1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Upgrading my Sisters comp.

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by Delta6326, Sep 24, 2009.

  1. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,840 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    Well for Christmas my sisters husband wants to upgrade her computer, which i think is nice, so im supposed to get the parts put it together that way she doesn't know, she is very snoopy she all ready found out that he is planning something 2 days after he told me that.
    on to the main thing!

    EDIT2: Budget $300 and she has a 32bit os and she wont get a new OS, case or HD. this is a surprise for her
    She has a very good/crappy computer its nice for when she got it but now its old outdated
    It's a Sony VAIO from around 2002-2004
    Intel P4 around 2.4ghz
    Ram 512mb PC-2700 333MHz DDR
    Edit1: On-bored its like Nvidia GeForce4 MX 440 something like that
    HD: 7200rpm ?80?gb
    She does lite gaming such as WoW, Sims 2, and some i think tycoon games. she has a lot of music like 30gb and loves to multitask like listen to music, have a web-cam, with 10 open browsers and other stuff and she loves to do photoshop.

    thats all i know, because she live in NC im in IA
    so i was thinking of upgrading to this keeping the old HD, case, etc.
    trying to save as much money as possible

    1 thing im not for sure on is if she can keep here same old windows xp?:confused: i can convince her if she has to reformat, but im not for sure if xp it's locked to the MB or the HD:confused:?? im looking for suggestions, things i should look out for, how to make it better while saving money, etc.!

    I have changed the original pic to the updated parts that im looking at, will be trying to get 1 or 2 parts a month till Christmas. im not 100% sure if the graphics card will be good but im thinking that would be the best for her
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2009
  2. a111087

    a111087

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,766 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    201
    Location:
    US
    your XP will likely not boot on new system because XP is depended on hardware, if you make too much changes, it might not work
    in that case you will have to reinstall XP
     
  3. james2008 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    29 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I swapped many a XP drives, and while there is a small risk. It's really
    small, worse thing to happen to me is the display reverts back to
    all view mode..

    that being said, if something does go wrong, you should still
    be able to get into safe mode. So just make sure you have the
    drivers in case! and the XP OS disc!

    a few things though, you might find a 500w PSU slightly underpowered.
    while AMD ATI, are both good on power, it is a worry!

    Your graphics card seems dear for that price, the HIS HD 4770 512mb
    is better, nice price too. Don't be fooled by the 1GB, which isn't necessary
    for the games mentioned!

    Should go for the Phenom x2 550 BE chip, fantastic value!
     
  4. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12,265 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,011
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    Athlon II X4 620
    WD Caviar Blue/Black 500GB (Caviar Greens are slooow)
    Antec 300
    Corsair VX450
    Gigabyte 785G motherboard
    Radeon HD 4650/4670
    4GB Generic DDR2 800

    About $40-50 more than your build, but I think she will be happier with it (4 cores is better than 3, and the HDD will be way faster)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,775 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    I agree with ION build. It would be perfect for the use she gave. If u want to save a little money, exchange the psu and the case for an antec sonata II with a 500w psu.
     
  6. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,998 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    I agree with ION, but I would go with the X3 720 or the X2 550 if she does lite gaming. The 6 MB L3 cache will help a lot. While she does seem to do a lot of multitasking, nothing is really multi-threaded. I think the X3 720 is a better fit for her.

    You could save money with a AMD 770 board since she will not need the integrated GPU.
     
  7. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,840 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    I wasn't for sure but i thought the psu would be good i looked on newegg's watt calculator it says it should need a psu around 367 so i was thinking 500
    I am going to look for a new Mb with the 770

    well the thing is i cant get a new case or a new hd we are going to try and surprise her for Christmas so when she turns on the pc she will be like holy crap why did it turn on so fast, because its supper slow right now to turn it on she has to push power wait 20sec. push power again to turn off then turn it back on because its so old it takes more than one try
     
  8. kuroikenshi

    kuroikenshi

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    298 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    Location:
    Japan
    One little thing that I would like to add is that sometimes those vaio's front panel connector won't work on some boards! I tried to switch out the motherboard from a friends Vaio and I had to get a different case! Just FYI!
     
  9. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
  10. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,775 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    i lolled at the wheelman game.

    jr build is ion build with my idea = perfect
     
  11. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,864 (4.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    why not 4gb of RAM? using 3gb of out 4 should still be a good improvement no? especially for multitaking
     
  12. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    @n-ster

    No offense, Find a kit new for around $40.
     
  13. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,998 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    Since you are basically overhauling her computer at this point. Get a 4 GB kit, get her on a 64-bit OS, and you can save a little money on the case. The Sonata is great, but pricey.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811147124

    It is not the Best case, but it is cheap, strong, easy to work with and has decent style IMO. Spend a little extra on 4 GB of RAM and PSU if you really need one.
     
  14. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Are you implying the Antec Earthwatts is a weak power supply? I don't get it as the Sonata III with Antec EW500 is $110 free shipping and you can't really beat the EW500 at an ~$50 price point.

    Not trying to flamebait you but for the price that combination is very very good.
     
  15. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,864 (4.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    Jr is right... but I believe paying 50$ for 4gb is worth it
     
  16. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,840 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    well she cant get a new os hers is 32bit and also she is keeping her old case and HD the budget is like $400 she has a thing about old is better, and this is a surprise so she cant know that its been changed inside, i will edit the OP
     
  17. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12,265 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,011
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    In that case, get a 785G motherboard (make sure it is M-ATX, I belive Sony Vaio computers are micro ATX?), a Phenom II X2 550, 4GB Corsair or G.Skill DDR2 800, a good PSU such as a Corsair CX400w or an OCZ ModXStream 500w (in a small case, modular would be good), and a cheap video card such as the 4670/4830(or 4850, depending on price), and she would have the fastest P4 Vaio around ;)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,121 (6.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,181
    The old VIAO case will hold you back, they are a pain in the ass to upgrade(some worse than others).

    Also, you will have to reload windows. It might boot and work with the old install, but it won't be pretty. If you are sticking with the old install, you might as well not upgrade.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  19. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,998 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    Sorry, didn't see the 500W PSU included. The Antec Sonata normally sells for right at $100 by itself, so I didn't notice the included PSU. That being the case, get the Sonata.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page