affect the performance much at all. I have never becnch'd this so i can not tell you one way or another.

    i would say if its just the base drive and your going to clone the disk to have the same 140gb image as before, then roll with WD. I found them to be the better of the two. IMO.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page