1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Upgrading from 600mhz

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by u2konline, Jan 21, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,601 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    I wonder if a pentium 3 would outperform a core 2 cpu @200mhz
    lol
     
  2. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    probably not, I underclocked my pd 830 from 3ghz to 1.5ghz, not too much of a performance hit.
     
  3. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    GOD DAM IT 6 Pages for this SHIT and I only have 2 pages for some thing very constructive !! WTF are you all MAD ????
     
  4. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,829 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Not even close. The core 2 architecture is so far superior to the PIII not to mention twice the cores I wouldn't be surprised if a 200mhz core 2 easily outdid a 1.5ghz PIII.
     
  5. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    everyone does understand core2 is built off P3 right?
     
  6. ASRockIQ

    ASRockIQ New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Messages:
    949 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Daphne, AL
    OP, please excuse the users here that say "why?" ^Guys i'm not trying to be mean or anything. just helping the guy out.

    what is that you are trying to get? a new CPU?

    Look HERE as i already linked some post back.
     
  7. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,829 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    In what way? I'm sure it has some things in common w/ the P3, but they are whole different beasts.
     
  8. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    the entire core architecture is based off P3. core 2 is revised core which is revised P3
     
  9. Flyordie

    Flyordie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,870 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    The Core Architecture was built from scratch using the "Table Based Data Speculation Circuit for Parallel Processing Computer" method by WARF (Currently, unlicensed, so idk how Intel is doing it.... since they are violating... United States Patent No. 5,781,752).
     
  10. ASRockIQ

    ASRockIQ New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Messages:
    949 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Daphne, AL
    guys please get on topic. stop posting about blah blah on the i7 and Duo core...
     
  11. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    umm wrong



    source=wikipedia
     
  12. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    i think he means that the architecture is similar, even taken from the "blueprints" of the PIII, hes right, they are very similar, but in no way comparable in power.
     
  13. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,829 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Ok......Well I know they didn't use netburst and I'm assuming core 2 wasn't conjured out of thin air so yeah that sounds about right. Still whole different beasts though.
     
  14. Flyordie

    Flyordie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,870 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Then why can't Intel prove that to the Patent Office? They have filed a patent request and it was DENIED by the Patent Office.
     
  15. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    honestly dont know or care its been pretty common knowledge that core2 was a new P3 maybe they changed one to many things for the patent office or one to few.
     
  16. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,249 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,188
    sorry, but if anything is sig quotable, that is
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. Flyordie

    Flyordie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,870 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    It was a conflict with another patent, which was brought to Intel for licensing, but rejected.
    That patent-
    United States Patent No. 5,781,752. ;-)
    It was just a simple request for $8/CPU sold based on the technology... (if Intel loses lawsuit... = $20-25/CPU Sold in damages, at least thats whats requested)...
     
  18. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    so its another frivolous lawsuit brought against intel pertaining to a patent that was rejected for no reason?
     
  19. Flyordie

    Flyordie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,870 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    No, Intel filed for the patent in 2005. The Patent on the books has been around since 1998 I think... the patent holder approached Intel in 2001 about the technology and Intel rejected it.
     
  20. u2konline

    u2konline

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,963 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Location:
    Dundalk, Maryland
    Sorry for this, but i love proving people wrong, i really don't even consider my computer low end and here is why:

    SOF 3 , 1280x1024. I have to play the game at 1280x1024, because anything lower and its ugly looking , not to mention the performance decreases.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    My computer is low end, but i get 15-17fps just walking around in this game, yea yea it drops to 8 at times, but speeds back up. In the second level which i am just playing in, it never dips below 13, and stays above and sometimes hits 20. But my computer is what?
    I played SOF3 for 2 hours, and my temps on my card stayed at 37c.
    I will do some benchmarks and videos later and post them in the screenshot thread.

    Thats all i am going to say, carry on people. :)
     
  21. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    how about at that res and as high as the settings go i dont drop below 40FPS?
     
  22. Error 404

    Error 404

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,777 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    169
    Location:
    South Australia
    Run crysis.
     
  23. oli_ramsay

    oli_ramsay

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,476 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Location:
    UK
    How many fps do you get in minesweeper?
     
  24. Thermopylae_480

    Thermopylae_480 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3,686 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    393
    Location:
    Little Rock Arkansas, United States
    I think he has enough info to buy a PIII by now.

    You may not like his preference, but really it is no more silly to most other people than some of you dropping a $1000 to put 2 graphics cards in your computer just so you can see an increase in a synthetic benchmark. Ooooh, look at me I spent $2000 on custom water cooling, now I can calculate 1M Pi iterations in 10 seconds while you can only do it in 12 seconds with your crappy air cooling.

    We can all be rude and make others feel like crap. The true challenge is when you can tolerate others for their views, even if they seem obtuse to you.

    So how about we not be rude and show people TPU! is a place anyone can come for help regardless of their hardware preferences.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page