1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Upgrading new legacy rig, GPU suggestions please

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by Red_Machine, Apr 24, 2011.

  1. Red_Machine

    Red_Machine

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,763 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    389
    Location:
    Marlow, ENGLAND
    Hey guys. New legacy rig is on my left, it's a Dell I got from work that they were going to throw out.

    Basically, I'll be upgrading it with a gig of RAM and a 3.06GHz HyperThreaded Pentium 4 (only has support for 533MHz FSB CPUs). I'm looking for suggestions for a good GPU for it appropriate to the era of games I'll be running on it. I was thinking of an FX5900 or something similar. It has an AGP 4x slot and a 250w PSU with 14a on the +12v rail. I'd rather go nVidia over ATi.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,330 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    868
    Location:
    London, UK
    maybe a 6600gt? or a 6800ultra?
     
  3. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,330 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    868
    Location:
    London, UK
    or even a ati 9X00 card?
     
  4. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,546 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    846
    without the CPU becoming a serious limitation Id look at nothing above a x1950pro (agp) or 7900gs agp.

    a few cards right in the firing line would be ATi - 9800 pro/xt, x800/850, or x1950pro, all AGP. for Nvidia look at 6600GT, 6800 series, or any AGP 7800/7900 series.

    theres also a chance you could luck out with an AGP ATi HD4650 or the likes which would be better on power consumption and have comârable power to the fasest native AGP cards of the time.
     
  5. Red_Machine

    Red_Machine

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,763 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    389
    Location:
    Marlow, ENGLAND
    Would the PSU be able to handle those? I'd be worried about it fitting inside the case, too.
     
  6. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,944 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    585
    Location:
    UK
    tigger says thanks.
  7. Zyon

    Zyon New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    264 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Location:
    Australia
    Pentium 4 will bottleneck most of the AGP cards nowadays unless you overclock (which also carries risk of overloading electricity etc) but you're looking at minimal performance loss anyway, if you want the best quality then try the HD4670.
    http://www.overclockers.co.uk/search_results.php?sortby=&groupid=701&search=AGP

    But, only if your PSU can support it.

    Comes down to two choices:
    - Want it new? Not taking risk with second hand? Want the best performance? Go with one of the highest ends on AGP.
    - Want your CPU to get 100% out of your card? Search somewhere like Ebay to get an idea. Personally I agree the Nvidia ones that wolf mentioned are around the 3.06HT level but to find a brand new one is trying to find a lost nail in a house.
     
    Last edited: Apr 24, 2011
    wolf says thanks.
  8. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,546 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    846
    I think that AGP 4670 is about the best you can do for that system in terms of the most performance, low power consumtion and buying brand new.
     
  9. Zyon

    Zyon New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    264 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Location:
    Australia
    One more thing, AGP8x like most of the cards mentioned here is backwards compatible (but will run at 4x since your motherboard slot is 4x).
     
  10. Red_Machine

    Red_Machine

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,763 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    389
    Location:
    Marlow, ENGLAND
    I have no problem buying used, but I may have to get a new PSU as well. Mine's 250w and the 7800s seem to want 350w.
     
  11. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
  12. Red_Machine

    Red_Machine

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,763 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    389
    Location:
    Marlow, ENGLAND
    It's only a socket 478, but thanks anyway.
     
  13. Red_Machine

    Red_Machine

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,763 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    389
    Location:
    Marlow, ENGLAND
    Okay guys, I got an old 7600 from work (molex power). It killed an identical PC I was building to be my office machine, and mine just flatly refuses to turn on with it all plugged in. Either it's a duff card or the PSU isn't up to the task. Dell 250w with 14a on the +12v rail.
     
  14. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,944 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    585
    Location:
    UK
    low psu but its a 7600 so it shouldn't matter, sounds like a duff card
     
  15. Red_Machine

    Red_Machine

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,763 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    389
    Location:
    Marlow, ENGLAND
    What do you think would be the max it could handle? A lot of people have suggested the 7800GS to me.
     
  16. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,944 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    585
    Location:
    UK
    i'd say anything that dosn't need an external power connector
     
  17. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,915 (3.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,436
    This. It's definetly not up to the x1950 or 7900gs.
     
  18. Red_Machine

    Red_Machine

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,763 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    389
    Location:
    Marlow, ENGLAND
    Seems like everything requires an external power connector. Does anyone know of any green edition cards?
     
  19. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,453 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    598
    Location:
    AZ
    6600gt's didn't need a power connector and should be more than plenty for a legacy gamer.
     
  20. Red_Machine

    Red_Machine

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,763 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    389
    Location:
    Marlow, ENGLAND
    All the 6600GTs I see on eBay have molex connectors.

    Anything else?

    EDIT: Wow, even the 7300GTs have PCIe connectors...
     
  21. xenocide

    xenocide

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    2,154 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    466
    Location:
    Burlington, VT
    It's probably because AGP has a significantly lower ability to output power than PCI-express. Most likely if you want a high-end AGP card you're going to need a PSU that can support it. Even if you find a card that can run without additional power from the PSU, it probably will result in a blown Mobo.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page