1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Upgrading my PII 940 to 1090 or 1100 Thuban

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by nocrapman, Jan 12, 2011.

  1. nocrapman New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Messages:
    264 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Is this a good or a bad idea?
    Looking for a cheap upgrade to my 3 yr old rig. Will this be a lateral move?
    Should I spend the extra $40 on the 1100 or just go with the 1090 and OC?

    My current rig is only modestly OCed, because the chip was always a hot one, and because this computer is on 24x7... I hate to spend the xtra energy while its idling.

    Would appreciate any comments/suggestions.
  2. aCid888*

    aCid888* New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,754 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    In a state of flux...
    It will be a nice upgrade but to get the most out of the X6's you need some AM3 + DDR3 action.


    I'd say save up some more cash until you can do a full upgrade.
    nocrapman says thanks.
  3. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    IIMO, I think you should hold off just a little while longer. Why? Bulldozer is just a touch little longer away. AM3+ Motherboard + ddr3 + **insert am3 cpu here**
    nocrapman says thanks.
  4. nocrapman New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Messages:
    264 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    I have been itching to make a move to Windows 7 from vista on my main machine. Also wanted to add an SSD at the same time. Maybe I should do that instead?

    Alternatively since my backup rig is AM3/DDR3, and has windows 7 already, should I upgrade the cpu on that from a dual core 550 to a hexa-core 1100?

    Curious to hear what you guys think?
  5. nocrapman New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Messages:
    264 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    You make a good argument.
    Is Bulldozer just around the corner? I havent been keeping up lately...

    OTOH I have been thinking of going over to the 'Evil Side' with my next major build/rebuild since I have been a faithful AMD follower last 8 years!!
  6. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,249 (10.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,885
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Wait for Bulldozer like Jr Said. You can keep your DDR3 and just upgrade motherboard and CPU to 32nm bulldozer

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page