1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Upgrading my gaming rig

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by Mustkunstn1k, Jun 29, 2009.

  1. Mustkunstn1k New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    34 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hello there. This is my current rig:

    * CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E6300
    * Mobo: GIGABYTE 965P-DS3
    * RAM x4: A-DATA 1GB DDRII 800 128Mx8
    * HDD: SEAGATE ST3250820AS 250GB + Hitachi 320GB
    * GPU: ATI ASUTEK 4870 1GB
    * PSU: Fortron Blue Storm 500W ATX12V
    * CD/DVD drive: SAMSUNG DVD-/+RW SH-S182D
    * Case: Codegen ATX-3307

    Some time i got a new GPU. But my CPU kinda bottleneck's it i've heard. I've also been thinking of getting a new 4-core GPU. Also a faster Mobo would probably needed. And ofcourse a new PSU since this one is already 3 years old so i think i could use a new 650W one or something? I don't really know much about hardware...

    Right now i have about 6000 eek which is something like 600 dollars. Althought since prices are higher here it could also be something like 500 dollars. Some examples:

    Intel Core 2 Quad Q9650 3,0 GHz 12MB 1333MHz FSB 45nm LGA775 is 4300 eek
    AMD Phenom II X4 955 3.2GHz BLACK EDITION is 3300 eek
    Asus Socket 775 P5QL is 1000 eek
    Fortron 600W EPSILON ATX12V with 120mm vent is 1300 eek
    CHIEFTEC PSU ATX 700W PFC 14CM BLACK with Cable management CFT-700-14CS is 1150 eek
    Tagan Superrock 600W, RoHS is 1300 eek
    Corsair Modular Power Supply 750W is 2000 eek

    My choices are limited, but say me a product and i'll tell you if they sell it in my country and for how much it goes..

    Sometimes the PSU comes with a case. I'm probably going to build the old computer together from the parts i have left now, but instead of buying the old one a cheap case i can give the current PSU and case to the old and buy a new case that comes with a PSU?

    I hope this will make for a pretty good gaming rig. Thanks for everyone who is going to help me build it.
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2009
  2. gwb56 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Messages:
    26 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    US
    Hi, I'm not knowledgeable enough to give you an accurate yes or no on your rig. If you get no results here (I think you will though), I would advise to go http://tinyurl.com/22xejg Good Luck...gwb56
  3. jamesrt2004 New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    193 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    what res do you game at??
  4. Darren

    Darren New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,936 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    You are wasting so much money.

    Keep your current 965P-DS3 motherboard and stick in a fresh Core 2 Quad Q9650.

    Do not waste money on the a P5QL motherboard or on the AMD route as you have a adequate socket 775 motherboard already.

    A new motherboard is silly at this stage, just keep your current motherboard for a year or two until i7/i5 are at reasonable prices or until AMD's new 6 core range is out, other than dropping in a new quad core (Q9650) everything is fine.


    Edit 4:

    The performance difference between a Phenom II X4 955 and Core 2 Quad Q9650 is very similar, for games I doubt there would be any difference what so ever. The financial move to an AM2+ or AM3 socket is outweighed by the Intel option since you have a suitable socket 775 motherboard already.

    Edit 2:

    Here is the support list for your motherboard: http://www.gigabyte.com.tw/Support/Motherboard/CPUSupport_Model.aspx?ProductID=2314


    Edit 3:

    These people do not have your best interest at heart when it comes to finances.

    Your current motherboard supports quads :)

    Edit:


    Get 2 GB sticks, I would advise that you buy a minimum of 4 GBs (2GBx2) and therefore you can add another 4 GBs at a later date.

    If you've got a x64 operating system it might be wise to go straight to 8 GBs now to prepare yourself. (2GBx4) of PC8500
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2009
  5. Mustkunstn1k New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    34 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    jamesrt2004 - I'm also getting a new monitor so prolly around 1920 x 1200.

    Btw people. This is what i'm thinking so far:

    * Protsessor: Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550
    * Emaplaat: Asus P5Q PRO
    * RAM x4: A-DATA 1GB DDRII 800 128Mx8
    * HDD: SEAGATE ST3250820AS 250GB + Hitachi 320GB
    * Videokaart: ATI ASUTEK 4870 1GB
    * Toiteplokk: Corsair 750W
    * CD/DVD drive: SAMSUNG DVD-/+RW SH-S182D
    * Case: Codegen ATX-3307

    Darren - people said that if i'm getting Quad i should get a new mobo.
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2009
  6. Mustkunstn1k New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    34 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Darren - Well. I should get new stuff actually. Because then i can buy a case and a HDD for my old stuff (i have already upgraded my GPU and RAM) and then i can make a second PC. :)

    I will prolly get faster 8 ram when i'm jumping on Windows 7. Right now i'm fine with my XP.
  7. Darren

    Darren New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,936 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Just make sure its the x64 version of Windows 7 if you're using 8 GBs of ram, otherwise it might not detect it all.

    If you're determined to do a full upgrade and ditch your existing motherboard (not recommended) it might be best to go the AM3 route. Although the P5QL motherboard is great socket 775 is almost dead, if you buy the Q9650 you'll be stuck for an upgrade path.

    Your best choice is to:

    A: Keep existing motherboard and get the Q9650 - but limit upgrade path as socket 775 is dead and not many faster processors to replace it with. (cheapest method)

    B: Go AM3 route and get either the Phenom II X3 or Phenom II X4 - performance similar to Q9650 but benefit from a new motherboard socket with fresh 6-core processors for future upgrade path. (future proof method)
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2009
  8. gwb56 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Messages:
    26 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    US
    here is the website to make sure all things are compatible...http://tinyurl.com/ydkz6qAlso, please be sure to not underdo your PSU
  9. Cuzza

    Cuzza New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    1,318 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    207
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Totally agree with Darren, new CPU is all you need. And maybe upgrade graphics card if you feel like it. Otherwise you are making pointless expenditure on minimal performance increases.
  10. Mustkunstn1k New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    34 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hmm. A lot of people told me that i should get a faster mobo if i'm getting a quad. Specially q9550. Something to do with powering etc.
  11. Darren

    Darren New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,936 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345

    There is no reason to replace your motherboard, the motherboard will not improve performance what so ever. Performance wise the only difference between a cheaper motherboard and a high end P5QL motherboard is overclocking features apart from that there is no incentive.

    Whoever is telling you this "powering" stuff you should stop listening to him or them as they obviously do not know what they are talking about.
  12. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,121 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    415
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    i've got almost exact same set-up as you mustkin,the p965 gigabyte motherboard was top of the range and the only disadvantage about this motherboard is i have to say the maximum limit of FSB overclocking is 450FSB.
    And i know this because i have tried overclocking my E6320 450*7 and it just downgrade itself back to original clock.
    Just get a new cpu and your rig be amazing
  13. Mustkunstn1k New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    34 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Here's the thing.. I already have over a GPU and some RAM from upgrading. So i think i should get a new PSU and Mobo so i get a new case + HDD and i can build my old computer together.
  14. Mustkunstn1k New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    34 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Okay. So i'm going to buy it..

    q9550
    P5Q Pro
    Corsair Tx750W

    But what should i do before they install those? Should i just erase the old drivers? Or should i format my system? Because i don't put this together myself, but the store will do it for me and i think they wanna test it. How should i prepare?
  15. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,079 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,981
    I have a zeon 3220 (server equivalent to the q6600) for sale for $150 or best offer in the B/S/T/ forums if you'd be interested. You pay the shipping, I don't mind shipping world wide.
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page