1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Upgrading 775.. Time to switch?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by zithe, Jul 6, 2010.

  1. zithe

    zithe

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,087 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    North Chili, NY
    I recently got a job and I'm going to be upgrading with my first paycheck. I'm just unsure on how I should go about it.

    I've got my eyes set on this stuff:
    Q9300 : http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=3584440&CatId=2758
    4GB DDR2 PQI Turbo PQI TURBO 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 80...
    Corsair TX650 CORSAIR CMPSU-650TX 650W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready...

    Video card will be upgraded around 6k series release time.

    That comes out to about 330shipped. I'm just wondering if it's worth pulling the trigger on these with phenom II around? I play WoW and do a lot of editing and will eventually be picking up different games (BFBC2). I'm not happy with my CPUs performance at all and I've noticed that Quad CPUs do have a large impact on perf in WoW and that my motherboard is already a pretty good OCer. I'm not sure that I want i7 because it doesn't seem to be a large enough performance boost for the money over this.

    Also I'm more than likely going to end up purchasing similar upgrades through TPU users.

    What do you think?

    I've currently got a e5200 @ 3.6 and it's far too slow.
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2010
  2. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,099 (5.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,943
    Location:
    Home
    I don't think you should upgrade just yet, you just got your first paycheck and I think the money is better off sitting inside your emergency account. Also, Intel and AMD are offering new toys next year (in AMD's case it might be in a few more months) so you will want to position yourself for that. If you really want to upgrade, I think you will do well with taking up another 2gb stick, works out to be cheaper unless you want to OC. Get the ram first if its 2gb, but processor first if you want to OC and get matching sticks. Just a few thoughts.
    zithe says thanks.
  3. zithe

    zithe

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,087 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    North Chili, NY
    I have to get the RAM because I'm borrowing from my brother. XD
  4. ZenZimZaliben

    ZenZimZaliben

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,549 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    526
    Get some nice ddr2 1200+mhz.
    Your e5200 should be able to hit 4.0ghz without much issue on watercooling.
  5. marvelous211

    marvelous211 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    147 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    US East Coast
    I would overclock the e5200 more and don't upgrade your processor. I had my old E5200 @ 4ghz and it was plenty fast even for BCB2 and even regret I upgraded to an i3. BCB2 also rely heavily on GPU not just CPU.

    Definitely pick up another 2 gigs of ram as that could boggle your system and probably culprit of your low fps. Your 4870 isn't a slouch either.

    Save your money for a entire system upgrade when sandy bridge comes out. A bad idea to put lot more money into a dying socket.
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2010
    zithe says thanks.
  6. zithe

    zithe

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,087 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    North Chili, NY
    I appreciate the help everyone is offering, but I'm trying to figure out what to upgrade to because I need this for college. I mentioned above that the extra cores really would help out with the stuff I do. I just want help figuring out what would be the best way to go about this. Should I stick to this platform and what should I buy for it?

    Sorry for not wording it so well.
  7. francis511

    francis511

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,543 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    271
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    Get a q9450 if you can or wait till you can go i5 or i7. Why not just add another 2 gig to the 2 you already have ?
  8. zithe

    zithe

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,087 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    North Chili, NY
    It's my brother's lol
  9. Timonthy New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    170 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    40
    Heres an option for a system overhaul, since you need new RAM anyways.

    Athlon X4 635 + MSI 870-G45 $155
    Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, L...

    2X2GB Geil DDR3 1333 $85
    GeIL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (P...

    Antec BP550 $60
    Antec BP550 Plus 550W Continuous Power ATX12V V2.2...

    If you want to take a risk, get the X3 435 combo to unlock and save $30, the unlock rates pretty high on the X3s.
    For $300($270 with the X3) you get an upgradable platform when BD comes out, DDR3, SATA6, and 4 threads.
    Last edited: Jul 7, 2010
  10. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    I agree EXCEPT for the psu, SILVERSTONE ST50F-ES 500W ATX12V v2.3 80 PLUS Cert.... Also to add, some of the Bulldozer(AMD's 32nm CPU's) parts will be AM3.
  11. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,185 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,493
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    zithe, you been PMed.
    zithe says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page