1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Upgrading my ancient build.

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by Moofacekilla, Jul 7, 2014.

  1. Moofacekilla

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    47 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Hello everyone, I am new here and am going for my first full build, I already have a few things from my current build. I have a disk drive, OS, hardrives and newly purchased MSI R9 280 that are waiting to be put together I am looking to upgrade the rest though. I have a max budget of $650 I am going to be using it for 1080p Gaming only and just want something to last me the next few years and be upgradable. I want performance first of course but also want it to be ascetically pleasing. I would like a windowed case with clean cable management. Let me know what you guys think I should get.
     
  2. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,359 (2.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    600
    Location:
    GMT +2
  3. Moofacekilla

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    47 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
  4. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,359 (2.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    600
    Location:
    GMT +2
    how is terrible?
    you dont like colors? noisy fans? window is not big enough?
     
  5. Moofacekilla

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    47 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Cable management is difficult, Colors but mostly the top mounted psu makes cable managment very difficult with no cutouts for routing cables. Also wish the inside was painted... But guess i could do that myself.I I want the build to be very tidy when completed. f I just get 8 gigs of ram to start with I can get a case.
     
    Last edited: Jul 7, 2014
  6. LaytonJnr

    LaytonJnr

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Messages:
    488 (2.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    219
    Location:
    UK
    Hello,

    Do you plan on overclocking? What will the new build mostly be used for in terms of gaming? What genre of games will you be playing?

    Layton
     
    RCoon says thanks.
  7. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,053 (6.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,270
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    edit your posts, don't double triple post.
     
  8. Moofacekilla

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    47 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Just 1080p Gaming at respectable framerates. I would like to overclock in the future but I have no experience besides overclocking my video card. But yes in the future.
     
  9. Dacur

    Dacur

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Messages:
    32 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Denmark
  10. Moofacekilla

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    47 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Need to make it on pc partpicker I can't see what's in your cart.
     
  11. LaytonJnr

    LaytonJnr

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Messages:
    488 (2.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    219
    Location:
    UK
    Last edited: Jul 7, 2014
    Devon68 and RCoon say thanks.
  12. Dacur

    Dacur

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Messages:
    32 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Denmark
    stinger608 says thanks.
  13. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,359 (2.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    600
    Location:
    GMT +2
    with a little work you can make your "terrible" case look the way you like.
    http://www.techpowerup.com/gallery/3506.html
    http://www.techpowerup.com/gallery/3142.html
    http://www.techpowerup.com/gallery/3085.html
    cable mangement is possible even with top psu.
    for easyer cable managment you can change your psu with semi or full moular (absolutely poinless from tech side since it is quite decent for hardware you will use) but you will go out of the budget unless you sacrifice ram http://pcpartpicker.com/p/zsMnyc
     
    Moofacekilla says thanks.
  14. Moofacekilla

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    47 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Looking good so far. So the overall consensus seems to be 4690k, z97 motherboard and 8 gbs of ram and the rest is just for looks.
     
  15. Moofacekilla

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    47 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    I don't know how much longer my psu is going to be around and if I'm spending the money now why not. Is 16 gbs really necessary for gaming?
     
  16. Dacur

    Dacur

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Messages:
    32 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Denmark
    Cases have better cooling: 120/140 mm instead of 90/120mm.

    8gb is plenty for gaming. PSU buy a 80+ gold.
     
  17. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    7,444 (8.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,574
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    Not really, it's more of a comfort thing. The only thing I've seen use more than 8GB of my RAM is Star Citizen, which is hurrendously optimised in its present state. 8GB is the current sweet spot, with 16GB being the "frivolous" option. (For gaming that is)
     
    ne6togadno says thanks.
  18. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,359 (2.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    600
    Location:
    GMT +2
    well you can make it cheaper with am3+ cpu but future of am3+ socet is unclear so upgradability will be questionable (i personaly think amd will supply new am3 cpus in future but there isnt clear statements from them about am3 future).
    intel most likely will use new socet for their next gen cpus so if you going to upgrade you will need to change mb as well.
    depends on how long you will want to use that confing w/o spending $ on it (except may be for vga)

    edit:
    btw there is an edit option just at the bottom of the posts
     
  19. Devon68

    Devon68

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2014
    Messages:
    605 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Completely what I would recommend except I would change the case to the Phanteks Etho Pro.
     
  20. Moofacekilla

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    47 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    OK I decided to stay with my current case and psu and just paint it. Change the fans and cut cable management holes.
     
    ne6togadno says thanks.
  21. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,359 (2.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    600
    Location:
    GMT +2
    good choice.
    now you have ~100$ more for hardware upgrade
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page