1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

upgraded from gtx260 to a gtx280 oc2

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by DTV DRAGON, Oct 17, 2009.

  1. DTV DRAGON

    DTV DRAGON New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    877 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    canada
    hey guys I went for the upgrade fro m my bfg gtx260 ocx to a bfg gtx280 oc2. I know each card o/c diferently but i was wondering what i could expect out of my new gtx280 oc2? th factory o/c clocks are 650/1404/2326 so what do you think i might be able to take it too, again i know each is different thanx Dragon
     
  2. BraveSoul

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    987 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    164
    not much of an upgrade, 285 would have been better even then,, did u trade? or had to pay the full price?
     
  3. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,914 (4.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Yeah, it's a nice card, but honestly not much of an upgrade except at stock. A good gtx260 will overclock up to and beyond gtx280 speeds.
     
  4. DTV DRAGON

    DTV DRAGON New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    877 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    canada
    nope sold the 260 and went to 280 $40.00 difference is what i had to pay, did a quick 3dmark06 and score went up by only 1011 points, thought it would of been higher, but iam gpoing to do some o/c and see if i can get more out of the card any ideas as to clock speeds i might acheive? thanx for your input though! Dragon
     
  5. DTV DRAGON

    DTV DRAGON New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    877 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    canada
    ran vantage and kicked it up 10,000 points now that is a huge difference from the 260
     
  6. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,583 (6.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,110
    so you went from 12,000 to 22,000 in vantge?
     
  7. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,914 (4.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Not possible for the 2 cards to have such a vastly different score. Let's see a screenie. :shadedshu
     
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2009
  8. BraveSoul

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    987 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    164
    hmm, i had almost P10,000 with 260 216 at 626/1053 and phenom2 3.0ghz physx off
     
  9. DTV DRAGON

    DTV DRAGON New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    877 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    canada
    went from 21000 to 32000 but on E not P thats were I had my last vantage bech witn my 260 so i stayed at the same I will run on the p next and report back lol sorry for confision that would be a killer score with my q8200 lol Dragon
     
  10. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,967 (6.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,047
    Seems like kind of a wasted upgrade with only a Q8200...

    I think the money would have been better spent on a CPU upgrade.

    Well of course. However, a GTX260 would have a hard time matching a GTX280 at the default overclock of the GTX280 he bought.

    I see this argument way to much. It is pretty poor logic to say "X can overclock to match or beat Y, so Y isn't worth it". Of course Y is worth it, because Y can overclock beyond X's range.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  11. DTV DRAGON

    DTV DRAGON New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    877 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    canada
    well i bought the 280 becuase my future upgrade will be a better cpu a Q9650 I guess i could of gone the cpu route first but this was a cheaper upgrade for now, Iam sure with a better cpu the 280 will shine abit better than the 260 would have
     
  12. BraveSoul

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    987 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    164
    thats an expensive cpu upgrade, but its good.. wait until intel releases new ones,, these should come down in price then,, hopefully .. i think u should have left ur card ,,but 40$ is not that much for the thrill of getting something better:D
     
  13. DTV DRAGON

    DTV DRAGON New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    877 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    canada
    my thinking exactly! this is more or less the family cpu ..my daughter uses it the most, so i usualy make an upgrade when money permits, thanx for everyones opinion Dragon
     
  14. DTV DRAGON

    DTV DRAGON New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    877 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    canada
    ok guys I ran vantage on professional and got a score of p14291, just wondering if thats a respectable score seeing i only have a q8200 cpu? and vantage on the entry was e36015, seems like this gtx280 is alot better than the 260 on vantage, but 3d05,06 there was not a great huge improvement because due to my cpu i presume any ideas?

    also are there any setting you should change before running vantage proffessional? or run with all presets like they are?
     
  15. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,709 (13.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,108
    Sounds about right to me. :)

    *Run things they way they are. I turn off the feature tests as they aren't needed for the final score.
     
  16. Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,175 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    375
    Not much of an upgrade. Except you get better rams and a wider bus width. Came from a 260 216 to a 280, (260 died out and 280 was selling for cheaps here.. was running for the same price as a 275).

    I have a vanilla GTX280 Inno3d stock. Clocks arent that good on the core. at around 700+, artifacts (seldom random artifact pop up but does not crash, but still not normal) would be aparent in GPU heavy titles like Crysis etc. 680 was my "clean" running clock. My 65nm GTX 260 216 was "clean" on 700 core.

    And tbh, really has no difference when gaming. (which I was glad to learn, since these 280s costs 3x before.. and opted for a 260)
     
  17. DTV DRAGON

    DTV DRAGON New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    877 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    canada
    I on the other hand find it a decent upgrade from my 260 noticable when gameing, also stays cooler then my 260 did, also vantage like i said was a huge score difference, maybe seeing my 280 is the oc2 model wich i abit higher clocked than the stock 280 Dragon
    my clocks now are 730/1260/1495
     
  18. BraveSoul

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    987 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    164
  19. DTV DRAGON

    DTV DRAGON New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    877 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    canada
    to tell you the truth I ve heard about folding lots but do not have a clue what it is... its about time I do some reading Dragon
     
  20. Asylum

    Asylum

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,799 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    674
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Not a bad deal for only $40 bucks Dragon.
    Enjoy your upgrade.
    Cant beat that new hardware feeling.
     
  21. DTV DRAGON

    DTV DRAGON New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    877 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    canada
    Asylum you hit the nail with the hammer... that is exactly right, its like that new car smell lol, but the bonus is that i realy did notice a fairly good difference from the gtx260 even thoughn some say that there would be no noticable improvment, I think that once i upgrade the q8200 to a q9650 or q9550 the 280 will even perform better.. what do you guys think on that? Dragon
     
  22. Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,175 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    375
    Yeah. Q9650 has good OC yield. Getting a proc at 4ghz, would really give your vid card a boost. Not sure if you can reach it at that level though. Since that is what youl be paying for.. not sure what your board is.. s that a Gigabyte eg43m? The additional .5 multplyer from the Q9650 vs q9550 qould help a lot in OCing. No sense in having the Q9650/q9550 run at stock since that is like buying a comfy chair without removing the plastic wrapper.
     
  23. DTV DRAGON

    DTV DRAGON New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    877 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    canada
    the board is an acer board. I couldnt find any info on that board at all on the net, bad thingabout it is that it has no o/cing capabilities but I will eventualy get another board, but for now it will bethe cpu upgrade, this is all very new to me since my last system was a p4 3.4 setup, but i must say the gtx280 for me is a very good card thanx for comments guys! Dragon
     
  24. Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,175 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    375
    yep its a good card. I have one myself. in anycase, get a good P45 board and your all set.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page