1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Upgrading my Rig

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Ravenas, Mar 5, 2008.

  1. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,635 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    Tennessee
    DFI LANPARTY DK 790FX-M2RS AM2+/AM2 AMD 790FX ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail

    AMD Phenom Quad Core Processor 9600 AM2+, Retail (Black Edition)

    SAPPHIRE 100225TXSR Radeon HD 3870 512MB 256-bit GDDR4 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFire Supported Video Card - Retail


    I'm also wanting to use a fusion block for water cooling, can anyone give me some info on this?

    Finally, what do you guys think about this build? What would you add, what would you subtract?? All comments welcome, help me out with some good feedback please!
  2. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    Um just asking why, but why are you going from intel to amd? If you wanted to upgrade I would say keep going down the intel route, but if you want to go amd, I think that's good, idk much about amd motherboards, but dfi is a good brand and the black edition is def the best out right now for phenom. The 3870 is a good card so overall it's a good build, but I suggest keeping the q6600 and getting a new board and fan.
    Ravenas says thanks.
  3. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,635 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    Tennessee
    I have the B3 stepping for Intel, I want to try something in another direction. I thought about the SLACR, but then changed my mind. I'm going AMD.

    Also, I plan on going with the fusion water block hopefully...but that could obviously change.
  4. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Ravenas says thanks.
  5. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,635 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    Tennessee
    I'll keep the HIS video card in mind, thanks much for the input. :toast:
  6. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    Ohhh ok, sorry I've started assuming all q6600s are G0s lol woops.

    Well for Amd it looks good, hopefully someone can comment about that specific mobo and not just the brand like me.
  7. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,635 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Hehe, yeah I bought my q6000 before the SLACRs went mainstream.
  8. Snipe343

    Snipe343

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,002 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Ravenas says thanks.
  9. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,635 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Yeah I thought a lot about that...However, I just like to have the future proof x3 16 slots. I don't know why, makes me feel safe? :rolleyes:

    I have trouble going back to gigabyte after my last nforce experience.
  10. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,635 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Anyone heard about ram problems on the mobo I listed?
  11. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    If you really want to go AMD why not wait for the 9550?
  12. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,635 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    Tennessee
    At that time I may decide to get it, this is going to be a project I start on soon. Very very soon.

    Thing is though...I'm not looking for a e-penis, I don't want to top anyone here. I'm just going to do some major OC work.
  13. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I dont think a Phenom would be the best cpu to use for a oc project..
  14. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,635 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    Tennessee
    I've heard the old Phenoms not so much, I've read many reviews saying the black edition does well. I'm looking to get close to 2.5 ghz-3.0ghz.
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2008
  15. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,635 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    Tennessee
  16. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,410 (11.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,615
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    To my knowledge, the DFI board you're looking at requires a BIOS update to be able to use a Phenom BE.
  17. flashstar New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    743 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    56
    Even with a Black Edition, you're looking at a 200mhz overclock tops.
  18. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,635 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    Tennessee
  19. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,635 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    Tennessee
  20. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,635 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Can you show me a source saying this? I don't want to spend all this money and the cpu not even be compatable with the mobo without a flash...
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2008
  21. FatForester New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2007
    Messages:
    971 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    151
    If you wanna go AMD, I'd wait on the 780 chipset for Hybrid Crossfire. Otherwise I would stay put. Your B3 at 2.86ghz is still faster than an overclocked Phenom, so I would use your money and spend it on a better video card with some killer cooling. You'll get a ton more performance that way, but if you're wanting to have fun with overclocking grab an e2180. Major downgrade, but they're fun as hell lol

    EDIT: For the 790FX all I've found with the BIOS is that you'll have to immediately flash it to solve some issues with RAID, SATA, and USB keyboards. Not sure about CPU compatibility, but they're bound to have fixed that by now.
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2008
  22. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2008
    Ravenas says thanks.
  23. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    :confused: they only got it to 2.6GHz stable to test in that review I would stay with intel if you dont want to be disappointed in the OC but its your cash do what you want

    so what you going to do with the Q can I have it :D
  24. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,635 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    Tennessee
    I've had a bunch of friends on msn messanger getting to 2.8Ghz, and above that is a gamble is what I'm told. I was using that site as a reference to how to overclock the things, I have a few other sites that I've seen people getting above 3.1 Ghz, but not as stable as say the q6600.

    I'll be using my q6600 for another comp, that I might also upgrade in the near future, but I'm not sure.
  25. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,635 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    Tennessee

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page